阿方索・卡隆与查坦亚・塔姆汗魔幻大师

发布日期: 2018年clock阅读需时: 2m40s
scroll-down

墨西哥导演阿方索・卡隆(Alfonso Cuarón)的最新电影充满神秘色彩,然而他很乐意与门生查坦亚・塔姆汗(Chaitanya Tamhane)分享个中秘密。

撰文: 尼克・詹姆斯(Nick James) 2018年1月
  • 阿方索・卡隆(Alfonso Cuarón)
    导师
  • 查坦亚・塔姆汗(Chaitanya Tamhane)
    门生

墨西哥中部某处的一座大宅,摇身一变成为导演阿方索・卡隆的电影《罗马》(Roma)的拍摄场地。对于这个神秘项目,卡隆不欲透露半句,他唯一承认的就是电影故事发生于1970年代,讲述一个中产家庭在一年内的生活,而当中埋藏了“不少我的童年元素和经历”。

大师级导演卡隆以精彩电影巨作而闻名,作品包括《地心引力》(Gravity)、《人类之子》(Children of Men)及《哈利波特与阿兹卡班的囚逃》(Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)。至于《罗马》,他则返回自己的家乡,其辉煌的职业生涯也是由始而起。时为2001年,他拍摄了一部轻松写实的公路电影《你妈妈也一样》(Y Tu Mamá También),故事围绕两名青年追求心仪的年长女子。此作品让墨西哥电影重回国际观众的视野,影响匪浅。

卡隆的全新电影于宽敞而别具特色的殖民时代大宅内拍摄。入口设有华丽的双楼梯,另有一道没有扶手的陡峭梯阶,通往储物区。大部分镜头均在楼上拍摄。在现场执导的卡隆,犹如《哈利波特》的教授,在侧室专心拍摄,两眼精光汇聚。而在背后,还有一名年轻男子驻足观看。

他就是卡隆的劳力士门生──印度导演查坦亚・塔姆汗,双眸满藏智慧。他只曾执导一部纪录片、一部短片及一部剧情片,但每部也饶富特色。《法庭》(Court)讲述一个悲惨的故事,片中一名贫困的印度民谣歌手在复杂死板的印度法律体系中被指控教唆支持者自杀。此作品在国际电影节中反应极佳。

卡隆说:“初次观赏《法庭》时,我看到一个深明电影语言的人,绝非停留在技术层面。”这部电影的新鲜之处在于以抽离手法反映繁琐的法庭程序。

卡隆续道:“我理解第一次拍摄电影的不安感。我确信查坦亚渴望能够近距离拍摄且采用经典镜头角度,但他始终坚持一己方式,那就是真正让电影语言充分发挥的时刻。这绝非千篇一律、令人生厌的电影布局。”

塔姆汗带着微笑在片场走动,难掩心中的喜悦,亦无一丝傲慢态度。

他知道这是个重要机会,必须通过观察与仔细询问来吸收一切。所有工作人员也很喜欢他,乐意与他分享与讨论。亲睹《罗马》一点一点拍摄而成,更是令他赞叹不已。

他说:“阿方索对电影的态度源于极为细腻的视觉美学,这对我来说有点陌生。我很高兴能接触到构图标准如此之高且复杂的人。我成长时所观看的电影不一定是灯光充足或具有非常强烈的美学元素,所以我必须对这方面有所意识,努力实践。第一步是建立对这些元素的触觉,其次是吸收,第三步是融入自己的作品之中。例如,我会先去一个场地,若不喜欢,我会到访另外10个场地,直至找到适合剧本的场地为止。阿方索看着一个场地便可想出14种迷人的设置变化。有次我们去了一个场地,将整条路洒水湿透,然后在背景摆放稻草人。单凭我的直觉,一定不会想到这样的设计,实在令人惊叹。”

