皮于什・特瓦利路边救援

发布日期: 2010年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

印度的交通死亡人数高踞全球。凭借皮于什・特瓦利(Piyush Tewari)的努力,更多伤者现时可当场接受治疗,大大增加他们的生还机会。

地点印度

皮于什・特瓦利本为私人股权公司经理,事业如日方中。某天,他的表兄弟遇上交通事故,长达40分钟无人理会,旁观者只眼看着他白白死去。他的无辜牺牲令特瓦利悲痛欲绝。因此,特瓦利开始在公余时间为警察、店员、普通市民等义工提供训练,以望拯救更多伤者。

印度每年有15万人因车祸丧生,在缺乏紧急医疗服务下,一些本可获拯救的生命最终返魂乏术,而根据我们的研究,这些情况多达50%。

他于2008年成立了SaveLIFE基金会,并于2011年毅然离职,全力投身组织的工作。基金会成功向印度政府争取强化道路安全法规,奠定道路使用者、道路和车辆的安全标准,并实施严厉处罚。

印度的道路伤亡人数持续高企,原因之一是旁观者怯于提供协助。他们过往因怕受警方骚扰、需负责伤者的医疗费用或被卷入长期法律程序,而未有伸出援手。不过,此情况将会有所改变。SaveLIFE基金会早前提起公益诉讼,并在2016年获印度最高法院裁定,为道路事故伤者提供救援和协助的旁观者,将不会受到任何惩罚或滋扰。

屡获殊荣的特瓦利,于2015年获《时代》杂志封为“新一代领袖”(Next Generation Leader)。

  • 10,000名

    警察已接受SaveLIFE的训练

  • 150,000人

    印度每年道路事故死亡人数

  • 50%

    适切紧急护理可挽救的生命

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close

Piyush TewariRoadside rescue

Published in 2010clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

India has the highest number of road fatalities in the world, but thanks to Piyush Tewari, accident victims now have a much greater chance of receiving care at the scene – and surviving.

locationIndia

Piyush Tewari had a promising career as a private equity manager when his cousin was injured in a road traffic accident and lay unattended for 40 minutes while bystanders watched him die. Tewari was devastated by his cousin’s pointless death. He began spending his spare time training volunteers – including policemen, shopkeepers and ordinary citizens – to help accident victims.

India suffers 150,000 road crash deaths a year, and, in the absence of emergency medical services, many lives that could be saved are lost – as many as 50 per cent, according to our research.

He set up the SaveLIFE Foundation in 2008 and left his job in 2011 to run it full-time. The organization successfully campaigned India’s government to introduce strong road-safety legislation that will create the missing safety standards for road users, roads and vehicles, and impose stern penalties.

One reason for India’s high road toll has been the fear of bystanders to provide help. Previously they were discouraged from playing the role of Good Samaritans due to fears of police harassment, becoming liable for victims’ medical bills and being drawn into prolonged court cases. But that will now change. Following public interest litigation filed by the SaveLIFE Foundation, India’s Supreme Court in 2016 ruled that bystanders can now offer care and assistance to road accident victims knowing they will not be penalized or harassed for doing so.

Among the many accolades he has received, Tewari was named a Next Generation Leader by Time magazine in 2015.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page