利蒂茨制表学院精准教育

发布日期: 2016年5月clock阅读需时: 1 min 45 s
scroll-down

为解决美国熟练表匠人才短缺的问题,劳力士于2001年成立了一所学院,以培养维修高品质机械腕表的新一代年轻专家。

利蒂茨位于宾夕法尼亚州,一座座小山、一片片农场和一簇簇小森林环绕着这里的乡村,氛围恬静怡人,与瑞士制表业的中心地带汝拉山有着不可思议的相似之处。然而,两者的相似之处并非仅仅只是表面。利蒂茨是一座阿米什(Amish)乡村,居住着十分虔诚、来自瑞士的传统主义者。此外,自19世纪以来,附近的兰卡斯特(Lancaster)县城一直都是美国制表业的中心。

这个“德裔宾夕法尼亚人”乡村地区的板条白板房屋和农庄,还有购物商场,则折射出另一种美国风情。利蒂茨制表学院建筑以石头砌成,占地4,274平方米(46,000平方英尺),由著名建筑师麦可・葛雷夫(Michael Graves)设计,意在把这两个世界联系起来。从两端看,建筑采用当地谷仓传统的尖拱形式,与周围的乡村环境融为一体。在建筑的两侧,自然光线透过高大的窗户倾泻到室内,展现出瑞士制表厂的设计,同时切合现今之目的──成为年轻表匠的学府,及日益壮大的劳力士服务中心所在地。

弥补人手

利蒂茨制表学院的所有支出和设备都由劳力士负责,学费也由劳力士报销。制表工具由学生自行购买。对这个年纪的学生来说,投入的开支可算十分高昂,但这些工具将会在他们整个职业生涯中陪伴左右。

利蒂茨学院诞生于2001年,以应对行业出现的问题。当时,在整个行业内,能维修豪华机械表、技艺娴熟的合资格表匠非常短缺。1980年代石英表出现后,大多数电子机芯无法维修。这种趋势贬低了表匠技艺的价值,也令制表学院纷纷关闭。1973年至2000年间,美国表匠数量从32,000人大跌至6,500人。随着表匠人数下跌,老一辈表匠在退休后后继无人,这使技艺娴熟的合资格售后服务专家越来越少;同时,代代相传的机械制表知识也遭受威胁。到了1990年代,高品质机械表的销售恢复生机并蓬勃发展,这预示着常规服务和维修的需求正恢复增长。

在利蒂茨第一年,学生就开始以人手制作需要精密组装的微机械腕表组件。

培养文化

利蒂茨学院开办之后,已经帮助美国恢复制表文化,培养出约115名合格的售后服务表匠。超过半数的毕业生在美国劳力士特约零售商或劳力士内部工作,其余则在其他地方施展才华,包括独立零售商或其他高级制表公司。利蒂茨学院十分成功,美国各零售商甚至纷纷设立新的售后服务工作站。在学院注册约100个开放的零售服务岗位中,约有30个岗位是新开设的。此外,劳力士还在北西雅图学院和俄克拉何马州大学开设了另外两门课程,这两门课程都采用独树一帜的利蒂茨课程。如今,这些课程的毕业生已遍及美国各地,远至太平洋领地关岛,其中部分学生已晋升至管理岗位。

值得一提的是,利蒂茨制表学院建有一个网站,但不再积极招生。每年有70至100名申请者值得考虑;大约只有40名候选人获邀参加长达八小时的严格测试和面试,最终将只有14人能穿上一年级学生的蓝色实验室外套,开始为期两年的学徒生涯。

利蒂茨制表学院院长赫尔曼・迈耶(Herman Mayer)解释:“我们需要说明,这不是一份工作,而是一种生活方式。他们需要清楚地了解我们是做什么的,以及未来两年要做什么。”

利蒂茨制表学院学生制作的学院时钟,这是其中一份课程专题习作。

创造职业

从14年前开办以来,学院成功招揽了在电玩游戏世界,而非乐高积木和麦卡诺组合玩具之中长大的一代。远至美国加州市区的学生,千里迢迢慕名来到宾夕法尼亚州的乡村求学。他们很多是十几岁的高中毕业生,其他则是拥有大学学位,甚至是主修机械工程的毕业生,还有少数可能是三十多岁准备转行的人士。为期一天的甄选过程非常严格,测试学员解决问题的能力,以考察他们在机械方面的能力倾向,而非测试他们已获证明的机械技能。在多个测试和面试环节,迈耶及三位导师更关注学员是否表现出始终如一的推理能力、挫折承受能力,以及热情和敬业精神。

