于rolex.org搜索

大卫・斯威登巴克踏自行车开展新生活

发布日期: 2000年 | 更新日期: 2020年阅读需时: 0分46秒

通过回收废旧自行车,大卫・斯威登巴克(David Schweidenback)为发展中国家的人民带来就业、商贸和教育机会。

地点美国

每年,美国人平均购买1,800万台新自行车,同时丢弃数百万台旧自行车。而大多数最终会被送往早已不堪负荷的堆田区。与此同时,发展中国家的人民需要廉价、无污染的交通工具前往工作、市集、会面和上学场所。

自行车不仅是交通工具,更有助善用时间。取代走路所省下的时间可用于工作,赚取更多收入。自行车令你的生活变得更加轻松、更具效率。

Pedals for Progress(简称P4P)于1991年由斯威登巴克成立,迄今已修复并捐赠超过159,000台自行车、5,000台旧缝纫机及价值1,080万美元的新零件,受惠慈善机构遍及42个发展中国家。P4P强调责任的重要性,向P4P捐赠自行车的人士需要支付少量费用,而发展中国家的人民则以低廉价格购买自行车。

P4P主要在纽约、新泽西州及费城地区运作,不过这个模式先后获50多家独立企业采纳,地点遍布美国、加拿大、英国、爱尔兰、瑞士、日本、中国及澳大利亚。

  • 42个

    发展中国家接收P4P自行车

  • 42,672台

    P4P送往尼加拉瓜的自行车数目,尼加拉瓜是项目的主要受益国之一

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

David SchweidenbackBicycle ride to a new life

Published in 2000  | Updated in 2020icon-clockTime to read: 0min 46s
icon-scroll-down

By recycling discarded bicycles, David Schweidenback is giving people in the developing world the means to pursue employment, commerce and education.

locationUnited States

Every year, Americans buy 18 million new bicycles and discard millions of old ones. Most end up in overburdened landfills. Meanwhile, people in developing countries need cheap, non-polluting transport to get to jobs, markets, customers and schools.

A bike isn’t just transport, it’s time. The time you save by not walking can be used to work, to earn more income. Having a bike makes your day easier and more productive.

Pedals for Progress, or P4P, set up by Schweidenback in 1991, has donated more than 159,000 bicycles and 5,000 sewing machines and US$10.8 million in new spare parts to partner charities in 42 developing countries. P4P emphasizes responsibility; people who donate bikes to P4P also pay a small fee, and people in the developing world buy them at a low price.

P4P's primary domestic operations are in the New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia region, but his model has been copied by more than 50 independent enterprises across the United States and Canada, and in the United Kingdom, Ireland, Switzerland, Japan, China and Australia.

  • 42

    Number of developing countries where P4P has sent bikes

  • 42,672

    Bikes sent by P4P to Nicaragua, one of the main beneficiary countries of the programme

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover more