小劳利・库伦重建翠绿森林

发布日期: 2004年clock阅读需时: 45s
scroll-down

位处巴西的大西洋沿岸森林(Atlantic Forest)日渐缩减,幸得小劳利・库伦(Laury Cullen Jr.)一直保卫这个独特的野生环境,并鼓励当地农民参与保育工作,局面才能成功扭转。

地点巴西

据记载,大西洋沿岸森林占地120万平方公里,大约等于巴西面积的12%。小劳利・库伦.于26年前移居圣保罗的巴拉那帕内马河畔(Pontal do Paranapanema),当时多达90%的大西洋沿岸森林已被摧毁。不少土地改用作木材林地和农场,令区内的野外生态饱受破坏。

我们的土地行动成功令景观有所改变,也为大西洋雨林带来完善的保护,对此我们深感自豪。

库伦是巴西林业工程师,他与小地主合作,证明农林业有助令退化土壤复元,同时拯救本土森林和动物,包括濒临绝种的黑狮面狨、美洲豹、貘及虎猫。他创立的生态研究所(Instituto de Pesquisas Ecológicas)每年平均造林达100公顷,相当于百多万棵树木。

巴西最大型的造林长廊于2011年建成,将国内两个仅余的森林贯通起来,覆盖700公顷的土地,库伦亦继续拓展工作领域。新长廊连系零星森林和野生物种,并由数百个本土家庭负责管理,对比单一农业模式,这个项目使树木、野生动物及农作物相辅而行,各人的生计亦得到改善。借此增加的收入估计达18%。

库伦以社区为本,一方面重建景观地貌,另一方面为农民增加收入来源,这可说是巴西最成功的保育模式之一,亦是现代人类与自然世界和谐共处的卓越范例。

  • 65,000公吨

    700公顷新林地长成后可存储的碳排放量

  • 逾300个

    家庭的生计因综合走廊和森林而得以改善

  • 5%

    每年参与农民人数的增长率

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Laury Cullen Jr.Recreating the emerald green forest

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

The long, slow retreat of Brazil’s Atlantic Forest has been reversed thanks to Laury Cullen Jr. who is protecting its unique wildlife and engaging local farmers in conservation.

locationBrazil

Historically, the Mata Atlântica covered 1.2 million km², about 12 per cent of Brazil. When Laury Cullen Jr. moved to Pontal do Paranapanema in São Paulo State 26 years ago, nine tenths of the once mighty Atlantic Forest had fallen. Cleared for timber and farms, this came at a devastating cost to the region’s wildlife.

We are extremely proud to see how our activities on the ground have effectively changed the landscape and contributed to additional cover in the Atlantic rainforest.

Working with small landholders, the Brazilian forestry engineer is proving that agroforestry can revive degraded soil while saving the forest and fauna, including the endangered black lion tamarin, jaguars, tapirs and ocelots. His organization Instituto de Pesquisas Ecológicas has been reforesting at an average of 100 hectares a year, or more than a million trees.

In 2011, the largest reforestation corridor in Brazil was completed, a 700-hectare green link between the state’s two main remnants of forest, and Cullen continues to expand the work. New corridors connecting forest fragments and wildlife populations are tended by hundreds of local families who earn a better living from the intermingled trees, wildlife and crops than from agriculture alone. Incomes are estimated to have increased by 18 per cent.

Cullen’s approach of combining landscape restoration with new income sources for farmers has become one of Brazil’s most quoted community-based conservation achievements, a new paradigm for modern humanity living in harmony with the natural world.

  • 65,000

    Tonnes of carbon the 700 hectares of new forest will store when fully grown

  • 300+

    Families earning a better living from the integrated corridors and islands of forest

  • 5%

    Annual increase in the number of participating farmers

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page