彼薜・查恩斯諾泰國的內歛海牛

發布日期: 2004年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

為防儒艮在泰國海域消失,生物學家彼薜・查恩斯諾(Pisit Charnsnoh)集合當地群眾的力量,保護這種天性溫馴的海洋哺乳動物,並重振海岸生態系統,藉以鞏固當地的經濟基礎。

地點泰國

儒艮又名海牛,一度於泰國南部水域的廣闊海草床中自由穿梭。如今,這種動作緩慢的大型海洋哺乳動物已甚為罕見。逾三十年來,彼薜・查恩斯諾與其創立的基層組織Yadfon(雨滴)以儒艮為中心,積極推動社區工作,致力重建整條海岸線和野生環境,並改善居民生計。

我們鼓勵大眾了解並愛惜儒艮,從而誘導他們保護儒艮的棲息地,當其棲息地得到改善,魚量才能有所增加,而居民的收入亦會提升。

查恩斯諾認為當地居民必須參與其中,才能重整沿海棲息地,避免儒艮於泰國水域滅絕。水底海草床是儒艮的主要居所,目前這帶水域的海草床已獲鄰近社區積極保護,而連接海草床的紅樹林面積,現更超過5,000公頃;與海草床一樣,紅樹林是全球海岸生態系統的一大要素。

Yadfon亦在13所學校定期推行教育計劃,受惠學生接近2,000名。此外,省政府已就儒艮保育制定政策,禁止採用對此物種有害的捕魚方式。年來,由村民管理的紅樹林開始重生,沿海漁業逐步復甦,儒艮數量亦漸趨穩定,令漁民收穫有所提升。

  • 25,000人

    在50個漁業社區參與海岸重整工作

  • 逾5,000公頃

    在23個社區保育的紅樹林面積

  • 79個

    村莊參與社區為本的資源管理計劃,其中17個專注保育儒艮

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Pisit CharnsnohThailand’s shy sea cows

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

To prevent dugongs disappearing from Thailand’s coastal waters, biologist Pisit Charnsnoh has engaged local people to protect the shy sea mammal and revive the coastal ecosystem so crucial to their own economic survival.

locationThailand

Herds of dugongs, or sea cows, once grazed on extensive seagrass meadows in the waters along Thailand’s southern coastline. Today, the large, slow-moving marine mammals are rarely seen there. For more than 30 years, Pisit Charnsnoh and his Yadfon (Raindrop) organization have mobilized the community by making this creature the focus of a grass-roots enterprise whose goal is to regenerate an entire coastline, its wildlife and livelihoods.

We help people to understand and love the dugong. They are then motivated to protect its habitat, and as the habitat improves, the number of fish increases, and people earn more income.

To save the dugong from extinction in Thai waters, Charnsnoh understood that it was necessary to involve local people in restoring its coastal habitat. Today, the region’s underwater seagrass meadows, the primary dugong habitat, are actively protected by nearby communities, and the mangrove forests connected to the meadows – mangrove forests are vital elements of the coastal ecosystems worldwide – now total more than 5,000 hectares.

Yadfon also conducts regular educational programmes in 13 schools, reaching some 2,000 students. Furthermore, the provincial authorities have developed a dugong conservation strategy and are implementing a ban on fishing techniques that are harmful to the species. Over the years, not only have the village-managed mangrove forests begun regenerating, the coastal fishery has revived, with the dugong population appearing more stable and fishermen’s nets filling once more.

  • 25,000

    People engaged in coastal restoration in 50 fishing communities

  • 5,000+

    Hectares of mangrove forest conserved in 23 communities

  • 79

    Villages involved in community-based resource management, with 17 focused exclusively on dugong preservation

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page