改變世界的傑出之士

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

勞力士雄才偉略大獎(Rolex Awards for Enterprise)得主懷著相同的熱忱,竭力探索及保護地球。

逾四十年來,勞力士大獎得主均憑藉非凡的勇氣、技術及決心,協助推動探索、了解、保護及珍惜地球的恒久使命,為我們的生活環境和資源出一分力。

縱觀歷史,世界文化皆由富啟發性且心懷壯志之士所建立。勞力士秉承雋永卓越的精神,表彰及支持這些傑出人士,並且選擇在在項目的構思階段,而非他們達成目標後提供資助。我們銳意引導重大發現和理念,為人類及整個地球帶來裨益。

勞力士大獎是「保護地球,恒動不息」(Perpetual Planet)的焦點,此項目支持主要人士和組織探索及保護地球,應對現今氣候變化等重重威脅。

勞力士雄才偉略大獎旨在頌揚、推廣及鼓勵環境保護、探索發現、科學醫療、文化傳承及應用科技領域的先鋒。獎項於1976年設立起,共收到來自191個國家逾34,000封申請,並從中選出140位得主。這些得獎者深入地球人跡罕至的地方、發掘全新知識、克服逆境障礙、構思解決難題的嶄新方法,為人類及自然界貢獻良多。

勞力士大獎得主均經由嚴謹程序選出,其中準則包括同行評審、評核、面談,以及項目達成目標的可能性。每隔兩年,五位得主均由獨立評審團選出,這些專家來自世界各地,當中包括傑出探險家、科學家、企業家及教育家。每位得主均獲得豐厚資金支持項目發展,以及廣泛宣傳的機會,不僅吸引新投資,亦能啟發他人。勞力士致力向整個社會傳達和分享得獎者項目的發現與成就。

法蘭斯高・紹羅與賀森・卓亞威

揭示洞穴的奧秘

意大利地質學家法蘭斯高・紹羅(Francesco Sauro)和沙特阿拉伯醫學家賀森・卓亞威(Hosam Zowawi)位於南美亞馬遜雨林平頂山的洞穴,探索這個從未有人踏足過的「靜謐世界」。這些未被探索的遠古石英岩洞受水流、地質變化及生物活動影響,經過數千萬年逐漸形成。他們希望在此尋找地球形成,以及生命起源的足跡。發現新生物亦有助解決威脅現代醫藥的耐藥性問題。
在奧揚特普伊山(Auyan Tepui)的「眾神之家」(Imawarì Yeuta)洞穴或能夠發現新物種。
荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯

亞馬遜的保育傳承

巴西保育專家荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯(José Márcio Ayres)寬仁善良,嚮往大自然,驅使他在亞馬遜森林建立全球最大的雨林保護區,面積近11,240平方公里。儘管艾爾斯已與世長辭,他的團隊仍然秉持其精神,拓闊保護區面積至57,000平方公里,並與當地的13,500名土著居民合作,推行生態旅遊、保育研究,以及可持續的捕魚和伐木管理。

馬斯奧・艾爾斯在亞馬遜建立馬米拉瓦可持續發展保護區。

馬克・肯德爾

疫苗革命

馬克・肯德爾(Mark Kendall)以往一直向航天專家之路進發,然而後來在醫學領域發揮天賦,並運用流體力學的知識,找出通過皮膚貼片接種疫苗的方法。此發明不僅除去令人生畏的針筒和注射器,更免卻了冷藏疫苗的麻煩。每年有1,700萬人因傳染病而死亡,他發明的納米貼(Nanopatch)有望拯救更多生命。世界衛生組織現正採用脊髓灰質炎疫苗,進行納米貼的臨床前測試。
納米貼覆有數以千計的微細突起物,用以注射疫苗。
約瑟・曲克

冰凍雨林

寒冷的格陵蘭冰蓋正日漸融解,其中卻蘊藏著數以十億計的微生物。英國冰川學家約瑟・曲克(Joseph Cook)正與時間競賽,在惡劣環境中探索這些於每個春季大量衍生的微生物,如何在氣候暖化下加熱,影響極地冰層融化,以及北半球和全球的天氣。微生物族群在冰層形成黑點,快速吸收熱力,加劇冰塊融化及海平面上升的速度。
約瑟・曲克正研究冰層的微生物如何影響全球氣候。
奧利維爾・辛基文拿