看着两师徒在庭院里闲逛,聊着其他人的电影作品,经过同是电影舞池及卡隆即兴生日派对的场地,还不时打趣谈及对方的国籍,二人的友情实是不言而喻。

绝对没有任何剧组人员看过剧本,唯一副本在我手中。

在卡隆的生日派对上,塔姆汗展现了自己的另一才华,那就是魔术,他简单运用卡片及毡头笔便令卡隆眼花缭乱。卡隆说:“这本身不是魔术,而是幻觉。他到达后,我提起他下一部关于古典印度音乐的电影。我们便开始谈论印度的古老魔术学校。我说:‘可否表演一下?’欣赏过后,我叹为观止并道:‘这很厉害。还有别的吗?’然后,他带来更令人印象深刻的表演。我们笑得像疯子般,简直不想返回拍摄场地。”

尽管塔姆汗确信魔术幻觉与电影之间存在直接而重要的联系,但一如所料,身处拍摄现场并不轻松。他说:“所有艺术也是魔术,电影肯定是魔术的结晶,但非深奥难明。例如,演员便是构建而成的幻象。观众会相信这个人真的存在吗?合适的选角是成功的一半。这是关于观众在画面以外的感觉。也就是说,电影会在观众心中施展魔法。”

卡隆亦在《罗马》中秘密施展法术,确保知道故事内容的人越少越好。对于健谈的卡隆而言,不能公开谈论自己的作品是件困难的事。每当他开口,他总会在主题外围滔滔不绝,让人感觉到那股蓄势待发的力量。正是这种保密方式,让导师与门生的关系更进一步。

卡隆表示:“绝对没有剧组人员看过剧本,唯一副本在我手中。坦白说,我与很多埋首苦干的人合作,但他们却有点迷失。对我来说,指导与师徒关系并不一样,指导应该是横向的。为了让查坦亚了解我的想法,我不得不向他透露作品内容。因此我告诉他,阅读剧本会令合作更见成效。当然,这个特别安排是基于我们的关系,服装设计师和制作统筹也没有剧本。他现在可说是我在片场的分身。”

卡隆对其门生的信任,想必硕果累累,但塔姆汗并不着急。但塔姆汗并不着急。他正沉浸于下一个主题──印度古典音乐。他说:“每次开展需要大量研究的项目,我也仿如脱胎换骨。”

他补充:“我的故有信念已大大动摇,犹如经历生老病死的阶段,然后在项目中再生。我无法理性解释自己为何对印度古典音乐感兴趣。一切就像突如其来,教我着迷。”

“其中一个吸引我的地方是,这个音乐世界蕴含隐密、神话及故事元素,独树一帜。这是我走进音乐世界的切入点。而把毕生奉献给难以掌握的艺术形式,这个想法更是迷人。”

卡隆与塔姆汗怀有类近的专注精神,将二人连在一起,他们贯彻对艺术形态的信念,作为生活的唯一目标。塔姆汗指:“这是我自然所悦的艺术媒介。若非如此,我便不能继续下去。”

不过,卡隆还是向年轻的塔姆汗给予一个忠告。

他每天凭借勇气、热忱与无比专注,克服重重挑战,令人鼓舞,发人深省。

他说:“我希望查坦亚能学到一切对他有用的事物,而同样重要的是,我亦能从他的身上有所得着。不少大师也曾告诫天才无法跟随历史脉搏的影响。我们必须了解周围发生的事情及其对电影界的影响。我不是指:‘好吧,现在人人都应该开始制作漫威(Marvel)电影’,因为本质并非如此。”

他说:“指导存在十分自私的一面。当观赏《罗马》,你会发现它与《法庭》存有某种相似之处,而我亦在追寻这些特质。看过查坦亚的电影后,我便更加肯定。他一路前进,我也不会停步。”

塔姆汗有机会前往《罗马》的拍摄场地,对他的职业生涯带来深刻而全面的启发。“他[卡隆]每天凭借勇气、热忱与无比专注,克服重重挑战,令人鼓舞,发人深省。我明白无论你昔日的成绩有多骄人,又或你可动用很多资源,事情也不会特别轻易。不同之处只在于问题本身的性质和规模。唯有做喜欢的事,抱持理想和信念,才能让你应付自如。”

