让弗朗索瓦・佩内特奇幻之岛

发布日期: 1998年clock阅读需时: 55s
scroll-down

让弗朗索瓦・佩内特(Jean-François Pernette)大半生专注于洞穴探索。2000年,他带领团队远赴巴塔哥尼亚(Patagonia)乌尔蒂马埃斯佩兰萨省(Última Esperanza)的多个偏远石灰岩岛屿探索,并找到惊人发现。

地点阿根廷及智利(巴塔哥尼亚)

法国洞穴学家让弗朗索瓦・佩内特因探索险恶荒芜的马德雷德迪奥斯(Madre de Dios)岛屿而闻名国际。该岛位于智利海岸对开,岛上满布长期受到风雨侵蚀的岩石,地貌奇特。

从来没有人在这里探索洞穴──事实上曾踏足这岛屿的人亦寥寥可数,因此在这里找到新发现的机会很大。

他与由24名精于不同范畴的顶尖专家组成的团队成为首批深入研究岛上独特地貌的现代探索者,走进由地道、地下空间及沉洞交错而成的庞大地形脉络。该地是全球最壮观亦是探索难度最高的洞穴之一。

考察工作因佩内特于两年前获得劳力士大奖而得以进行,其目的是勘探马德雷德迪奥斯(意指上帝之母)的地理环境,并研究当地的动植物、地貌、历史遗迹以及洞穴。考察工作非常成功,佩内特与他的团队对在洞穴进行科学勘探时发现人类骸骨,相信是属于已失落的海上游牧民族卡维斯卡尔(Kavésqar)部落。

他在法国国家电视频道TF1中表示,2000年的考察工作让他明白到地球还有大量值得探索的地方,他会继续进行具挑战性的考察。巴塔哥尼亚的洞穴仍然是他的主要勘探地点,他于2006年、2008年、2010年及2014年均曾在那里进行考察,并计划于2017年再度举行勘探。佩内特还曾在巴布亚新几内亚、蒙古及婆罗洲进行洞穴勘探。

  • 24小时

    经海路由智利南部的纳塔莱斯港(Puerto Natales)前往马德雷德迪奥斯的航海时数

  • 200个

    佩内特和他的团队于2000年在马德雷德迪奥斯地图上标示尚未被勘探的洞穴数目

  • 30公里

    自2000年在地图上标示的洞穴长度

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Jean-François Pernette

The isle is full of wonder

Published in 1998clockTime to read: 55s
scroll-down

Jean-Francois Pernette has spent most of his life exploring caves. In 2000, he led a mission to the remote limestone islands of Última Esperanza, Patagonia, where he made breathtaking discoveries.

locationArgentina and Chile (Patagonia)

French speleologist Jean-François Pernette gained renown worldwide for his expedition to the forbidding, inhospitable island of Madre de Dios, an alien landscape of rain-pitted windswept rock off the coast of Chile.

Nobody has been caving there – in fact very few people have been to the island. It has so much potential for discovery.

He and his multidisciplinary 24-strong team became the first people of modern times to visit the island’s vast network of underground tunnels, chambers and sinkholes, one of the most spectacular but difficult speleological sites on the planet.

The objective of the expedition – made possible by Pernette’s Rolex Award two years earlier – was geographical exploration of Madre de Dios (Mother of God), its flora, fauna, landforms, archaeological remains, and especially the caves. It was a resounding success. Opening the caves to scientific exploration, Pernette and his team found human remains, believed to be members of a now extinct group of sea nomads, the Kavésqar.

The 2000 expedition taught him that there is still a great deal of the planet left to explore and he continues to undertake challenging expeditions, shown on French TV channel TF1. Patagonia’s caves have remained a focus, with expeditions in 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2014. A further expedition is planned for 2017. Pernette has also explored caves in Papua New Guinea, Mongolia and Borneo.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page