威加亞・歌達昆布拉救生安全燈

發布日期: 1998年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

斯里蘭卡醫生威加亞・歌達昆布拉(Wijaya Godakumbura)奮力對抗冷漠與無知,防止更多人遭結構不穩的自製油燈燒毀面容。他發明的安全瓶燈(Safe Bottle Lamp)拯救了無數生命。

地點斯里蘭卡

在昔日的斯里蘭卡,由家居意外引起的嚴重燒傷可謂屢見不鮮。當地大部分房屋現已通電,但過去的臨時油燈曾造成多次燒傷毀容的意外,甚至奪去性命。

要保障生命,預防疾病固然重要,但遏止意外傷亡同樣不容忽視。

有見及此,歌達昆布拉醫生發起了安全瓶燈運動,製作並派發數以千計的矮身細燈,兩邊扁平並鑲嵌安全金屬螺絲帽,設計更見穩固。憑藉勞力士雄才偉略大獎的資金和其他捐助,勇於創新的歌達昆布拉醫生成功向斯里蘭卡的貧困家庭分派近百萬盞低成本的安全燈。

世界各地的群眾紛紛向他查詢安全燈的設計,他亦樂於與大眾分享。勞力士雄才偉略大獎提升了外界對意外傷亡的關注,而這也是歌達昆布拉日後工作的重點。他不時就此主題在國際會議上演講,迄今已到訪16個國家,包括法國和越南。

  • 325,000個

    家庭受惠於安全瓶燈

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Wijaya Godakumbura

Safe lamps save lives

Published in 1998clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Sri Lankan surgeon Wijaya Godakumbura battled apathy and ignorance to prevent people being disfigured by burns caused by unstable, home-made lamps. His invention, the Safe Bottle Lamp, has saved many lives.

locationSri Lanka

In Sri Lanka, household accidents resulting in severe burns used to be commonplace. While a large proportion of homes now have access to electricity, makeshift lamps used to cause disfiguring burns, and often death.

Where is the sense in preventing disease if we do not also seek to prevent injury that is equally destructive of people’s lives?

Dr Godakumbura launched a campaign to make and distribute thousands of Safe Bottle Lamps: small, squat devices with two flat sides and a safe metal screw cap, making them more stable and sturdy. The enterprising surgeon, with the help of his Rolex Award funding and other contributions, was the driving force behind almost one million of these safe, low-cost lamps being distributed to poor families in Sri Lanka.

Godakumbura receives inquiries from around all the world for the lamp design, which he shares freely. The Award stimulated an interest in injury prevention, the focus of his continuing work. To date, he has given presentations about this subject at international conferences in 16 countries, including France and Vietnam.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page