尼克・詹姆斯是英国电影协会(British Film Institute)Sight & Sound杂志的编辑。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

分享此页面

Alfonso Cuarón & Chaitanya TamhaneTHE ILLUSIONISTS

Published in 2018clockTime to read: 2m40s
scroll-down

Mexican director Alfonso Cuarón’s latest film is shrouded in mystery, yet he is happy to share its secrets with protégé Chaitanya Tamhane.

by Nick James January 2018
  • Alfonso Cuarón
    The Mentor
  • Chaitanya Tamhane
    The Protégé

Somewhere in central Mexico, a mansion has been transformed into a studio of sorts for director Alfonso Cuarón’s film Roma, a project veiled in secrecy. All that Cuarón will admit to anyone is that the story takes place in the 1970s and follows a year in the life of a middle-class family “with many elements and experiences of my childhood”.

Cuarón is a master director, best known for big, brilliant entertainment movies, such as Gravity, Children of Men and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. For Roma, however, he has returned to his homeland, where his stratospheric career took off with the breezy naturalistic 2001 road movie Y Tu Mamá También, in which two young men pursue the older woman of their dreams. That film was crucial in putting Mexican cinema back on the international map.

The sprawling colonial house where Cuarón’s new film is being made has many beguiling features. There’s a double grand staircase at the entrance and a more sinister set of steep steps without rails leading down to a storage area. Most of the action, though, is taking place on the upper floors. There you will find the professorial-looking director – he could have been in Harry Potter himself – shooting in a side room, concentrating on the scene with a laser-like intensity. Watching in the background is a young, anchored figure.

That man is Indian director Chaitanya Tamhane, Cuarón’s Rolex protégé, who has wisdom in his wary eyes beyond his years. He has just one documentary, a short film and one feature film to his name, but what a feature. Court tells the tragicomic story of the trial of an impoverished Indian folk singer accused within the Byzantine Indian court system of abetting the suicide of a fan. It enjoyed considerable success on the international film festival circuit.

“When I first saw Court,” says Cuarón, “I saw the work of someone who understands film language, and not just in terms of technique.” What made the film so fresh was its distanced approach to the intricate action of the courtroom.

“I know the insecurities of a first film,” Cuarón continues. “I am sure that Chaitanya was craving to shoot things closer and do some typical coverage, but he kept to his approach and that’s the moment when you really make the language flourish. It’s not the usual cinematic wallpaper, which I hate.”

Tamhane walks around the set with the calming smile of the cat that’s got the cream, but there’s no arrogance about him.

He knows what an important opportunity he has and how necessary it is to soak up all he can through observation and careful questioning. You can see that all the crew like and admire him, and are eager to share their discussions with him. He admits to being somewhat amazed by watching Roma being put together.

“Alfonso’s approach to cinema comes from a very refined, visual aesthetic that’s quite alien to me,” he says. “I’m so happy to be exposed to somebody whose standards for image construction are so high and so sophisticated. The kind of films I grew up on weren’t necessarily well lit or had a very strong aesthetic sense, so this is something I have to consciously work on. The first step is being sensitized to it, secondly, assimilating it, and then thirdly, executing it in your own work. For example, I would go to a location and if I didn’t like it I would visit 10 others to find the one that fits the script. Alfonso can look at a location and think of 14 changes to set it up in a way that is stunning. There was a location we went to and they had given the entire road a wet down and they just placed a scarecrow in the background. That for me was just amazing because it would not be my first instinct.”

As you watch mentor and protégé together, chatting about other people’s films as they wander through the courtyard, past the dance floor that was laid for a scene but also used for an impromptu party for Cuarón’s birthday on set, their camaraderie is obvious, evident from the constant ribbing about each other’s nationalities.

Absolutely nobody on the crew has read the screenplay, I have the only copy.

