探索巴塔哥尼亞峽灣的水底森林

雲妮・豪澤曼

發掘科學界前所未知的新物種,只是海洋學家雲妮・豪澤曼(Vreni Häussermann)保護巴塔哥尼亞峽灣野生水域的其中一項理據。

作為傳統科學探險家,雲妮・豪澤曼面對風暴、技術失誤、孤獨、不適及危險,堅持揭示這個隱藏地球最偏遠之處的世界:巴塔哥尼亞南部黑暗而冰冷的水域。

幽深的水底森林、突兀的珊瑚礁及奇異的柳珊瑚群,生長在巴塔哥尼亞峽灣的深水區域,日光透不進這裡,四周變得漆黑。它們的美態逐漸被這位2016年勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主發掘出來。

近25年來,豪澤曼為守護南部水域的生物,多番下潛、蒐集、分類及主動爭取。在過程中,她揭示了全新的生態系統及物種。

巴塔哥尼亞接近南美洲大陸的南端,儘管地勢險要、天氣惡劣、海水冰冷,這裡卻是地球生命的一大搖籃,而且面積甚廣。這位德國及智利生物學家解釋:「智利巴塔哥尼亞其實非常遼闊。如果您測量其海岸線,便會發現它長逾100,000公里。這相當於環繞地球兩周。因此我們窮盡一生亦未能完全探索整個區域。」

在其探險生涯的首20年,豪澤曼只能夠單憑水肺潛水,探索水面以下30米。勞力士大獎讓她可以使用遙控潛水器,將水深上限增至500米,甚至1,000米。由此,她的研究進入了全新領域,出版眾多影片、圖像及書籍,闡述生活在漆黑冷水中、色彩斑斕的怪異生物。這些發現亦成為她倡議成立海洋保護區的基石,以保育其中的非凡物種。

她估算目前已有70多種生物獲辨認,100至200種生物仍有待完成科學研究及分類。其中三種新海葵更以其丈夫及子女命名。深水珊瑚及海葵等新物種均有收錄在其書籍Marine Benthic Fauna of Chilean Patagonia: an Illustrated Identification Guide之中。

豪澤曼說:「對我而言,智利巴塔哥尼亞是地球上最美麗的地方,只要在此潛水,便會發現其美態與各種色彩。」

然而,這片碩果僅存的野生樂土,正受到人類活動的威脅。捕魚、養魚、污染、脫氧及全球暖化均慢慢地摧毀此處。她指出:「10年內,數個主要物種的數量將會下跌75%。我們希望令[全球]意識到問題所在,了解人類影響帶來的改變。」

每當我們改變,或是移走環境中某些元素,便會影響整體平衡,因此明白我們行為的後果非常重要。雲妮・豪澤曼

「每當我們改變,或是移走環境中某些元素,便會影響整體平衡,因此明白我們行為的後果非常重要。生態系統卻是一個匯聚集許多物種的繁複結構,唯有理解生態系統,我們才能真正了解各種後果。」

初時,豪澤曼專注於蒐集及辨別巴塔哥尼亞峽灣的生物。項目逐漸地演進成記錄整個新生態系統,並確立關鍵區域,作為測量人類活動影響的科學參考。

她憶述道:「我們找到11種無脊椎動物,牠們組成巴塔哥尼亞的不同棲息地。我們稱之為海洋動物森林,因為它們與陸上森林相當接近。這種森林為三維結構,有些動物會建構空間,其他則在此棲身、游動、覓食及藏身。每個海洋動物森林都一個截然不同的生態系統,舉例而言,珊瑚礁同時可以是柳珊瑚群。」

在極冷水域及近黑環境中發現的珊瑚礁,推翻了海洋生物學的普遍認知,為珊瑚的適應力,以及在氣候變化等影響下的生存能力開闢嶄新見解。

利巴塔哥尼亞是生物多樣性的熱點,需要大眾保護。雲妮・豪澤曼

為守護這些生態系統的未來,豪澤曼倡議近20年,在巴塔哥尼亞峽灣建立最少25個海洋保護區,組成網絡。目前,10個不同面積的海洋保護區中,只有兩個受到高度保護,而且大多數允許鮭魚養殖。

豪澤曼表示運用海洋數據及已知物種分布建立的模型,將有助決定海洋保護區的設立地點。「我們向其他科學家、公眾及決策者展示這些數據、照片及影片,令他們明白智利巴塔哥尼亞是生物多樣性的熱點,需要大眾保護。」

隨著峽灣鮭魚養殖業於近年衰減,以及當地社區的大力支持,她再次希望智利政府能夠同意並實行計劃。

豪澤曼的工作為勞力士「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃的一部分。此計劃旨在探索地球上最後的野生境地,揭示未知的奇觀,並為造福後代而致力保護環境。

2016年發布

巴塔哥尼亞的深海生態

閱讀原文
  • 保護地球 恒動不息

    海洋英雄

    在BBC紀錄片《海洋英雄》探索雲妮・豪澤曼

    icon-play觀看影片

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

里程碑

探索更多

Exploring submarine forests in Patagonia’s fjords

Vreni Häussermann

Discovering new species, never described to science, is just one aspect of the case the intrepid marine biologist Vreni Häussermann puts for the protection of the wild waters of the Patagonian fjords.

