森本喜久男丝绸之村

发布日期: 2004年clock阅读需时: 45s
scroll-down

森本喜久男(Kikuo Morimoto)在饱受战争蹂躏的柬埔寨,培训新织工并开设自立工坊,重振几近失传的古老丝绸制作传统。

地点柬埔寨

在20世纪下半叶爆发的柬埔寨内乱,对不同领域造成严重损害,文化知识和传统技能是较少人留意的其中两项。在此期间,世代相传的历史智慧被肆意剥夺,当中包括名噪一时的丝绸制作。

我们以爱护大自然的方式,从森林撷取天然材质并制成丝绸。我相信村庄现已迈向可持续发展的模式。

日本丝绸专家森本喜久男着手重振柬埔寨的丝绸制作,以防这项文化永久失传,同时通过成立高棉传统织物研究所(Institute for Khmer Traditional Textiles),协助数以百计的贫困妇女和家庭维持生计。

经过多年努力,他于2000年在著名的吴哥窟遗址附近找到一片土地,为织工提供工作场地,织工亦可绕过中间人,直接编织优质丝绸。不足20年,这片土地已发展成传统丝绸之村,所出产的精致布料吸引不少外地游客前来购买。此处有50户共逾150人定居,并设有一所容纳50名儿童的学校。森本喜久男培植桑树作喂蚕之用,以及栽种植物和树木作天然染料的目标早已达成,目前在村庄外围种植的树木多达数千棵。

  • 4,000棵

    村庄外围种植的树木数量

  • 23公顷

    村落规模

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close

Kikuo MorimotoA village devoted to silk

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Kikuo Morimoto has revived the ancient silk-making tradition from near-extinction in war-ravaged Cambodia, training new weavers and creating self-sustaining workshops.

locationCambodia

Cultural knowledge and traditional skills were two of the lesser-known casualties of decades of conflict in Cambodia in the second half of the 20th century. During this period, a generation was deprived of the wisdom of the past, including the production of fine silk for which the country was famous.

We are now producing silk using natural materials obtained from our forest with great care for the environment. I believe that we have reached the point of being a sustainable village.

Japanese silk expert Kikuo Morimoto set out to revive the silk-making culture in Cambodia before it was lost forever and to provide a livelihood for hundreds of impoverished women and their families through his Institute for Khmer Traditional Textiles.

In 2000, after years of hard work, he found a plot of land near the famous ruins of Angkor where he could bring weavers together, allowing them to bypass middlemen, and spend the months required to weave silk to master standards. Less than 20 years later, the plot of land has become a traditional silk village that attracts overseas visitors to buy the exquisite fabrics. Fifty houses are home to more than 150 permanent residents, with a school for 50 children. Morimoto’s vision of nurturing mulberry trees to feed silk worms and raising plants and trees to create the natural dyes has been more than fulfilled, with thousands of trees planted on the outskirts of the village.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page