奧斯卡・艾普尼摩讓窮苦群眾果腹的軟件

發布日期: 2016年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

估計有多達1,300萬名尼日利亞居民每天均受飢餓的煎熬。有見及此,一位軟件工程師決定運用軟件服務,重新分配食物予有需要的人,從而舒緩他們的困境,並減少浪費。

地點尼日利亞

奧斯卡・艾普尼摩(Oscar Ekponimo)深明空腹上學的困苦。他的父親於其11歲時,因患重病而失業,家庭生計頓失。他回想當時的情況:「緊接的三年,我們均不得溫飽,若每天能吃上一頓飯,便已心滿意足。」此經歷令他決意協助其他人渡過難關。

此項目不僅為數以百萬計民眾帶來價格廉宜的食糧,並同時為零售商提供可持續發展系統以處理快將過期的食品。這確是一個雙贏局面。

艾普尼摩在尼日利亞首都阿布賈(Abuja)任職軟件工程師。他研發出Chowberry應用程式,只需掃描食品包裝上的條碼,程式便會於食物保質期即將完結時提示零售商,讓商戶能出售這些打折貨品予低收入消費者或福利機構。項目的試驗計劃非常成功,20個商戶於三個月內接觸300名住在拉各斯(Lagos)及阿布賈的居民,為150名孤兒和弱勢兒童提供食物。

艾普尼摩將運用勞力士大獎的資金改善軟件功能並拓展項目,以涵蓋更多零售夥伴。他表示:「當我想到有數百萬人活在飢餓中,並仰賴我為他們解困,便驅使我進一步發展Chowberry。」

  • 1300萬人

    每天均受飢餓之苦的尼日利亞居民估計數目

  • 70%

    每天收入少於1.25美元的尼日利亞居民比率

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Oscar Ekponimo

Software that feeds the poor

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Going hungry is a daily reality for an estimated 13 million Nigerians – but an enterprising software engineer is aiming to alleviate their suffering through a software service that redistributes food to people in need and reduces waste at the same time.

locationNigeria

Oscar Ekponimo knows what it is like to go to school on an empty stomach. When he was 11 his father became severely ill and lost his job, and with it, the family income. “For the next three years we had little food in the house,” he recalls. “If we had one small meal at the end of the day, it was a good day.” This experience made him determined to prevent others enduring the same plight.

I saw an opportunity to provide affordable nutrition to millions of people while providing retailers with a sustainable system for managing the end of shelf-life. This is a win-win solution.

A software engineer in the Nigerian capital Abuja, Ekponimo developed the Chowberry app, which alerts retailers via scanned bar codes when packaged food is reaching its expiry date, enabling them to offer discounted items to low-income consumers or welfare agencies. A successful three-month pilot involving 20 retailers reached about 300 people in Lagos and Abuja, feeding 150 orphans and vulnerable children.

With his Rolex Award, Ekponimo will improve the software and scale up the project by adding more retail partners. “When I think of the millions of people who are food-deprived, counting on me to give them some relief, I am driven to make Chowberry a success,” he says.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page