賀森・卓亞威向超級細菌宣戰

發布日期: 2014年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

多重抗藥性細菌正在威脅現代醫學的發展。賀森・卓亞威(Hosam Zowawi)借助快速超級細菌測試,以及向波斯灣國家的宣傳計劃,對此問題予以堅決反擊。

地點澳洲及波斯灣地區

賀森・卓亞威與「連環殺手」正面交鋒:他在澳洲布里斯本的實驗室內,深入研究一種典型醫院病原株,這是科學界所知的致命細菌之一,至今依然無法根治。這名年輕沙特阿拉伯科學家的首要目標正是對抗此多重抗藥性細菌,奮力解除21世紀人類健康的一大威脅。

若非公眾有所認識並願意配合,我們的抗生素或會變得毫無用處。

世界各地的超級細菌正以倍數增長,其中原因包括醫生處方過量抗生素;抗生素可於藥房輕易購買;部分醫院未有遵從潔手衛生程序;旅遊產業蓬勃發展;以及公眾對抗生素風險認識不足。

卓亞威正在開發全球最省時及廣泛的抗生素抗藥性測試,而下一步便是商業化發展。他同時向公眾及醫護人員宣傳抗藥性的風險,並推出相關的預防措施。卓亞威是相關領域的先驅,在2014年獲《時代》雜誌封為「新一代領袖」(Next Generation Leader)。2016年,他與另一青年雄才獎得主法蘭斯高・紹羅在亞馬遜地區展開洞穴探察,藉此研究微生物的生態學。他將洞穴細菌的基因與多重抗藥性的細菌作比對。這將有助進一步了解超級細菌的演變,並有望能尋求嶄新的治療策略。

  • 100個

    已確定出現耐藥性結核病的國家數目

  • 480,000宗

    估計每年新出現的耐藥性結核病數目

  • 48,000人

    每年在歐洲和北美洲因耐藥性感染而死亡的人數

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Hosam ZowawiWaging war on superbugs

Published in 2014clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Multi-drug resistant bacteria are threatening the gains of modern medicine. Hosam Zowawi is fighting back with rapid superbug tests and a communications plan for the Gulf states.

locationAustralia, Gulf region

Hosam Zowawi is face-to-face with a serial killer: in his laboratory in Brisbane, Australia, he is studying one of the most lethal microbes known to science, a strain of a typical hospital pathogen that is now virtually incurable. For the young Saudi Arabian scientist, the multi-drug resistant bacteria are the front line in a personal battle against one of the greatest threats to human health of the 21st century.

Without the public’s informed and willing cooperation, our best antibiotics may become useless.

All over the world resistant superbugs are multiplying due to over-prescription of antibiotics, the casual availability of antibiotics over the pharmacy counter, gaps in hand-hygiene compliance in hospitals, a burgeoning travel industry and low public understanding of the risks.

Zowawi is developing and commercializing fast and broad tests for antibiotic resistance, and educating the public and healthcare profession about the risks posed by resistance – and how to prevent it. Considered a pioneer in his field, Zowawi was recognized as a Time magazine Next Generation Leader in 2014. In 2016, he joined fellow Young Laureate Francesco Sauro on a caving expedition to Amazonia to study microbial ecology. He will compare the genetics of cave bacteria with those heavily exposed to antibiotics. This will provide further insights about the evolution of superbugs, which might suggest novel combating strategies.

  • 100

    Countries where drug-resistant tuberculosis has been identified

  • 480,000

    Estimated annual new cases of drug-resistant tuberculosis

  • 48,000

    People who die each year in Europe and North America from drug-resistant infections

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page