佐真娜・赫爾曼沙漠瑰寶

發布日期: 1996年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

佐真娜・赫爾曼博士(Dr Georgina Herrmann),是專責探索中亞古代絲綢之路城市梅爾夫(Merv)考古工作的代表人物。

地點土庫曼斯坦

梅爾夫是絲綢之路上最歷史悠久且保存最完好的綠洲城市。這片遼闊綠洲上的遺跡横跨了4,000年的人類歷史。倫敦大學學院榮譽教授佐真娜・赫爾曼博士是國際間致力了解梅爾夫秘密的重要先驅之一。梅爾夫是位於土庫曼斯坦共和國卡拉庫姆沙漠的遠古及中世紀城市群,蘊含豐富考古價值及歷史知識。

梅爾夫現存的六十多個古蹟均獨一無二,並無別處仍然存在類似的古蹟。

梅爾夫曾建有皇宮和花園,亦有大量果園和河流。自從中國引入桑蠶後,更開始發展繁盛的紡織業。古代梅爾夫圖書館的藏書量極為豐富,吸引了世界各地的學者前往研究,當中包括著名天文學家兼詩人奧瑪・開儼(Omar Khayyam)。

為研究梅爾夫遺址,赫爾曼於1991年聯合創辦國際梅爾夫項目(International Merv Project)。於退休前她領導該項目長逹十年,並在土庫曼斯坦向聯合國申請將梅爾夫遺址列入世界遺產的過程中擔當重要角色。梅爾夫遺址於1999年獲列入聯合國世界遺產,成為中亞地區首個列於遺產名錄中的古代遺址。

赫爾曼在梅爾夫所作出的貢獻,讓她贏得一系列重要榮譽,當中包括於1999年獲委任為英國國家學術院院士,以及於2001年獲授予大英帝國勳章。

  • 公元前5世紀至<br>公元13世紀

    梅爾夫的黃金時期

  • 每年8個星期

    適合在梅爾夫進行挖掘的時間

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Georgina Herrmann

Treasures in the desert

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Dr Georgina Herrmann has been a key figure in unearthing the archaeological treasures of Merv on the ancient Silk Route in Central Asia.

locationTurkmenistan

Merv is the oldest and best-preserved of the oasis-cities along the Silk Route, the ruins in this vast oasis spanning 4,000 years of human history. Dr Georgina Herrmann, an Honorary Professor at University College London, was one of the driving forces behind the international effort to understand the secrets of Merv, a series of ancient and medieval cities in the Kara Kum Desert in the republic of Turkmenistan, that brim with archaeological treasures and knowledge of the past.

The 60-odd existing monuments at Merv are unique. Nothing like them has survived elsewhere.

The area was once filled with palaces and gardens, fruit groves and streams. Silkworms from China created a prosperous fabric industry. The impressive libraries of ancient Merv were fabulously endowed, attracting scholars from all over the world, including the famous astronomer-poet Omar Khayyam.

Herrmann co-founded the International Merv Project in 1991 to investigate the site. She led the project for a decade before retiring and played a central role in Turkmenistan’s application to UNESCO for World Heritage Status for the Merv site, which was granted in 1999. It became the first archaeological site to be listed in Central Asia.

Significant accolades for her work at Merv include her election in 1999 as a Fellow of the British Academy and the bestowing of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) medal in 2001.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page