於rolex.org搜尋

細聽地球

米歇爾・安德烈

繼研發避免船隻與鯨魚相撞的水底系統後,生物聲學家米歇爾・安德烈(Michel André)擴大其項目範圍,著手建立麥克風網絡,監測地球的各種聲音,以及威脅大自然的警號。

環繞地球的電子「耳朵」網絡不斷擴張,覆蓋深海、偏遠雨林、僻靜沙漠,以至幽靜洞穴及極地,細聽自然界的危機聲號。

此計劃是法國生物聲學科學家米歇爾・安德烈的心血結晶。他於2002年榮獲勞力士雄才偉略大獎,設計警示船隻與鯨魚相撞風險的系統。自此,計劃發展成覆蓋全球的聆聽項目。

安德烈說:「人類已經失去了通過聲音,聆聽大自然及其訊息的能力。我們現在藉著此獨特機會,了解需要採取的行動,以保障地球的未來。」

我們現在藉著此獨特機會,了解需要採取的行動,以保障地球的未來。米歇爾・安德烈

他自幼起便著迷於海洋生物的奇怪聲音,並因而成為生物聲學的國際先鋒,研究生物聲音的藝術與科學。

1990年代末,安德烈關注渡輪與抹香鯨在加那利群島對開的碰撞意外日益増加,特地研發一套聆聽這些大型哺乳動物聲音的水底系統,警示船長航道上是否存有鯨魚。他亦發現鯨魚正因為人類在海中不斷製造噪音,例如引擎、聲納及水下爆破,而逐漸喪失聽覺。

這啟發他開展Listen to the Deep-Ocean Environment(LIDO)項目,建立遍及全球的深海麥克風網絡,實時聆聽海洋的聲音環境,偵查人類噪音污染,並將它們從海洋生物或地理現象的自然聲音中分辨出來。

安德烈描述建立地球聆聽系統的三個步驟:

- 研發靈敏而堅固的麥克風,適用於深海、雨林或沙漠環境;

- 通過人工智能及機械學習,持續監測及分析自然和人為聲音

- 實時警示威脅自然的人類及其他來源聲音。

此系列讓安德烈能夠不斷追蹤自然界遭受的威脅,例如是亞馬遜的伐木問題、非洲的偷獵活動,或嚴重的海洋工業噪音。為了在問題早期發出警號,他亦比較有與沒有人類影響地區的自然聲音。他表示人造衛星可以偵查伐木,卻不能監測樹林生態的變化。然而,聲音就能夠做到這點。

安德烈與其他勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主合作,將聆聽網絡應用至更廣層面。其中包括與環保專家阿倫・基舒拿梅菲(Arun Krishnamurthy)在印度推行避免火車和大象相撞的系統,與意大利洞穴探險家法蘭斯高・紹羅(Francesco Sauro)開展嶄新的洞穴聲學科學研究,聆聽世界最深最偏遠洞穴的聲音。

他與已故2002年勞力士大獎得主兼保育專家荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯(José Márcio Ayres)的團隊在亞馬遜相互合作,為馬米拉瓦可持續發展保護區(Mamirauá Sustainable Development Reserve)等當地樹林的看護員提供數據,監測生態系統的健康。

他形容大獎得主就如一個大家庭,互相分享各自面對的挑戰,並聯手一同解決問題。

安德烈在巴塞隆拿加泰羅尼亞理工大學(Technical University of Catalonia)的應用生物聲學實驗室(Laboratory of Applied Bioacoustics,LAB)中,研究麥克風網絡在世界各地收集所得的聲音。

他憶述:「數年前,我們會獨立分析大自然的各個範疇。我們會抽取海洋、雨林及沙漠的數據。現在,憑藉時刻監測大自然健康的全球感應器網絡,我們可以斷定必須採取的行動,避免氣候變化或人類活動產生的危機。

「我們可以聆聽世界各地的大自然聲音。在家中舒適地聆聽亞馬遜雨林或南北極的聲音。我們可以到訪非洲,潛入水中,在同一時間遊走各地。」

安德烈的全球聲音監測系統,堪為勞力士「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃的模範。他說:「我喜愛『恒動不息』的概念。大自然恒動不息。它從不止息,我認為聲音的研究亦不會終止。

它從不止息,我認為聲音的研究亦不會終止。米歇爾・安德烈

「我們需要聆聽大自然。科技讓我們有此能力,但我們亦需承擔其中責任。我們不可單單聆聽,而罔顧問題。我們必須聆聽,同時採取行動,保育地球。」

2002年發布

海洋噪音敲響警號

閱讀原文
  • 保護地球 恒動不息

    海洋英雄

    在BBC紀錄片《海洋英雄》探索米歇爾・安德烈

    觀看影片

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

里程碑

探索更多

Search on rolex.org

Listening to the Earth

Michel André

Since designing an underwater system to prevent ships from colliding with whales, bioacoustics pioneer Michel André has expanded his project to create a network of microphones that monitor the planet’s myriad sounds and warn of threats to nature.