拯救盧旺達的吉祥鳥

獸醫奧利維爾・辛基文拿(Olivier Nsengimana)正協助家鄉盧旺達成為未來非洲保育活動的典範,並以雄偉的灰冠鶴作為修復國家濕地和自然棲息地的象徵。

眼見許多瀕危鶴鳥淪為私人珍藏,其組織為存活雀鳥統計,並監督牠們回歸野外。他亦成立鶴鳥保護中心及打擊偷獵計劃,為雀鳥建立野外避難所。

瀕危的灰冠鶴因其美麗外觀,而經常遭捕捉,淪為花園的裝飾品。
雲妮・豪澤曼

巴塔哥尼亞的深海生態

在南美南端巴塔哥尼亞峽灣的漆黑冰冷水域中,各種新奇的珊瑚和海洋生物終獲發現,實有賴德國及智利科學家雲妮・豪澤曼(Vreni Häussermann)的堅持探索。她在地球的偏遠角落下潛數百次,現在藉著機械探索,向全球和科學界揭示這片區域的豐富海洋生物多樣性。與此同時,她觀察到人類活動日益嚴重的威脅,因而致力宣傳保護海洋。
德國及智利生物學家兼海洋探險家雲妮・豪澤曼畢生致力探索及保育此生物多元之地。
莎拉・杜美

歇止撒哈拉沙漠的擴張

在北非突尼西亞,社會企業家莎拉・杜美(Sarah Toumi)與撒哈拉沙漠開展對抗,率領森林大軍歇止沙漠擴張。她通過培訓當地居民以可持續發展方式務農,成功鼓勵他們栽種逾30萬棵樹木,包括相思樹、橄欖樹、杏仁及辣木,令貧瘠沙地重新化為土地。其項目獲多達50位本地和國際科學專家及組織支持,她目前正在研究為全球受沙漠化威脅地區回復土壤肥沃和生命力的最佳方法。
在突尼西亞,莎拉・杜美正運用相思樹,抵禦日益擴張的撒哈拉沙漠。
史提芬・克勒斯

歸航

在北美緬因州的海岸,一種絕跡已久的海鳥逐漸回歸。甚具標誌性的海鸚在1880年代消失於近岸島嶼,幸而有賴鳥類學家史提芬・克勒斯(Stephen Kress)對其習性的仔細研究,以及在再次引入雀鳥的貢獻,海鸚終於回歸。他成功吸引野生雀鳥,再次在過往放棄的棲息地生活,建立出在全球各地重新引入瀕危雀鳥的模型,協助在14個國家恢復48種生物。
畢・諾文、羅伊・威爾森

保護世上體型最大的海洋魚類

澳洲海洋生物學家畢・諾文(Brad Norman)研發出覆蓋全球的照片辨認系統,讓數以千計的志願公民科學家參與探索海洋中體型最大的魚類──神秘而瀕危的鯨鯊。他與英籍大獎得主羅伊・威爾森(Rory Wilson)聯手,為這些溫馴巨魚佩戴小型電子監察設備,讓人類了解牠們的神祕行徑,其中的數據更有助確立鯨鯊的保護方案。
畢・諾文運用鯨鯊身上的星圖斑點,辨別每條鯨鯊。
勞力士大獎得主在全球創下不同成就。閱讀他們的故事,從中得到啟發。

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

Inspired individuals changing the world

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

scroll-down

The Laureates of the Rolex Awards for Enterprise are bound by a singular passion – to discover and protect our world.

For more than 40 years, the Awards have selected individuals of exceptional courage, skill and determination to help in the perpetual quest to explore, understand, guard and cherish the Earth we inhabit and all it holds.

Throughout history, civilization has been forged by people of inspiration and singular motivation: As a company that prizes timeless excellence, Rolex conceived the idea of recognizing and supporting such individuals, not when their achievements were complete, but while they were still in their formative stages. Our goal is to enable the birth of great discoveries, ideas and deliver practical benefit to humanity and the planet.

The Rolex Awards are a central pillar of Perpetual Planet – Rolex’s commitment to support key organizations and individuals who explore and safeguard our world – at a time when many forces, such as climate change, are combining to imperil it.

The Awards honour, promote and encourage pioneers in the fields of environment, exploration, science and health, cultural heritage and applied technology. Since they were established in 1976, more than 34,000 people from 191 countries have applied and 150 have been chosen. Together the Laureates have ventured into the world’s most forbidding places, acquired new knowledge, vanquished formidable hardships, generated fresh solutions to great challenges and delivered benefit to both humanity and the natural world.

Rolex Laureates are chosen through a meticulous process that involves peer review, assessment, interview and evaluation of the likelihood of their project achieving its aims. This generates a short-list of candidates from whom an independent jury of eminent explorers, scientists, entrepreneurs and educators convened from around the globe selects five new Laureates every two years. Each Laureate receives a substantial financial grant to support his or her project, and the benefit of wide publicity that both attracts fresh support and inspires others. Rolex places a high value on communicating and sharing the discoveries and achievements of the Laureates with society at large.

