乔治・范德利姆喜马拉雅山的宝藏

发布日期: 1996年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 43s
icon-scroll-down

三十多年来,乔治・范德利姆(George van Driem)屡次长途跋涉登上喜马拉雅山,为的就是拯救区内濒临灭绝的土著语言。

地点尼泊尔

语言学专家乔治・范德利姆每年花上数个月,沿着喜马拉雅山的河谷而行,记录快将消逝的土著语言文法。随着他的计划不断扩展,其他学术领域如遗传学和考古学亦涉猎其中,借此了解世上最复杂地区之一的语言和迁徙历史。

少数民族语言借记录语法确立其地位和名声,并奠下教学基础。

为记录丰富语言资源,他与同行研究人员已撰写超过20本语法书籍,来自荷兰的范德利姆继续在瑞士首都伯恩与学生共同出版著作,并于最近成立了伯恩描写语言学暑期学校(Bern Summer School of Descriptive Linguistics)。他每年在喜马拉雅山逗留长达五个月,并积极融入当地村民的生活。

其研究要点尼泊尔于2015年受地震侵袭,夺去了超过9,000人的生命。范德利姆和他的学生随即行动,为当地失去亲人和家园的灾民筹集资金。

  • 3,600公里

    喜马拉雅山长度

  • 300种以上

    喜马拉雅山的土著语言

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

close

George van DriemHidden riches of the Himalayas

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

For more than 30 years, George van Driem has trekked the Himalayas on a mission to save the region’s indigenous languages from extinction.

locationNepal

Linguistics expert George van Driem spends several months each year trekking along river valleys to record the grammars of disappearing indigenous languages in the Himalayas. As it has grown, his project has embraced other disciplines, such as genetics and archaeology, to help map the linguistic and migratory history of one of the most complex regions in the world.

A written grammar bestows status and prestige on a minority language, and renders its teaching possible.

To document the linguistic riches, he and his fellow researchers have written more than 20 grammar books, which the Dutchman continues to co-author with his students in the Swiss capital of Bern. Van Driem, who spends up to five months a year in the Himalayas, immersing himself in the lives of the villagers he is studying, recently launched the Bern Summer School of Descriptive Linguistics.

In 2015, much of Nepal, a focal point for his research, was struck by earthquakes, claiming the lives of more than 9,000 people. Van Driem and his students have been raising funds for those who lost relatives and homes.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page