阿伦・克里希纳默西印度的洁净发展计划

发布日期: 2012年clock阅读需时: 55s
scroll-down

印度保育专家阿伦・克里希纳默西(Arun Krishnamurthy)毅然辞去谷歌(Google)的厚职,向重振环境的梦想进发,并鼓励不同社区重建受污染的城市湖泊。

地点印度

印度经济蓬勃发展,自然资源因而受压。阿伦・克里希纳默西尽一切努力打破这个局面。他创立的印度环保基金会(Environmentalist Foundation of India,EFI)连同数千名志愿者,合力在金奈(Chennai)和海得拉巴(Hyderabad)附近的四座城市清理39个受污染的湖泊。

连系帕利卡拉奈(Pallikaranai)湿地的基卡塔拉湖(Lake Kilkattalai)是多种鸟类和水龟的栖息地。然而,湖塘正受堵塞之害。若然情况持续下去,这个湖泊再过20年便会消失。我决心阻止此事发生。

湖泊枯竭导致市区水源匮乏,垃圾倾倒和危险污水问题也带来潜在健康威胁。克里希纳默西成功清走基卡塔拉湖内面积达1.5平方公里的污水,并凭此赢得劳力士雄才伟略大奖,而这个项目亦是现今环保挑战的真实写照。

他创立的非政府组织逐步拓展至其他城市,如德里(Delhi)、特里凡德琅(Trivandrum)、勒克瑙(Lucknow)、艾哈迈达巴德(Ahmedabad)、班加罗尔(Bangalore)、哥印拜陀(Coimbatore)、本地治里(Pondicherry)及加尔各答(Kolkata),经学校计划招募的志愿者亦在各个地方举办不同活动。他们把湖泊清理工作分成多个阶段,包括管理废物、重新引入麻雀、种植本土植物、堆肥、在学校设立生物多样性公园、推行动物保健、筹办青年营,并通过媒体提高大众的环保意识。

为支付计划成本,克里希纳默西经营传讯公司,向不同企业提供社会和环境项目的投资方案,借以提升企业的公众形象。他一直以建设洁净和可持续发展的现代印度社会为目标,其工作亦不断取得进展,当地政府已于2016年7月批准印度环境保护基金会进行额外19个湖泊重整项目。

  • 39个

    克里希纳默西与EFI完成清理工作的湖泊数目

  • 19公吨

    EFI的清洁人员在印度南部海得拉巴的卡普拉湖(Kapra Lake)清走的垃圾量

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Arun Krishnamurthy

Clean vision for India

Published in 2012clockTime to read: 55s
scroll-down

Quitting a promising career at Google to follow a dream of rejuvenating the environment around him, Indian conservationist Arun Krishnamurthy has inspired communities to restore their polluted urban lakes.

locationIndia

India’s booming economy is putting pressure on its natural resources. Arun Krishnamurthy is doing what he can to combat that. His Environmentalist Foundation of India (EFI) and its thousands of volunteers have cleaned up 39 polluted lakes in four cities around Chennai and Hyderabad.

Lake Kilkattalai, which feeds the Pallikaranai wetland, is home to several species of birds and pond turtles. It is being choked. If it continues this way, 20 years down the line, this lake could become a forgotten story. I am determined not to let that happen.

The depletion of lakes is affecting scarce water supplies in urban areas, and garbage-dumping and dangerous effluent has turned them into potential health hazards. Krishnamurthy won a Rolex Award for his project to restore Lake Kilkattalai, a stretch of polluted water emblematic of the challenges faced by environmentalists.

As his non-governmental organization has grown and spread to other cities – it operates also in Delhi, Trivandrum, Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Coimbatore, Pondicherry and Kolkata – so has the list of activities carried out by its volunteers, often recruited through school programmes. Their phased lake clean-ups now include waste management, reintroducing sparrows, planting native species, composting, school biodiversity parks, animal care, youth camps and promoting mass awareness through the media.

To cover project costs, Krishnamurthy runs a communications company that advises enterprises on how to invest in social and environmental campaigns to improve their public image. His vision of a clean and sustainable modern India continues to gain traction; in July 2016, the government gave EFI permission to rejuvenate 19 more lakes.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page