蓮迪・魯迪維爾・范・哈瑟爾特非洲健康的度量衡

發布日期: 2002年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

動物學家蓮迪・魯迪維爾・范・哈瑟爾特(Lindy Rodwell van Hasselt)不忍看到南非雄偉的肉垂鶴(wattled crane)逐漸消失,決定進一步拓展其保育鳥類棲息濕地的計劃。

地點南非

在非洲,鶴是環境健康的象徵。然而,有不少鶴類棲息的濕地因農業發展和水壩建造工程而遞減,更同時影響人類長遠用水供應穩定。

鳥類健康、濕地存續及可持續性均與人類健康息息相關。

這種非洲體型最大的鶴鳥身高達1.7米,羽毛亮麗且翼展寬闊,令人一見難忘。它是南非文化中不可或缺的一部分,蓮迪・魯迪維爾・范・哈瑟爾特對於肉垂鶴或會絕種感到難以置信。

1991年,范・哈瑟爾特成立了一個影響力偏及全國的鶴鳥工作組織,專注於保育瀕危的鶴鳥和濕地,並於2002年因成功建立橫跨非洲的保育人士網絡而獲頒勞力士大獎。

她的項目範圍日漸擴大,並與美國國際鶴類基金會(International Crane Foundation)合作,共同觀察非洲肉垂鶴的分佈。經過逾二十年的努力,現在所有在南非發現的鶴鳥物種:藍鶴、冠鶴及肉垂鶴的數目均日漸增長。

該項目現在由范・哈瑟爾特過往的同事管理,而自2008年她投入路易斯基金會(Lewis Foundation)的工作,並支持多項保育計劃。

  • 15個

    分佈全球的鶴類品種數量,牠們都會跳一種複雜精細的求偶舞

  • 11個

    有肉垂鶴聚居的中非及南非州份數目

  • 2米

    肉垂鶴的翼展寬度

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Lindy Rodwell van Hasselt

Barometers for Africa’s health

Published in 2002clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Distressed to see the regal wattled crane disappearing in South Africa, zoologist Lindy Rodwell van Hasselt expanded her conservation network to save the bird’s wetland habitats.

locationSouth Africa

In Africa, cranes are barometers for the health of the environment. As wetlands are drained for agriculture and dams are built, their habitat diminishes along with long-term water security for millions of people.

You’ve got a direct link between the health of the birds, the survival and sustainability of these wetlands and the health of the people.

At an elegant 1.7 metres tall, with trailing plumage and a massive wingspan, the wattled crane, Africa’s biggest crane, is an impressive sight. Its presence is woven into the cultural fabric of South Africa, and the idea that it might one day disappear was almost inconceivable for Lindy Rodwell van Hasselt.

In 1991, van Hasselt established a national crane working group to focus on the conservation of endangered cranes and wetlands, and in 2002 a planned network of conservationists across Africa earned her a Rolex Award.

Her project’s scope extended and she developed a partnership with the International Crane Foundation in the United States to look at wattled crane populations across all of Africa. Today, after more than two decades of effort, all three species of crane found in South Africa – blue, crowned and wattled – are increasing in numbers.

The project is now managed by a former colleague, and since 2008 van Hasselt has worked for the Lewis Foundation, which supports several conservation programmes.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page