連繫未來的橋樑

clock閱讀需時: 1m10s
scroll-down

勞力士與洛桑聯邦理工學院(EPFL)建立深厚的合作關係。

勞力士與瑞士聯邦理工學院EPFL深厚淵源的象徵,莫過於勞力士研修中心(Rolex Learning Center)。這座標誌性建築於2010年正式開放,其設計蜿蜒起伏,巧妙地融合了圖書館及社交場所,營造了學習、交流的空間。

為洛桑理工設計建築的是普利茲克獎得主妹島和世(Kazuyo Sejima)與西澤立衛(Ryue Nishizawa),他們是日本建築事務所SANAA的創辦人。這座大樓是開放式建築的典範,而開放式形態則有助推動科學與教育。

勞力士研修中心一半的建築費用由私人基金資助。勞力士對洛桑理工的邀請毫不猶疑,成為計劃的主要資助商。數項因素促成這個決定。

七十年代,勞力士從根本上改變其研究和發展模式,在與傳統錶匠合作的同時,開始與科學家合作。洛桑理工走在科學與工程界的前沿,憑藉高水準的科學和技術教育,在國際間備受盛譽。理所當然,勞力士亦開始與洛桑理工建立合作關係。洛桑理工亦著重品質、技術創新並不懈追求卓越,與勞力士研製腕錶的理念不謀而合。

不少勞力士工程師均是洛桑理工的物理、機械工程、材料科學、微技術或資訊科技專業的畢業生。同時有見洛桑理工强大的科研能力及高品質的實驗器材,勞力士亦會和相關研究部門携手進行項目研發。此外,公司也資助博士生在應用科學領域的研究。

勞力士與洛桑理工的關係日益深厚。2016年11月,大學成立了ArtLab,專門探索科學與藝術的交融合併。勞力士在日本建築師隈研吾(Kengo Kuma)設計的建築内贊助成立展覽。

洛桑理工的合作夥伴諸多,當中不乏業界和經濟領域的翹楚,協力推動未來發展。勞力士與洛桑理工目標一致,致力擴闊人類眼界、擴展人類知識。

知識傳承

科學

探索

分享此頁面

A bridge to the future

clockTime to read: 1m10s
scroll-down

Rolex has had a long, mutually rewarding relationship with the EPFL, the world-leading Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne.

If there is a symbol of the deep links between Rolex and EPFL (the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) in Lausanne, Switzerland, it is the Rolex Learning Center. With its architectural eloquence defined by flowing curves, this iconic building, which opened in 2010, aptly expresses the essence of a library and forum for intellectual exchange.

Designed for EPFL by the Pritzker Prize-winning duo Kazuyo Sejima and Nyue Nishizawa, co-founders of the Japanese architectural firm SANAA, it is a model for the truly open environment essential to advancing science and education.

Half of the Rolex Learning Center was financed by private funding. Not hesitating to respond to EPFL’s invitation to contribute, Rolex became the principal patron. Several factors underlay this decision.

In the 1970s, Rolex fundamentally changed its approach to research and development and began to engage scientists in addition to traditional watchmakers, mechanics and engineers. The company turned naturally to EPFL for its recruitment, due to the institute’s international reputation for the high standards of its science and technology education and research at the forefront of science and engineering. It also had values based on quality, excellence and technical expertise, principles shared by Rolex in the development and manufacture of its watches.

Many engineers who work at Rolex are graduates of EPFL in physics, mechanical engineering, materials science, microtechnology and information technology. In view of the quality of EPFL’s analytical equipment, Rolex has also entrusted a number of projects to its research departments; in addition the company supports doctoral students in applied science research.

The links between Rolex and EPFL continue to strengthen. In November 2016, the university opened ArtLab, which is dedicated to an examination of the intersection between science and the arts. Rolex has sponsored an exhibition space in the building that was designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma.

EPFL collaborates with a large network of partners including those engaged with industry and the economy, with the aim of having a positive impact on the future. It is a vision of advancing human knowledge that Rolex and EPFL share.

Perpetuating Knowledge

Science

Discover

Share this page