巴勃罗・加西亚・博尔博罗格拯救全球受威胁的企鹅

发布日期: 2019年icon-clock阅读需时: 1min 52s
icon-scroll-down

自1960年,世上三分之二的海鸟逐渐消失,其中企鹅是最为濒危的一种。如此惊人的跌幅促使阿根廷保育专家巴勃罗・加西亚・博尔博罗格(Pablo García Borboroglu)推行全球运动,以应对海鸟面临的重大威胁。行动包括收集关键数据,藉此了解如何协助企鹅存活,并在本土社区和学校推行国际教育计划,从而提高公众意识,最后是与地方和国家政府以及地主携手合作,正面影响企鹅保育工作的决策,例如是订定和管理全新海洋保护区。

地点阿根廷

国际企鹅协会(Global Penguin Society)创办人及主席加西亚・博尔博罗格表示:“全球现存18种企鹅,当中一半以上被国际自然保护联盟(International Union for Conservation of Nature,IUCN)鉴别为受威胁的物种。在过去三十年间,其中14种被重新归类为高风险级别。”

他指:“企鹅对栖息地的一切改变也很敏感,因此是海洋健康的绝佳指标。企鹅不仅在陆地上筑巢时面临威胁,在海洋游越数千公里觅食或迁徙时,同样危机重重。企鹅一直面对气候变化、污染、渔业管理不善等威胁。在陆地上,人为干扰或新捕食者的引入亦为企鹅带来影响。”

“过度捕捞及气候变化导致食物减少,迫使企鹅越游越远,藉以捕鱼喂养雏鸟,情况令人关注。然而,不少企鹅游遍数百公里回归后,雏鸟已经因饿而死。”

地球上有18种企鹅,当中过半正面临巨大威胁。

巴勃罗・加西亚・博尔博罗格

加西亚・博尔博罗格在1980年代亲证每年有40,000只企鹅因巴塔哥尼亚(Patagonia)的漏油事故而死亡,因此他在过去三十多年,一直致力了解和拯救企鹅。“当我第一次把企鹅送返大自然时,突然有所顿悟,我意识到一人之力也可产生重大影响,所以我开始扩大行动规模。”

他的项目由三个部分组成,分别是科学、教育,以及企鹅物种和栖息地的管理。

第一,在生物学和生态学的关键层面,提升有关在阿根廷、智利及新西兰三种主要企鹅的科学知识,以事实为依据提出建议,协助制定保育路向。

第二,他邀请本土社区及学生,参与阿根廷和智利的企鹅研究及保育工作。其他活动包括:筹办探索企鹅群的学校旅行;针对保护企鹅的海岸清理活动;制定可持续的生态旅游计划,以及设计全球分发的线上教育套装。

第三,加西亚・博尔博罗格正与政府和地主合作,正面影响企鹅保育的决策。他以科学知识为基础,制定适应管理策略,并提供建立海洋保护区的资讯,重点保护企鹅筑巢和觅食区域。

“我们以企鹅为出发点,竭力保护海洋。海洋提供食物和氧气,并调节全球天气,因此对地球的生活质量极为重要。此项目着力解决影响全球的重大环境问题。” 迄今,他的行动已帮助160万只企鹅,成功确立了1,300万公顷(3,200万英亩)的保护栖息地,并鼓励数以千计的儿童参与教育活动。

  • 18种

    全球的企鹅品种

  • 50%

    受威胁的企鹅品种百分比

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

Pablo García BorborogluSaving the world's threatened penguins

Published in 2019clockTime to read: 1min 52s
scroll-down

Two thirds of the world’s seabirds have vanished since 1960, and among the most critically endangered are penguins. Their alarming decline has spurred Argentinian conservationist Pablo García Borboroglu to carry out a worldwide campaign to address the main threats facing them. Actions include gathering key data to understand how to assist penguin survival, along with a global educational programme engaging local communities and schools to increase awareness and, finally, work with local and national governments and landowners to improve decision-making on matters that affect penguin conservation, including the designation and management of new Marine Protected Areas.

locationArgentina

“There are 18 species of penguins living on our planet and over half of them are considered threatened by the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature). In the last 30 years, 14 of these species have been reclassified as more at risk,” says García Borboroglu, who is the founder and president of the Global Penguin Society.

“Penguins are excellent indicators of the health of the oceans, because they’re very sensitive to all the alterations in their habitats. They face threats not only on land when they are nesting, but also when they go to the ocean and swim thousands of kilometres to feed or migrate. So, they are exposed to threats like climate change, pollution and fisheries mismanagement. But on land, human disturbance or the introduction of new predators also impact penguins,” he remarks.

“Among the most concerning aspects is the reduction in food linked to overfishing and climate change, which forces penguins to travel greater and greater distances to gather the fish they need to feed their chicks: They swim hundreds of kilometres − but many times when they come back, the chicks have starved.”

There are 18 species of penguins in the planet and over half of the species are considered threatened.

Pablo García Borboroglu

García Borboroglu has been working to understand and save penguins for more than 30 years, since witnessing 40,000 of them dying annually as the result of oil spills in Patagonia in the 1980s, and trying to rescue them. “When I released the first one back into the wild, it clicked – I realized that one individual action can have a big impact, so I started to scale up.”

His project has three components: science, education, and management of penguin species and habitats.

First, it is generating scientific knowledge on critical aspects of the biology and ecology of three key penguin species in Argentina, Chile and New Zealand that is useful to make fact-based recommendations to guide conservation.

Second, he is engaging local communities and students from schools in penguin studies and conservation in Argentina and Chile. This also involves school trips to penguin colonies, coastal clean-ups aimed at penguin protection, developing sustainable ecotourism plans and creating an online education kit for worldwide distribution.

Third, García Borboroglu is currently working with governments and landowners to improve decisions that affect penguin conservation. This uses the scientific knowledge that he is generating to develop adaptive management strategies, and to inform the process for establishing Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) that protect penguin nesting and feeding areas.

“Through penguins we work for marine conservation – and the oceans are extremely important for the quality of life on this planet as they provide food, oxygen and regulate the weather of the entire planet. This project is essential to address major environmental problems – it’s a global issue.” So far, his actions have benefited 1.6 million penguins helping to secure 13 million hectares (32 million acres) of their habitat and involving thousands of children in educational activities.

  • 18

    species of penguins living on our planet

  • 50%

    of them are considered threatened

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover