Call to Earth

探索智利巴塔哥尼亞的新物種

野性深海:在生物滅絕前探索智利巴塔哥尼亞的新物種
(CNN) - 智利太平洋岸線隱藏著一片世外桃源。巴塔哥尼亞沿岸的壯麗積雪山綿延不斷,珊瑚便正是棲息在這些世上最深的峽灣之中。此處不時發現新物種,而且還有許多地方尚未曾探索。但即使完成記錄珊瑚礁,亦不足以避免危機逐漸迫近這片樂土。

影片:斯蒂芬妮・布蘭迪斯(Stefanie Blendis);撰文:托馬斯・佩奇(Thomas Page)
發布日期: 2020年7月icon-clock閱讀需時: 2min 43s

智利及德國生物學家雲妮・豪澤曼(Vreni Häusserman)於1990年代末來到智利巴塔哥尼亞,探索「地球僅餘的野生環境之一」。

豪澤曼在慕尼黑大學就讀時,通過交流計劃,到智利康塞普西翁學習一年。
為了蒐集論文資料,她與研究夥伴君特・福斯特(Günter Försterra,及後成為她的丈夫),沿智利的蜿蜒海岸線駕駛考察6個月。
他們經常在路上潛水,豪澤曼深被巴塔哥尼亞的無限可能迷倒。她憶述:「這是最美麗,也是認識最缺乏的地區。」

這些偏遠的峽灣由冰川侵蝕太平洋河谷而成,此處的海岸線長約80,000公里,相當於地球圓周的兩倍。這是必須奉獻一生的艱鉅使命。幸好,她和福斯特自2003年便在柯馬峽灣的惠奈科學觀察站成立常設基地,並在此展開研究。

他們二人共發現超過100種新海洋物種,其中包括眾多珊瑚及海葵。然而,他們亦表示目前的生態系統,與研究開始之初已大為不同。
豪澤曼說他們目睹峽灣的鮭魚養殖場數目急升。福斯特亦表示養殖場的魚類排泄物及飼料顆粒會成為肥料,「大幅改變水中的營養環境」。
福斯特解釋:「這會導致藻華,減少水中的含氧量。」 他形容此現象的影響嚴重,甚至改變整個食物鏈。
豪澤曼說:「我們一方面面對鮭魚養殖、捕魚及貝類生產問題,另外也有來自氣候變化的威脅。」 她補充指,從陡峭山坡傾瀉而下的溫帶雨林泥土木屑,以及引致水底縫隙排放甲烷及硫磺的火山活動,均有一定程度的影響。
豪澤曼解釋:「多項因素互相影響,有時難以斷定每種變化的實際成因,但我們的確看到生物多樣性的重大改變。」
她補充道:「這些變化太過快速,絕對並非自然。」

智利是全球第二大的鮭魚生產地,2018年的出口估值便有50億美元。
Salmón Chile是鮭魚生產者及供應商協會,而埃斯特班・拉米瑞茲(Esteban Ramírez)則是其鮭魚研究總經理。他通過電郵告訴CNN,鮭魚養殖場的排泄物及飼料顆粒有機會令水中養分提高,但辯指大部分情況只會影響養殖場附近的水區。
他也補充,鮭魚業遵守嚴格的環境法規,並已採用減輕負面影響的技術。他表示生物多樣性的任何改變都是基於「多個因素」,包括「氣候變化、污染及其他人為因素」。
他說:「我們一直致力避免破壞,通過創新與研究減少對環境的影響。」

豪澤曼和福斯特的工作漸成生物分類,即發現及界定物種,並需要與時間競賽。她說:「(生物分類)是全球普遍的難題。世上有許多許多物種尚未被仔細記錄描述,或與相類似的生物作比較……不幸地,殊多物種將不能趕及在滅絕前被記錄下來。」
豪澤曼補充:「我們努力記錄這裡的生物,探索在此棲息的物種、其生活環境、生存條件,(以及)氣候變化的影響。」

水面以下的世界奇妙無窮,部分研究所得更可引起全球關注。當地球大氣層的二氧化碳含量愈高,海洋便會愈趨酸性。峽灣淺水珊瑚的生活環境,與科學界估計的2100年海洋酸度相若。它們或可以揭示其他地區珊瑚的未來。

豪澤曼和福斯特在淺水區域發現眾多物種,其中包括兩種海葵,便依女兒菲奧娜(Fiona)及兒子法比安(Fabian)的名字,將它們命名為「Isoparactis fionae」及「Isoparactis fabiani」。豪澤曼說:「我認為它們代表未來一代應關愛及認識如何照料地球。」

他們使用可下潛500米的遙控潛水器探索深淵。豪澤曼表示他們的「宏願」,是運用更先進的遙控潛水器,抵達柯馬南面1,300米深的梅謝爾海峽(Messier Channel)。此處的大部分區域仍未被探索。她補充:「實在難以想像我們會在那裡發現甚麼。」
豪澤曼與福斯特向政府提供資料,他們說這可協助智利巴塔哥尼亞的可持續及保護發展。豪澤曼表示他們對生態系統仍然「認識不足」,並相信這是人們不察覺其危機的原因。
豪澤曼說當她與智利民眾分享水中植物的照片時,他們經常會驚嘆此生物多樣性豐富的樂土原來就在跟前。她說:「這正是海洋的悲歌:即使水中生物消失殆盡,亦沒有人會知道。因此,與大眾分享這些圖像,展示海洋的美態可謂非常重要。
「要先了解,才會喜愛。有了喜愛,方有保育的動力。」

合作關係系列

Call to Earth

探索

Call to Earth

Discovering new species in Chilean Patagonia

The wild deep: Discovering new species in Chilean Patagonia — before they go extinct.
(CNN) — On the Pacific fringes of Chile lies a biological haven. Along the Patagonian coast, surrounded by majestic snow-capped mountains, corals live among some of the deepest fjords in the world. New species are being discovered here; there are still areas waiting to be documented. But even as the reefs' secrets reveal themselves, there is trouble in paradise.

