芮丝・费尔南德斯鲁伊兹升级再造,重整生活

发布日期: 2010年icon-clock阅读需时: 1min 3s
icon-scroll-down

不少工匠在马尼拉市内最大而且最穷困的社区生活,他们仅以碎布制作毯垫,赚取微薄酬劳。芮丝・费尔南德斯鲁伊兹(Reese Fernandez-Ruiz)协助工匠利用升级再造和库存过剩的布料,创作高端时装配饰,令他们的生计逐步改善。

地点菲律宾

芮丝・费尔南德斯鲁伊兹成立的Rags2Riches(R2R)企业宛如一个童话故事。其创新培训计划令超过1,000人受惠,更将菲律宾设计师与国内贫困社区连系起来,让自家创作的手袋及其他配饰,可在菲律宾的高档商场内出售。这些时尚商品让工匠重拾尊严,而当中不少是弱势妇女。项目之初选用丢弃的布料,而现在则改用积压存货。她表示:“我们相信审慎的原料采购和生产计划可将浪费程度减至最低,令整个项目更具影响力和意义。我们的目标是延续每件物品的寿命,并且减低速食时装造成的浪费。”

我不仅希望提升为民众带来生计和收入,更希望创造可持续发展、符合生态道德的产品。对任何人而言,这都是个双赢局面。

由费尔南德斯鲁伊兹共同创立的组织Rags2Riches现有44名成员。他们于2011年培训了300名工匠创作流行商品,目前工匠数目已增至一千多人。昔日工匠被中间商剥削,每块毯垫只能赚取2分钱;如今他们经R2R直接销售并获得合理工资,所得盈余可用于储蓄、住房和子女教育。

费尔南德斯鲁伊兹一直为工人争取更高工资和平等机会,在获颁授劳力士雄才伟略大奖后,她成立了一所培训学院,为工匠开设优质生活工坊,并推行储蓄和小额保险计划。

  • 500,000人

    居于柏雅塔斯(Payatas)垃圾场,这里亦是费尔南德斯鲁伊兹开展项目的起点

  • 2分钱

    于Rags2Riches成立前,每名工人制作毯垫所获取的酬劳

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

close

Reese Fernandez-RuizUpcycling reshapes lives

Published in 2010clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Artisans living in Manila’s largest and poorest urban communities used to earn a pittance making rugs from scraps of material. Reese Fernandez-Ruiz set them to work using upcycled and overstock fabric to create high-end fashion accessories – and earn a decent living in the process.

locationThe Philippines

Reese Fernandez-Ruiz’s enterprise is like a fairy tale: more than 1,000 people have been trained and benefited from Rags2Riches’s (R2R) innovative scheme of uniting some of the country’s poorest communities and Filipino designers to create handbags and other accessories, which are sold through stores in upmarket malls in the Philippines – fashion goods that give dignity to the artisans, mostly women, who made them. While initially discarded fabric was used, this has changed to overstocked material. “We believe we can create more impact and more meaning with the least waste through conscientious materials sourcing and production planning. Our goal is for each item to live a long time and not contribute to the waste of fast fashion,” she says.

I don’t want to just create livelihoods and income. I want to create sustainable, eco-ethical products. It can be a win-win situation for everybody.

Rags2Riches, the organization that Fernandez-Ruiz co-founded, now has 44 team members. They have trained more than 1,000 artisans (up from 300 in 2011) to create the sought-after items. The artisans, exploited by middlemen, used to earn 2 cents for every rug they made; now they sell direct through R2R and receive decent wages and salaries with surplus for savings, housing and education of their children.

Since winning the Rolex Award, in addition to improving wages and equal opportunities for the workers, Fernandez-Ruiz has established an academy that provides the artisans with skills and quality-of-life workshops, and has set up a savings and micro-insurance programme.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page