克劳迪娅・费赫野马与牧民

发布日期: 2004年clock阅读需时: 0min 55s
scroll-down

普氏野马(Przewalski)一度于1970年代的蒙古大草原上消失。然而,在克劳迪娅・费赫(Claudia Feh)带领的计划及其他数个组织的努力下,普氏野马成功重返世纪以来的栖息地,在过程中当地牧民的生活亦得到改善。

地点蒙古

克劳迪娅・费赫是蜚声国际的野马专家,专门研究马匹的群居行为,她于2004年在法国养殖普氏野马,然后把它们放归大自然。一直以来,马匹(蒙古语称为“takh”)均被视为人类与神明沟通的使者,亦是神圣之物。她的专业知识和企划不仅令马匹受惠,更成功提高牧民收入,改善当地的生活。

我一直对自由生活的马匹感兴趣,而普氏野马是世上仅存的野马种类。

为克劳迪娅・费赫赢得劳力士雄才伟略大奖的Wild Horse Mesh项目,让游牧民族以至国际和蒙古科学家,有机会在跨科资料中心内交流知识,携手保护环境。中心至今仍有举办年度牧民论坛及儿童夏季学堂。

克劳迪娅・费赫指普氏野马已从国际自然保护联盟红色名录(IUCN Red List)的野外绝灭级别降至极危级别,其后更再下调至濒危级别,项目的马匹数量于十年多增达一倍,由22匹升至60匹。在她的坚持和努力下,环境部门或于蒙古正式落实普氏野马的管理计划。

  • 60匹

    在蒙古自由生活的马匹数量

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

Claudia FehWild horses and nomads

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Przewalski's horses had disappeared from the Mongolian steppes by the 1970s but Claudia Feh led one of several initiatives reintroducing them to the habitat they had ranged for centuries – and improved the lives of local nomads in the process.

locationMongolia

In 2004, Claudia Feh, an expert on social behaviour of free-living horses, raised a herd of Przewalski's horses in France and reintroduced some of them to their natural habitat. The horses – known as takhi in Mongolia and considered man’s messenger to the gods and a sacred idol – were not the only beneficiaries of her expertise and enterprise. Her project has also helped improve the lives of local nomads by enabling them to boost their income.

I’ve always been interested in free-living horses, and the Przewalski is the world’s last truly wild horse.

Feh’s Rolex Award-winning Wild Horse Mesh project provided the nomads and international and Mongolian scientists with a unique opportunity to exchange knowledge at a multidisciplinary information centre. They also worked together on protecting the environment. Annual herder forums and summer schools for children continue at the centre to this day.

On the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) Red List the Przewalski's horse has moved from extinct in the wild to critically endangered and then to endangered. The project’s horse population has more than doubled in little more than a decade, increasing from 22 to 60 individuals. Partly due to Feh’s continued initiatives, a general management plan for Przewalski's horses in Mongolia is likely to be implemented by the Ministry of the Environment.

  • 60

    Horses living free in Mongolia

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page