Video by Stefanie Blendis; story by Thomas Page
Published in July 2020icon-clockTime to read: 2min 43s

Chilean-German biologist Vreni Häussermann arrived in Chilean Patagonia in the late 1990s to explore what she calls “one of the last wildernesses on Earth.”

Häussermann was a student at the University of Munich when an exchange program gave her the chance to study for a year in the city of Concepcion, central Chile. For her thesis, she set out on a six-month drive along the country's long coastline with research partner Gunter Forsterra, who is now her husband. They dived frequently along the way, and Häussermann was intrigued by the possibilities of Patagonia. “It was the most beautiful, least known region,” she recalls.

The isolated fjords were created by the Pacific inundating deep valleys once carved by glaciers, and the region's coastline is some 80,000 kilometers long — twice the circumference of the Earth. It's the job of a lifetime and a lifetime's work. Fortunately, she and Forsterra, have had a permanent base since 2003 at Huinay Scientific Field Station in Comau Fjord from which to launch their studies.

Together they have discovered more than 100 new species of sea life, including many corals and anemones. But they say the ecosystem has changed profoundly since they began.
Häussermann says they witnessed a rapid growth in the number of salmon farms operating at the fjord. Fish feces and uneaten food pellets from the farms act as a fertilizer, according to Forsterra, “changing the nutrient environment in the water dramatically.”
“You get algae blooms,” Forsterra explains, “you get a depletion in oxygen in the water.” He says this can have a dramatic impact, changing entire food chains.
“We have on one side salmon farming, fishing, shellfish harvesting, but also climate change,” says Häussermann. Landslides from the steep mountainsides covered in temperate rainforest also have an effect, she adds, as does volcanic activity, causing methane and sulfur emissions from underwater crevasses.
“All this overlays,” Häussermann explains. “It's really hard to track what is the reason for each change, but we're definitely seeing drastic changes in biodiversity.”
“These changes,” she adds, “are definitely too fast to be natural.”

Chile is the world's second-biggest salmon producer, with exports worth an estimated $5 billion in 2018.
Esteban Ramírez is general manager of salmon research at Salmón Chile, an association of producers and suppliers. He told CNN in an email that feces and uneaten pellets from salmon farms are a potential source of nutrients in the water, but argues that in most cases the nutrient increase is localized around the farms.
He added that the industry operates within strict environmental regulations and has implemented technologies to mitigate any negative impacts. He says any impact on biodiversity is “multifactorial,” citing “climate change, pollution and other anthropogenic factors.”
“We continually work on prevention, innovation and research to reduce any environmental impact,” he said.

Häussermann and Forsterra's job has become taxonomy — the discovery and classification of species — against the clock. “(Taxonomy is) a general problem in the world,” she says. “We have many, many more species that haven't been described, compared to the ones that have ... and there will unfortunately be a lot of species that will never be described before they go extinct.”
“We are trying to really inventory the region to find what lives here, where does it live, what conditions does it need for life, (and) how are things changing with climate change, Häussermann adds.”

Below the water surface there's an abundance to study — and some of the findings could have global interest. As carbon dioxide levels increase in the Earth's atmosphere, the world's oceans are becoming more acidic. Shallow water corals in the fjords already live in conditions as acidic as the world's oceans are predicted to be in 2100. They could offer potential insights into how corals elsewhere may function in the future.

Among the finds in the shallows are two new anemones, “Isoparactis fionae” and “Isoparactis fabiani,” named after Häussermann and Forsterra's daughter Fiona and son Fabian. “I think they should represent, for me, that the future generation needs to really care and needs to learn to care about the planet,” says Häussermann.

To explore the depths, they use a remotely operated vehicle (ROV) that can descend 500 meters. Their “big dream,” says Häussermann, is to use a more advanced ROV to reach the bottom of the 1,300-meter deep Messier Channel south of Comau, which remains largely unexplored. “It would be unbelievable to see what's down there,” she adds.
Häussermann and Forsterra provide information to the government, which they say will contribute to Chilean Patagonia's sustainable use and protection. Häussermann says the ecosystem is still “so poorly known” — a factor, she believes, in why its plight is slipping below the radar.
Oftentimes when she shares photographs of the underwater flora with Chileans, Häussermann says they are surprised this biodiversity is on their doorstep. “This is really the tragedy of the ocean: because even if all the life down there would be wiped out, nobody would see it,” she says. “It's really important to bring these images to the people and show them the beauty.
“Only if people understand it, they will like it. And only if they like will they be interested in preserving it.”

Partnership Series

Call to Earth

Discover