艾力克・吉利预测地震的洞穴研究

发布日期: 1996年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 56s
icon-scroll-down

法国地质学家艾力克・吉利(Eric Gilli)透过研究洞穴探寻古代地震的痕迹,从而发展出一个可预测地震的新方法。

地点法国

预测地震是自然灾害预测的一大挑战,现今的科学家透过观察地球板块移动及断层位置来预测地震,并基于过往地震发生的地点及时间进行分析。然而没有地震记录的地区应如何进行预测呢?

洞穴是自然现象的准确记录,就如数千年来埋藏在地底的史前人类记录如图画、骸骨及工具般,洞穴保留了许多地壳活动的痕迹。

我们可在洞穴收集独有的数据。作为自1980年以来热心投身此领域的洞穴学先驱,艾力克・吉利提出探寻在洞穴中的地震或断层移动痕迹。例如不再相对的钟乳石和石笋,代表上方的地层结构已移位。通过放射性同位素测年法(radioisotope dating),地质学家可以重塑洞穴的活动以显示几千年前的地震痕迹。

吉利表示﹕“我们希望能研发出一个新方法,让我们在不少没有历史数据的地区评估地震风险。”劳力士大奖让他可在地震活动频繁的地区收集数据,并向其他国家的地质学家讲解他的方法。

他在数个国家进行实地考察后,于2011年把考察所得编写成书。现在他于巴黎第八大学(University Paris 8)任职遥感探测学、地形学及地质学教授,并就洞穴研究及应用洞穴作地震预测的方法写了130篇科学文献及五本著作。他亦曾前往马来西亚砂拉越(Sarawak),并以照片记录这里的世界最大洞穴。

  • 30,000年

    以吉利的洞穴勘探方法大概可回溯地震数据之年数

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

close
Eric Gilli

Studying caves to predict earthquakes

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

By studying caves for traces of ancient seismic activity, French geologist Eric Gilli developed a new method to predict earthquakes.

locationFrance

Earthquake forecasting is a challenge in natural hazard prediction. Scientists look at movement of plates in the Earth and the location of fault zones. They also make calculations based on where and when previous ones occurred. But what if there is no record of tremors in a region?

Caves are very good recorders of natural phenomena. In the same way that the underground environment has preserved prehistoric human records – paintings, bones, tools – for thousands of years, they have also preserved traces of many earth movements.

Caves can give us information we could never find any other way. Eric Gilli, a passionate speleologist and pioneer in this field since 1980, came up with the idea of searching for traces of earthquakes or fault-line movements in caves and caverns. For example, stalactites and stalagmites that no longer face each other indicate the roof has shifted. Through radioisotope dating, geologists can reconstruct cave movements to indicate earthquakes dating back thousands of years.

“We hope it will allow us to put forward a method for evaluating the risk of earthquakes in a large number of regions where there is no historical data,” said Gilli, whose Rolex Award allowed him to collect data in areas of high seismic activity and present his method to geologists in other countries.

He made field trips in several countries, resulting in a book published in 2011. Now a professor of remote sensing, geomorphology and geology at the University Paris 8, he has written 130 scientific papers and five books on cave studies and their applications. He has also travelled to Sarawak in Malaysia to photograph the world’s biggest underground chamber.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page