Facing down storm, technical failure, isolation, discomfort and danger, Vreni Häussermann – a scientific explorer in the classic tradition – is unveiling a hidden world in one of the Earth’s remotest regions: the dark, chill waters of southern Patagonia.

Eerie submarine forests, unexpected coral reefs and strange gorgonian meadows abound in the depths of the Patagonian fjords, where daylight fades into inky blackness, and which are slowly surrendering their marvels to the 2016 Rolex Awards for Enterprise Laureate.

For almost a quarter of a century, Häussermann has dived, collected, classified and fought to protect the denizens of the southern deep. In the process, she has unveiled entire new ecosystems as well as species.

For all its formidable landscapes, violent weather and icy waters, Patagonia – edging the southern tip of the South American continent – is proving to be an astonishing hotspot of life on Earth. It is also vast. “The area of Chilean Patagonia actually is really huge. If you measure the coastline, it’s more than 100,000 kilometres long. This is more than going twice around the Earth. So we cannot really cover the whole region in our lifetime,” the German/Chilean biologist explains.

Over the first 20 years of her exploration, Häussermann was confined to the top 30 metres of water accessible to a scuba diver. The Rolex Award enabled her to use a remotely operated underwater vehicle (ROV) to extend her search to depths of 500 metres, possibly even 1,000 metres. With this she has pursued her discoveries into new realms. The yield has been spectacular video, images and books depicting the vividly coloured weird creatures of these cold, dark waters. These underpin her campaign for Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) to conserve its wonders.

She estimates that some 70 new species have so far been identified, with 100 to 200 more currently undergoing the process of scientific study and classification. Three new anemones have been named after her husband and children. The new species, including deepwater corals and sea anemones, are presented in her book, Marine Benthic Fauna of Chilean Patagonia: an Illustrated Identification Guide.

“For me, Chilean Patagonia is the most beautiful place on Earth when you go diving there and see this beauty and these colours,” Häussermann says.

Yet, even here, on one of the planet’s last wild frontiers, the tread of human activity falls heavily. Fishing, fish farming, pollution, deoxygenation and global warming are wreaking a slow havoc. “Just in 10 years, there was up to 75 per cent decrease in abundance in several of the dominating species,” she points out. “We want to make [the world] aware of what’s going on, what changes are happening through human impacts.”

The moment we start changing something and taking something out, we alter the equilibrium – so it’s really important to understand the consequences of what we’re doing.Vreni Häussermann

“The moment we start changing something and taking something out, we alter the equilibrium – so it’s really important to understand the consequences of what we’re doing. We can only understand the consequences if we understand the ecosystem – and the ecosystem is a compound of many, many species.”

Häussermann began by concentrating on the collection and identification of the Patagonia fjords’s life forms. Gradually, this grew into mapping whole new ecosystems and identifying key pristine areas as scientific references where the effects of human activity can be measured.

“We have found 11 invertebrate species that form different habitats in Patagonia,” she recalls. “These are called marine animal forests because they’re similar to a terrestrial forest. The forest is a three-dimensional structure that some animals create, and other animals can live in, go between, feed on and find protection in. Each of these marine animal forests is effectively a new ecosystem and this is, for example, a coral reef but it can also be a gorgonian meadow.”

The very idea that coral reefs exist in freezing waters and near-darkness overturns popular understanding of marine biology and opens fresh insights into the durability of corals and their ability to survive impacts such as climate change.

Chilean Patagonia is a biodiversity hotspot and definitely needs protection.Vreni Häussermann

To guard these ecosystems into the future, Häussermann has campaigned for almost 20 years to create a network of at least 25 Marine Protected Areas in the Patagonian fjords. Currently, 10 MPAs of different sizes exist of which only two are highly protected and most allow salmon farming.

Häussermann says that models using oceanographic data and the distribution of known species make it possible to decide where to place MPAs. “We show this data, photos and video footage to other scientists, to the general public and to decision makers so they start to understand that Chilean Patagonia is a biodiversity hotspot and definitely needs protection.”

With a recent decline in salmon farming in the fjords and the support of local communities, she is once more hopeful that the Chilean government will agree.

In such ways, Häussermann’s work is part of the Rolex Perpetual Planet Initiative, exploring the Earth’s last wild places, revealing their unseen marvels and striving to safeguard them for the benefit of future generations.

PUBLISHED IN 2016

Patagonia's wild depths

Read the original article

View all projects

  • Perpetual planet

    Heroes of the Oceans

    Discover Vreni Häussermann in the BBC documentary Heroes of the Oceans

    icon-playWatch the video

Rolex awards for enterprise

Milestones

Discover more