2019年勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主

汪郁雯

倘若25歲的加拿大企業家汪郁雯(Miranda Wang)能夠實踐所想,那麼現時埋藏於垃圾填埋場、河流及海洋的全球三分之一塑膠廢棄物,便可轉化成為新財富。

其公司BioCellection正在研發一系列的獨有技術,把世上最惡劣的塑膠廢棄物轉變成具價值的化學製品,用於工業生產及製造消費品,如汽車、電子產品、紡織品及清潔劑。

「我們採用現今不可回收的塑膠,譬如是骯髒膠袋或一次性包裝物料,將之轉化為具價值的化學品,製成耐用物料並用於生產受歡迎的日常物品。」

全球每年只有9%的生產塑膠獲循環回收。

汪郁雯

自2018年中國禁止進口塑膠廢棄物,美國的廢物處置中心每月堆積近3萬噸塑膠,而如今不足十分之一的塑膠被回收利用。

她以青年學生的身份在矽谷創立BioCellection,致力應對如何處理全球廢弃物的挑戰,以嶄新方式解決世界各地出現的塑膠廢棄物危機。她研發的技術可把聚乙烯(PE)等受污染及不可回收的塑膠,轉化為具市場價值的可再生優質化學品。

她打算在2023年之前設立全商業化的加工廠,並回收45,500噸塑膠廢棄物,從而消減320,000噸二氧化碳排放,同時把社會原本丟棄的物料製成有用物品,大大減少廢棄物對地球的損害。

arrowLeft2019 projects

2019 Rolex Awards Laureate

Miranda Wang

If 25 year-old Canadian entrepreneur Miranda Wang fulfils her goal, a third of the world’s plastic waste – which now chokes landfills, rivers and oceans – could be converted into new wealth.

Invite others to discover the inspiring projects of the 2019 Rolex Awards.

Her company BioCellection is developing an array of unique technologies to turn the worst of the world’s plastic wastes into valuable industrial chemicals used in the making of familiar products like cars, electronic goods, textiles and cleaning agents.

“We're taking plastics that are not recyclable today – things like dirty plastic bags or single-use packaging materials – and we transform them into valuable chemicals which can then be used to make durable materials for products that we all love and use every day.”

Globally, only 9 per cent of all the plastics we produce every year is being recycled.

Miranda Wang

Plastic waste has been piling up in municipal disposal centres in the United States at a rate of 30,000 tonnes every month since China banned imports in 2018: today less than one tenth of all plastic is recycled.

Determined, as a teenage student, to solve the global waste challenge, Wang founded BioCellection in Silicon Valley to pioneer fresh answers to the emerging global plastics crisis. She has since developed technologies to transform soiled, contaminated and unrecyclable plastics like polyethylene (PE) into renewable, quality chemicals with a high market value.

Wang now plans to develop a fully-commercial processing plant and recycle 45,500 tonnes of plastic waste by 2023, so eliminating 320,000 tonnes of CO₂ emissions, producing useful products from substances that society would otherwise throw away, to the detriment of the planet.