卓麗莎・曼妮拉・迪・比安歌尋找過去的足跡

發布日期: 2004年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

位於阿根廷比可因哥(Pehuen Có)的史前動物足印遺跡正受到水位上升及人為破壞所威脅,古生物學家卓麗莎・曼妮拉・迪・比安歌(Teresa Manera de Bianco)致力於保育這些遺跡。

地點阿根廷

卓麗莎・曼妮拉・迪・比安歌正在保存及保護大量歷經12,000年、獨一無二的動物足印。這個位於比可因哥、在曼妮拉・迪・比安歌居住地附近、長達3公里的遺跡屬阿根廷大西洋海岸一部分,許多年前這裏曾是雀鳥和哺乳類動物聚居的內陸池塘。該遺跡數千年來被沉積物所覆蓋,現時則受到水位上升及無數遊客帶來的破壞所威脅。曼妮拉・迪・比安歌已為22種哺乳類動物和鳥類共約400個足印鑄模,並在當地一間博物館展出。她還說服阿根廷當局確立該地區為一個地質及古生物保護區,遊人不得駕車駛入遺跡。

我們在分析探索所得時,不禁會想這些不久前仍存在的珍禽異獸曾遭遇什麼不測。如果能了解發生在牠們身上的事,也許能預防一些或會影響我們未來的轉變。

她現致力於令該區列入聯合國世界遺產。於過去十年,她與團隊曾發表多篇涵蓋考古學、古生物學、地質學和自然遺產保育的研究論文和概要。曼妮拉・迪・比安歌未來將繼續其教育及外展計劃,並推動可持續旅遊發展。

  • 90 X 40厘米

    該遺跡中最大足印的尺寸

  • 22種

    在比可因哥留下足印的動物品種數目,
    包括乳齒象、駱駝、紅鸛及鴨子

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Teresa Manera de BiancoFootprints to the past

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Prehistoric animal tracks at Pehuen Có in Argentina are threatened by rising sea levels and human destruction but the pioneering efforts of palaeontologist Teresa Manera de Bianco are helping to preserve them.

locationArgentina

Teresa Manera de Bianco is saving and protecting a unique collection of animal footprints made 12,000 years ago. Today, the 3 km-long site at Pehuen Có is part of Argentina’s Atlantic coastline near her home, but millennia ago it was an inland pond teeming with birds and mammals. Covered for thousands of years by sediment, the site is threatened by rising sea levels and the damaging effects of thousands of tourists. Manera de Bianco has made about 400 footprint casts of 22 species of mammals and birds and put them on display at a local museum. She has also persuaded the Argentinean authorities to declare the site a geological and palaeontological reserve, protecting it from vehicles driven by tourists.

As we analyse what we've discovered, we ask what happened to these big animals not so long ago. If we can understand what happened to them, perhaps we can prevent some changes that could affect our future.

Her current focus is to have the area designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In the past decade she and her team have written numerous papers and abstracts covering archaeology, palaeontology, geology and natural heritage protection. In the future, Manera de Bianco will continue her education and outreach programmes, and promote sustainable tourism.

  • 90 x 40 cm

    Dimensions of the site's biggest print

  • 22

    Species of animals that left footprints at Pehuen Có, including mastodons, camelids, flamingos and ducks

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page