Girdling the Earth – from the deep oceans, remote rainforests and distant deserts, to the loneliest caverns and icy poles – a growing network of electronic ears listens for signs of trouble.

This initiative is the brainchild of French bioacoustics scientist Michel André, who in 2002 received a Rolex Award for Enterprise to design a system to alert ships to the danger of colliding with whales. It has since grown into a listening project that spans the entire planet.

“Humans have lost the capacity to listen to nature and the messages it gives us through sound,” André says. “We now have this unique opportunity to understand what needs to be done so we do not jeopardize the future of our world.”

We now have this unique opportunity to understand what needs to be done so we do not jeopardize the future of our world.Michel André

Fascinated as a child with the strange sounds of sea creatures, he has become an international pioneer in the field of bioacoustics – the art and science of listening to life.

In the late 1990s, concerned about the increasing collisions between passenger ferries and sperm whales off the Canary Islands, André devised an underwater system to listen for the giant mammals and alert ship captains if one lay in their path. He also discovered the whales were losing their hearing due to the rising tumult of human-generated noise in the oceans – engines, sonar and underwater blasting.

This led to the development of his Listen to the Deep-Ocean Environment (LIDO) project, a worldwide network of deep-sea microphones that listens round the clock to the oceans’ acoustic environment, detecting human noise pollution and differentiating it from the natural sounds of sea life or geological events.

André describes three steps in creating his Earth listening system:

develop sensitive, robust microphones suited to their surroundings, be it the deep sea, a rainforest or a desert;

– continually monitor and interpret both natural and human sounds by using artificial intelligence and machine learning;

– warn, in real time, of sounds that indicate a threat to nature from human and other sources.

Such a system enables André to constantly track threats to nature, including the felling of trees in the Amazon, poaching in Africa or severe industrial noise in the oceans. To provide early warning of trouble, he can also compare the natural sounds of places where there is no human interference with those impacted by our activity. Satellites, he says, can see trees being felled but they cannot detect changes in the life of the forest. Sound can, however.

Fresh applications for his listening network have arisen out of André’s collaborations with fellow Laureates of the Rolex Awards for Enterprise. He is working with environmentalist Arun Krishnamurthy to prevent trains from hitting elephants in India, and with Italian caver Francesco Sauro to pioneer the new scientific field of speleo-acoustics, which involves listening to the sounds in some of the world’s deepest and remotest caves.

In the Amazon, a partnership with the team of late conservationist José Márcio Ayres, a fellow 2002 Rolex Awards Laureate, yields data that helps local guardians of the forest – specifically of the Mamirauá Sustainable Development Reserve – monitor the health of its ecosystems.

The Laureates, he says, form a family that shares its challenges and works together to solve them.

From his Laboratory of Applied Bioacoustics (LAB) at the Technical University of Catalonia in Barcelona, André surveys the world of sounds provided by his spreading network of microphones.

“A few years ago, we were addressing nature in its separate aspects. We were isolating data from the ocean, from the rainforest, from the desert,” he recalls. “Now, thanks to the global network of sensors that are continuously checking the health of nature, we can state what must be done to prevent a threat due to climate change or human activities.

“We can listen to nature from anywhere in the world. From the comfort of our home we can access the sounds of the rainforest in the Amazon, the sounds of the Arctic or Antarctica. We can go to Africa, we can go underwater, we can go anywhere, at the same time.”

André’s global sound monitoring system is a perfect example of what the Rolex Perpetual Planet initiative stands for. “I love the concept of perpetual,” he says. “Nature is perpetual. Nature never ends and I do not think there is an end to our approach with the study of sound.

Nature never ends and I do not think there is an end to our approach with the study of sound.Michel André

“We need to listen to nature. Technology has given us this capacity but we need to be aware of our responsibility. We cannot just listen and ignore what is going on. We need to listen and we need to take action for the conservation of the planet.”

PUBLISHED IN 2002

Ocean noise rings alarm bells

Read the original article
  • Perpetual planet

    Heroes of the Oceans

    Discover Michel André in the BBC documentary Heroes of the Oceans

    Watch the video

Rolex awards for enterprise

Milestones

Discover more