于rolex.org搜索

吉娜・莫丝莉

2021年劳力士雄才伟略大奖得主

探索并研究世界最北端的洞穴,深入观察北极气候变化

英国气候研究员吉娜・莫丝莉(Gina Moseley)将勇闯探险界的最后障碍之一,绳降至地球最北且未被探索的北极洞穴,寻找过往气候变化的线索。这项全球首办的探险活动,旨在揭示极地暖化对人类构成的危机。两极现在的暖化速度为其他地方的两倍,或会淹没世界各地的沿海城市。

经验丰富的极地及洞穴探险家吉娜・莫丝莉,在机缘巧下,从同事身上首次听闻这些未经探索的洞穴。1960年代,美国军方远征格陵兰北面的武尔夫岛,曾在途上遥距观察这些位于偏远崖壁的洞穴。自此便再没有深入探索,因为探险经费昂贵而且难度甚高。

莫丝莉是一位不断寻求挑战的开拓性科学家,她决定目前是时候探索这些洞穴的地质奥秘,并藉此深入了解过往的冷暖时期,以及它们对北极和全球环境的影响。她希望可以就现今的极地融化影响,提出崭新结论。

洞穴就好像时光机。方解石的层状结构,好比树木的年轮。我们可以分析每一层并了解过往的气候。

吉娜・莫丝莉

这位三项格陵兰探险活动领队,相信洞穴蕴藏珍贵的地理宝库──名为“洞穴沉积物”(speleothem)的方解石矿床拥有超过50万年历史,记录了昔日气候变化的点滴。北极气候科学家目前依赖冰芯进行研究,而它们最多只有128,000年历史。北面武尔夫岛的偏远洞穴或隐藏四、五倍纪录,科学家可以由此了解地球在和暖时期的状况。

莫丝莉说:“洞穴就好像时光机。方解石的层状结构,好比树木的年轮。我们可以分析每一层并了解过往的气候,所以我们进入洞穴时,需要寻找由方解石构成的石笋、钟乳石及流石。”

格陵兰深深影响全人类。当地的冰层融化速度创下新高。2019年,每天融入海洋的冰块多达120亿公吨。这令海平面每月上升超过1毫米。此冰原亦与降雨模式、冰块形成、海流及天气系统相关,影响世界各地人口密集的地区。

莫丝莉的探险活动将挑战人类耐力极限。其六人团队将携带所有补给品,徒步走过冰层及岩石,攀登高耸悬崖,然后绳降至每个洞穴的入口收集样本。

“获劳力士支持实是令人振奋。我已在脑海中准备这个探索世上最北洞穴的计划多年,然而前往那里几乎是不可能的。劳力士大奖可以说是虽一一个会支持此探险活动的项目。”

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

为2021年大奖得主喝彩

探索更多

Search on rolex.org

GINA MOSELEY

2021 Rolex Awards Laureate

Explore and study the world’s northern-most caves for new insights into climate change in the Arctic

British climate researcher Gina Moseley will cross one of the world’s last frontiers in exploration when she abseils into the planet’s most northerly unexplored Arctic caves seeking clues to the planet’s climatic past. Her world-first expedition seeks to expose the risk to humanity from polar regions now heating twice as fast as elsewhere – and threatening to drown coastal cities worldwide.

A veteran polar explorer and caver, Gina Moseley heard of the virgin caves by chance, from a colleague. They had been sighted far off, high in a remote cliff face, during a US military expedition to Wulff Land in the far north of Greenland during the 1960s – and never explored due to the expense and difficulty of such an expedition.

A trailblazing scientist who is always seeking her next challenge, Moseley decided the time was ripe to expose the caves’ hidden geological record – and so gain insight into the warming and cooling periods of the deep past and their effects on both the Arctic and global environments. From this she hopes to draw fresh conclusions about the likely impacts of today’s polar melting.

Caves are like time machines. Calcite forms layers, like tree rings. We can analyse each layer to get information about the past climate.

Gina Moseley

The leader of three previous Greenland expeditions, she believes these caves harbour a precious geological secret – calcite deposits called ‘speleothems’ reaching back possibly half a million years, that record the cryptic imprint of climates past. Current Arctic climate science depends on ice cores which are, at most, 128,000 years old. The remote caves of far north Wulff Land may conceal a record four or five times as long, from which scientists may read clues to the planet during warmer epochs.

“Caves are like time machines,” Moseley says. “Calcite forms layers, like tree rings. We can analyse each layer to get information about the past climate so, when we go into the caves, we are looking for stalagmites, stalactites and flowstones which are made from calcite.”

Greenland deeply influences humanity’s fate. Its ice is melting at record rates. In 2019, it added 12 billion tonnes of water to the oceans in a single day. This is driving sea-level rise of more than a millimetre a month. The frozen land also influences rainfall patterns, ice formation, ocean currents and weather systems affecting heavily-populated regions worldwide.

Moseley’s expedition will test the limits of human endurance. Her six-person team will hike long and hard across ice and rock on foot, carrying all their supplies, scale a towering cliff then abseil into the mouth of each cavern to gather samples.

“It is wonderful to be supported by Rolex. I have actually had this whole programme to go to the most northerly caves in the world on my mind for many years – and getting there is virtually impossible. The Rolex Awards are, pretty much, the only programme out there that could or would support such an expedition.”

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Celebrating the 2021 Laureates

Discover more