沙夫卡特・胡辛與豹共存

發布日期: 2006年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

雪豹因捕食牧群而遭巴基斯坦北部的偏遠農戶殺害,沙夫卡特・胡辛(Shafqat Hussain)就此提出替代方案,引證人類與大型貓科動物實可共存。

地點巴基斯坦

沙夫卡特・胡辛在美國修讀經濟學和環境人類學。返回祖國後,他遇上一道不容忽視的問題。雪豹一直居於巴基斯坦北部,但此行蹤神秘的動物如今快將絕種。雪豹多於伯爾蒂斯坦(Baltistan)的喜馬拉雅山區出沒,間中以飼養山羊作為獵物。面對飼養動物被殺,當地牧民也不管雪豹是否稀有物種,便直接將牠們除掉。

人類和家畜均為大自然的一部份,雪豹亦不例外。

1998年,他本著和平共處的理念成立低收費保險計劃,山羊是牧民的經濟支柱,每當有山羊被雪豹捕食,計劃便會提供補償,牧民亦不再需要殺害前來煩擾的雪豹。胡辛創立了雪豹計劃(Project Snow Leopard),並且勇於挑戰固有想法,例如他曾提出遷移人群以拯救雪豹棲息地。這些工作讓他贏得不少讚譽,更於2006年獲頒授勞力士雄才偉略大獎。

當地居民現在明白到,拯救一隻雪豹的生命,比殺掉數隻雪豹以換取毛皮更加重要,這既可幫助自己,亦可保護雪豹。在互惠互利的基礎上,此計劃取得豐碩成果且不斷發展。胡辛和他的團隊目前於伯爾蒂斯坦的16條村莊工作,其保險計劃更先後獲印度、尼泊爾、不丹、阿富汗及中國仿傚。

  • 12,000名

    伯爾蒂斯坦村民參與胡辛的雪豹行動

  • 4,000至7,000隻

    喜馬拉雅山的整體雪豹數目

  • 1%

    農戶支付的保險費,他們起初表現抗拒,但最終也樂於接受計劃

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Shafqat HussainLiving with leopards

Published in 2006clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Shafqat Hussain has offered farmers in the remote reaches of northern Pakistan an alternative to killing the snow leopards preying on their herds, proving humans and big cats can coexist.

locationPakistan

Shafqat Hussain trained as an economist and environmental anthropologist in the United States. When he returned home, he had a calling he could not ignore. For northern Pakistan is also home to the elusive snow leopard, one of the world’s endangered species. They roam high in the Himalayan mountains of Baltistan, where they often kill domestic goats. Concerned for their animals, local herders do not hesitate to kill them, rare or not.

Human beings and their livestock are as much a part of the environment as the snow leopard.

In 1998, with the idea of coexistence in mind, he created a low-cost insurance plan that compensates villagers for every goat – the mainstay of their economy – that is killed. This removes the need to kill the offending cat. Project Snow Leopard, and the willingness to challenge accepted ideas, such as banishing humans to save the snow leopard habitat, has won Hussain many admirers, and in 2006 a Rolex Award.

Local people have come to realize that one cat alive is worth more to them than several killed for the fur trade, helping them and protecting the snow leopard. This acceptance of mutual benefit has meant the project has grown rapidly. Hussain and his team now work in 16 villages across Baltistan, and the insurance scheme has been replicated in India, Nepal, Bhutan, Afghanistan and China.

  • 12,000

    Baltistan villagers involved in Hussain’s snow leopard initiative

  • 4,000–7,000

    Total snow leopard population across the Himalayas

  • 1%

    Insurance premium paid by farmers, who were initially reluctant but were won over

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page