姜吉榕引领改变

发布日期: 2016年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

姜吉榕(Christine Keung)于四岁时移居美国,她计划借着自己的知识,解决中国西北地区的农村污染问题。

地点中国

自年幼起,姜吉榕便努力不懈,不希望辜负父母为她所作的牺牲。她出身于美国华侨家庭,不仅是家族中首位大学毕业生,历年来亦获奖无数。她于19岁时赢得美国国家科学基金会(National Science Foundation)的研究资助,更于2014年取得富布赖特(Fulbright)奖学金,并获哈佛大学商学院的高潜质学生计划取录。

当我成为家族中首位大学毕业生,便意识到自己可运用所学习的知识,免却世界各种问题对我的影响;或是引导大众正视这些问题。

她受父母当年于文化大革命时的经历渲染,对中国西北地区产生浓厚兴趣。当她于2012年到访属该地区的陕西省时,便因父亲曾居住过的洞穴环境而惊讶不已,同时亦因黄河支流受医疗用品及农药污染而痛心。她于两年后藉富布莱特奖学金重回此地,决意集中研究农地污染。

她希望协助团体寻求处理危险废物的长远方案。农村的男士大多迁往城市工作,因此村落妇女便成为污染环境的元凶,而这便是姜吉榕的项目关注点。她表示:“我认为社区观念已经改变,妇女具备足够的知识、动机及能力,以保存、保育及投资她们的农地。”她的团队将带领工作坊,并邀请当地大学生实地推行,多方面支持妇女团体。

  • 60个

    姜吉榕与妇女、农民及医生合作处理水源污染的村落数目

  • 4种

    姜吉榕精通的语言数目,她能操流利英语、普通话及两种中国方言(粤语及上海话)

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Christine KeungAgents of change

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Christine Keung, who immigrated to the United States when she was four, is intent on using her education as a force for good – by tackling rural pollution in Northwest China.

locationChina

Growing up, what mattered to Christine Keung was honouring the sacrifices her parents had made. The daughter of Chinese immigrants, she was the first person in her family to graduate from university, winning a National Science Foundation research grant at age 19, and in 2014, a Fulbright scholarship and admission to the Harvard Business School’s high-potential student programme.

When I became the first in my family to earn a college degree, I knew that I could use my education to insulate myself from the problems of the world, or to become a force to address them.

Her fascination with Northwest China stemmed from her parents’ experience during the Cultural Revolution. When Keung visited the region’s Shaanxi province in 2012, she marvelled at cave dwellings where her father had lived, but was dismayed at the dumping of medical supplies and pesticides in Yellow River tributaries. Returning two years later on a Fulbright scholarship, she decided to focus her research on rural pollution.

Her ambition is to help authorities find long-term solutions to hazardous waste, and village women – who bear the disproportionate cost of environmental degradation as men migrate to cities for work – are the key to her project. “I see transformed communities where women have the knowledge, motivation and ability to preserve, protect and invest in their land,” she says. Her team will lead workshops, with local university students acting as field agents supporting women’s groups.

  • 60

    Villages where Keung works with women, farmers and doctors on water contamination

  • 4

    Keung is fluent in English, Mandarin and two Chinese dialects (Cantonese and Shanghainese)

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page