2019年勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主

白賴仁・捷達

每年約有2.2億人罹患瘧疾,烏干達資訊科技專家白賴仁・捷達(Brian Gitta)的夢想正是研發強大的新技術,對抗這場疾病戰役。

快速確診對於瘧疾治療而言極爲關鍵,可及時拯救生命:目前的檢測需要提供血液樣本,依賴經驗豐富的分析師才能完成,這對發展中國家而言有一定難度。因此,捷達及其團隊研製出一種手提電子設備,可在無需抽血的情況下,於數分鐘內即可提供可靠診斷結果。

根據世界衛生組織的資料,大部分瘧疾病例發生在亞撒哈拉及南亞的15個國家及地區,佔全球瘧疾病例近80%。兒童死亡數字佔全球瘧疾病例的61%。

白賴仁・捷達及其團隊研製出的設備,可在無需抽血的情況下提供可靠診斷結果。

 

捷達說:「我的團隊來自亞撒哈拉地區,他們都曾多次染上瘧疾。我也數不清自己從小到大多少次患病。」

經過五代原型研發,他最終製作出名為Matiscope的新型裝置,患者只需把清潔後的手指放入裝置,便可透過內裡的光線及磁力系統檢測瘧疾寄生蟲。當下目標是提高診斷的準確性,特別是在疾病的早期階段,並嘗試說服醫生和患者無須接受血液檢查。Matiscope正進行臨床試驗。一旦成功,現年26歲的捷達便計劃向烏干達及肯尼亞的各家醫院提供相關設備。

他指出:「瘧疾並非不治之症,只要知道自己患病便可進行治療。及時診斷可使患者迅速接受治療,從而挽救他們的生命。」

arrowLeftAll finalists

Brian Gitta

Rapid malaria testing with no blood sample

A powerful new weapon in the war on malaria – a disease that attacks 220 million people every year – is the dream of Ugandan IT specialist Brian Gitta.

Thank you for voting
Please share your vote on social media to encourage others to participate

The key to life-saving treatment of malaria is fast diagnosis: current tests require a blood sample and a skilled analyst, not always available in the developing world. So Gitta and his team have developed a portable electronic device that gives a reliable reading in minutes, without drawing blood.

According to the World Health Organization, 15 countries in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia carry almost 80 per cent of the global malaria burden. And worldwide, 61 per cent of malaria deaths are of children.

I can't actually count how many times I’ve been suffering from malaria since I was a kid.

Brian Gitta

“Coming from the sub-Saharan region, my team has experienced many episodes of malaria. I can't actually count how many times I’ve suffered it since I was a kid,” Gitta says.

After five generations of prototypes, he has developed a novel device, the Matiscope, into which a patient inserts a clean finger – the device then uses light and magnets to detect the malaria parasite. The goal now is to improve diagnostic accuracy, in particular for the early stages of the disease – and convince doctors – and patients – they no longer need blood tests. The Matiscope is undergoing clinical trials. If it succeeds, Gitta, who is aged 26, plans to deliver it to hospitals throughout Uganda and Kenya.

“Malaria is a curable disease, if you know you have it,” he says. “Rapid diagnosis empowers the patient to take quick action that may save their life.”