Cuarón was treated to a demonstration of one of Tamhane’s talents at his birthday party: a magic trick done with pieces of card and a felt pen that left the mentor dazzled. “It’s not magic per se, it’s illusionism,” says Cuarón. “When he arrived, I asked him about his next film, which is about classical Indian music. We started talking about the old school of magic that came from India and I said, ‘Do something’, and he did, and I was like, ‘Wow, that was very cool.’ Then I said, ‘Anything else?’ and he did something even more impressive. We were laughing like crazy, I didn’t want to go back to the set.”

As you would expect, being on set is rarely about such entertainment, though Tamhane is convinced there is a direct and more serious link between his illusionism and the cinema. “All art is magic,” he says, “and films definitely come from magic but not in any esoteric ways. An actor, for example, is an illusion you’re building. Will the people believe in this person? Casting right is 50 per cent of the battle won. It’s about what you can make the audience feel that’s not in the frame. That psychological aspect of magic happening in the mind of the audience is cinema.”

On Roma, Cuarón is working his own kind of magic with a clandestine approach, making sure as few people as possible know what the story is about. It’s hard for someone so naturally voluble not to talk openly about his project. When he talks, he dances verbally around it and you can feel he is almost ready to explode. Such secrecy led to a remarkable enhancement of the mentor-protégé relationship.

“Absolutely nobody on the crew has read the screenplay,” says Cuarón. “I have the only copy. Frankly, I’m working with a lot of people who are working very hard but who are a bit confused. For me mentoring is not the same as a teacher-disciple thing – it should be horizontal. For Chaitanya to understand what I am trying to do I had to disclose my pieces to him. So I told him I think this collaboration will be way more productive if you read the screenplay. It was a treat based on our relationship, of course, because the costume designers don’t have the script, the line producer doesn’t either. He is now like a mirror for me on the set.”

The trust Cuarón has invested in his protégé seems destined to bear fruit. But Tamhane is in no hurry. He is very much under the spell of his next subject, Indian classical music. “Every time I undertake a project that is research-heavy, I come out as a new person.” he says.

“My existing beliefs have been shaken up in a big way, so it’s almost like a process of birth, life and death, and then reincarnation within the time of that project. I have no rational explanation as to why I got interested in Indian classical music. It’s just a bug that came out of nowhere and bit me,” he adds.

“One of the aspects that seduced me is that there is this element of secrecy, of myth-making, of stories attached to this world and with very eccentric characters. That was my initial entry point into this music. And also this seductive idea of having to dedicate your entire life to an art form that is so difficult to master.”

“It is a similar dedication that bonds Cuarón and Tamhane, a belief in their art form as the only way they can exist. “It’s the medium that I think in quite naturally,” Tamhane says. “I can’t live if I don’t do this.”

But Cuarón has a note of warning for his young friend.

The sheer grit, passion, and focus with which he overcame the challenges on a daily basis was inspiring and revealing.

“I hope that Chaitanya learns everything that is productive for him,” he says, “but what’s also important is that I learned from him. A lot of masters have these cautionary tales about talented people who could not follow the pulse of history. You have to understand what’s happening around you and the effect that’s having in cinema. I’m not saying, ‘OK, now everybody should start doing Marvel movies’, because it’s not about that.”

Mentorship, he says, has “a very selfish side to it. When you see Roma, you will see it has a certain kinship to Court, and that was something I was already after. When I saw Chaitanya’s film it just gave me more certainty. This guy went all the way for it and I’ll do the same.”

For Tamhane the experience of being on the set of Roma gave him a thoroughly career-affirming perspective. “The sheer grit, passion, and focus with which he [Cuarón] overcame the challenges on a daily basis was inspiring and revealing. I learnt that no matter how successful your track record is, or how many resources you have at your disposal, it never gets any easier. It's just the nature and scale of problems that change. What will eventually keep you afloat is your love for what you do and your faith in your vision.”

Nick James is the editor of the British Film Institute’s Sight & Sound magazine.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page