约翰・莱因哈特发现“冰少女”之后

发布日期: 1987年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

发现具500年历史的印加“冰少女”(Ice Maiden)应是约翰・莱因哈特(Johan Reinhard)的人生高峰,但是他并不甘于此。他深信尚有更多经妥善保存的木乃伊未被发现,因此他决心探寻并保育安第斯人的文化遗产。

地点秘鲁

当约翰・莱因哈特获颁授劳力士大奖时,他是一位自由工作者,兼任人类学家、考古学家及作家,资历优秀但几乎没有获得任何资助。他是少数热衷于在极高海拔地区探索的科学家之一,劳力士大奖让他能够继续进行有关安第斯的研究,并为其往后的研究奠下良好基础。他及后于1995年在秘鲁安帕托峰(Ampato)发现全球其中一具保存状况最完好的前哥伦布时期木乃伊──胡安妮塔(亦称为“冰少女”)。

"我在机缘巧合下发现‘冰少女’,它有着独特的故事。对我而言,它是奇妙探索旅程的开始,当我看见它的一刻便知道这是一项重大发现。"

然而,莱因哈特并不满足于此。他曾历尽艰辛登上逾5,200米的高山超过200回,发现至少50个位于高海拔地区的祭祀遗址,并于1996年至1999年期间在安第斯探险中发现另外14具印加族人祭祀遗体。在这些发现当中,最重要的是他于1999年在全球最高的考古遗址阿根廷尤耶亚科山(Llullaillaco)顶峰附近发现的三具木乃伊。该三具木乃伊是目前已出土木乃伊中保存状况最为完好的,较秘鲁的“冰少女”保存得更妥善,并获《时代》杂志选为年度十大科学发现之一。

莱因哈特是国家地理驻会探险家(National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence),也是美国山脉研究所(Mountain Institute)的高级研究员。阿根廷、玻利维亚及秘鲁的博物馆均展示他的发现。

  • 6,739米

    莱因哈特于1999年发现三具冰封木乃伊的尤耶亚科山的山顶高度

  • 70份

    莱因哈特所出版的著作数量,包括六本书

  • 13至15岁

    “冰少女”胡安妮塔的年龄,她因头部受到重击而身亡

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Johan G. Reinhard

After the Ice Maiden

Published in 1987clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Johan Reinhard’s discovery of the 500 year-old Inca Ice Maiden could have been his life’s high point, but he was not satisfied with this achievement. He was convinced that better preserved mummies were yet to be found, and he was determined to rescue the cultural patrimony of the Andean people.

locationPeru

When he won his Rolex Award, Johan Reinhard was a freelance anthropologist, archaeologist and writer with excellent credentials but almost no funding. One of the few scientists interested in working at extreme altitudes, the Rolex Award allowed him to pursue his Andean research, paving the way for his startling discovery of one of the best preserved bodies from pre-Columbian times, Juanita, the Ice Maiden, on Peru’s Mount Ampato in 1995.

The Ice Maiden was discovered by chance; it had its own kind of drama. It was at the beginning of an incredible adventure, and I knew it was an important discovery the moment I saw it.

Yet Reinhard was not satisfied. He made more than 200 gruelling ascents over 5,200 metres, uncovering at least 50 high-altitude ritual sites, and his Andes expeditions of 1996–1999 led to the discovery of 14 more Inca human sacrifices. Among the most important were the three he found in 1999 near the summit of Argentina’s Mt Llullaillaco, the world’s highest archaeological site. They were the most perfectly preserved mummies ever found ─ better preserved than the Peruvian Ice Maiden - and were chosen as one of the 10 most important scientific discoveries that year by Time magazine.

Reinhard, a National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence, is a senior research fellow at the Mountain Institute in the United States. Museums have been built in Argentina, Bolivia and Peru to exhibit his finds.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page