Francesco Sauro and Hosam Zowawi

Caves reveal their secrets

Italian geologist Francesco Sauro and Saudi medical scientist Hosam Zowawi have ventured deep into the unexplored caverns of South America’s ‘Lost World’, inside the table-top mountains of the Amazonian rainforest. In the ancient, unexplored quartzite caverns carved into the mountains by the slow action of water, geology and biology over tens of millions of years they hope for fresh insights about how the Earth was formed and how life has developed. The discovery of novel life forms might also yield clues as to the evolution of antibiotic resistance that threatens modern medicine.
The Imawarì Yeuta cave in the Auyan Tepui may yield novel life forms.
José Márcio Ayres

An Amazonian legacy

A great heart and abiding love of nature impelled Brazilian conservationist José Márcio Ayres to establish one of the world's largest protected rainforest areas, nearly 11,240 square kilometres, in the Amazon jungle. Though Ayres has now died, his team lives on, extending the area protected to 57,000 square kilometres, with the help of its 13,500 indigenous inhabitants who manage it sustainably for ecotourism, conservation research, sustainable fishing and timber management.

Márcio Ayres created the Mamirauá Sustainable Development Reserve
in the Amazon.

Mark Kendall

A vaccine revolution

Mark Kendall was on his way to becoming a rocket scientist. Then the Australian engineer turned his talents to medical science and, using his knowledge of fluid mechanics, invented a method to deliver vaccine via a patch applied to the skin. The method not only dispenses with the dreaded needle and syringe but also the need to keep vaccine refrigerated. His Nanopatch has the potential to spare the lives of the 17 million people who die of infectious diseases every year. Pre-clinical trials for the Nanopatch, using polio vaccine, are being conducted by the World Health Organization.
Nanopatches are covered with thousands of microscopic spikes that deliver the vaccine.
Joseph Cook

The frozen rainforest

In the frigid, disintegrating world of the Greenland Ice Cap a hidden life consisting of billions of microorganisms flourishes. British glaciologist Joseph Cook is racing the clock amid hostile conditions to discover how these tiny organisms, which form vast blooms each spring, may influence the fate of polar ice, the weather of the northern hemisphere and even the planet itself, as it heats under climate change. The blooms create dark patches of ice that warm more rapidly, accelerating the rate of melting and sea level rise.

Joseph Cook is researching how microorganisms in the ice sheet are influencing the climate.
Olivier Nsengimana

Saving Rwanda’s bird of fortune

Veterinarian Olivier Nsengimana is helping his home country of Rwanda emerge as a paradigm for future African conservation activity, using the majestic grey crowned-crane as a living emblem of the need to restore the country’s wetlands and natural habitat. With many of the endangered cranes in private collections, his organization carried out a census of surviving birds and has supervised their return to the wild. He has also established a crane sanctuary and a programme to combat poaching and create wilderness refuges for the birds.
The endangered grey crowned-crane is a victim of its own beauty, as it is often captured to provide a garden ornament.
Vreni Häussermann

Patagonia's wild depths

Out of the dark, chill waters of the Patagonian fjords in southernmost South America, strange unknown corals and sea creatures are coming to light under the persistent investigation of German-Chilean scientist Vreni Häussermann. Through hundreds of dives and now, robotic exploration of this remote corner of our Planet, she is revealing to the world and to science a wealth of marine biodiversity never before seen. At the same time, she observes the subtle, growing impacts of human activity that imperil it – and campaigns tenaciously for its protection.
German/Chilean biologist and marine explorer Vreni Häussermann has dedicated her life to exploring and protecting this biodiversity hotspot.
Sarah Toumi

Holding back the Sahara

In Tunisia, North Africa, social entrepreneur Sarah Toumi is locked in battle with the Sahara Desert, leading a forest army to defeat its relentless spread. By training local farmers in sustainable practices, she has encouraged the planting of over 300,000 trees – acacias, olives, almonds and moringa – to reclaim land that was turning to barren sand. Backed by a team of 50 local and international scientific experts and institutions, she is working out the best ways to restore fertility and life to lands threatened by the global scourge of desertification.

In Tunisia, Sarah Toumi is using acacia trees as a barrier against the encroaching Sahara Desert.
Stephen Kress

Return of the puffins

On the coast of Maine, North America, a vanished seabird is making a dramatic reappearance. The iconic puffin disappeared from coastal islands in the 1880s but now, thanks to meticulous study of its habits and reintroductions by ornithologist Stephen Kress, it has returned. His success in inducing a wild bird to recolonize its abandoned range has created a model for the reintroduction of endangered birds all over the world which is helping to restore 48 species in 14 countries.

Brad Norman and Rory Wilson

Enigma of the biggest fish in the sea

Australian marine biologist Brad Norman has pioneered a planet-wide photo-identification system in which thousands of volunteer citizen scientists are contributing to discovery of the secret life of the largest fish in the oceans, the mysterious and endangered whale shark. Teaming with British Laureate Rory Wilson, the two have also equipped these gentle giants with small electronic monitoring devices to reveal their cryptic behaviour out of sight of human eyes, providing data that will inform strategies to protect them.
Brad Norman identifies individual whale sharks through their unique star-flecked hides.
All over the planet Rolex Laureates are achieving similar feats. Read their stories and be inspired.

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page