课堂是创意流动的地方。你需要设法在创意上多花功夫并在家自学,甚至包括微机械学,但绝对让你受益匪浅。亚历克萨・图玛斯,二年级学生

迈耶认为,在某些特定范围内,灵巧的手艺并非必要条件,因为这可以经由良好的训练来掌握。结果显而易见。深夜时分,点点灯光打破了学院的黑暗,学生们仍在埋头于学院腕表习作。教学时间早已过去,而忙碌的第二天又将在早晨七点半开始。利蒂茨创造的是职业。投入和热情需要相互结合,这点虽然没有明说,但对任何访客来说,这已尽在不言中。“课堂是创意流动的地方。你需要设法在创意上多花功夫并在家自学,甚至包括微机械学,这事情很费力劳神的,但绝对让你受益匪浅。”

毕业生因严谨的纪律和掌握的知识深度而备受赞誉。目前在费城附近的一家零售商工作的威廉・哈比森(William Harbison)说道:“考试似乎总会扔给你一些不同的东西。标准定得很高。”这经历足以改变人生。在选拔测试中,学生接过牙签,并用它来协助说明简单泵发动机的工作原理;短短几个月后,他们就开始制作功能齐全的腕表机芯。

在第一年的个人专题习作中,每名学生都会根据现有的机芯,自行制作组件并装配学院腕表。学院认为,迅速制定出锯削、切割、车削等技能的基本训练,并制作出运作正常的手工组件,这种能力可以鼓励发展个人特色,同时培养出自豪感和成就感。有些身穿白色外套的二年级学生,甚至使他们的腕表更加精密或添加装饰。

我们需要说明,这不是一份工作,而是一种生活方式。赫尔曼・迈耶,利蒂茨制表学院院长

二年级学生本·库里斯托弗(Ben Kuriloff)把学院腕表视为第一学年的最高目标:“如果我们需要帮助或有什么疑问,都可以随时请教导师,但最终还是由我们主导,必须自己解决问题。腕表首次成功运行并达到所有的要求时,你知道是靠自己的技能来完成的,心中会有一种实在的满足感。”他补充道。这些专题习作年底完成,成果斐然,很多人都自豪地把他们的作品戴在手腕上。一位学生制作的机芯技术卓越,做工极致精美,以至令瑞士制表业协会在世界最大的年度钟表展巴塞尔世界钟表博览会上展出了这件作品。学院时钟也是多项专题习作之一。导师加里・比斯赛里(Gary Biscelli)说:“我们并不以手表来评估学生,而是以他们的成长历程来评估。”

二年级学生正在制造机芯,学习如何评估和维修所有腕表组件。

公认的品质保证

利蒂茨秉承传统高品质瑞士制表学院的所有优点,但近年来又增加了一个至关重要的特色。由利蒂茨创立的瑞士制表美国培训联盟(SAWTA)课程,特别针对零售环境而作出修订,尤其是在制表工艺的基础上增加了客户服务技能和零件管理。美国钟表匠研究所(AWCI)提供该课程的独立认证。虽然劳力士零售店目前备受追棒,但主要目标是为高级、售后制表职业生涯打下坚实的基础。劳力士服务中心位于学院楼上,宽敞明净。从战后型号到工艺先进的新式腕表,这里每年处理成千上万件钟表产品。尽管两者相距甚近,但完全独立运营。服务中心在其服务范围和完美品质方面,为学院的毕业生树立了典范,学生们在今后维修客户腕表时,将继续秉持这些特质。

利蒂茨学院采用与劳力士相同的顶级标准,并与美国不断变化的情况相结合。赫尔曼・迈耶深信,学院和学生将继续大放异彩。“永无止境──这是这个行业的魅力所在。”他微笑说。

我们的创始精神

恒动精神

探索

分享此页面

Lititz Watch TechnicumAN EDUCATION IN PRECISION

Published in May 2016clockTime to read: 1 min 45 s
scroll-down

Faced with a shortage of skilled watchmakers in the United States, Rolex built a school in 2001 to train a new generation of young specialists to service high-quality mechanical wristwatches.

With its gentle rolling hills, farms, small clumps of forest and tranquil atmosphere, the countryside around Lititz, Pennsylvania, bears an uncanny resemblance to parts of the Jura mountains, the heart of Swiss watchmaking. And the parallels with Switzerland run more than surface deep. This is Amish country, a fervently traditionalist and devout community of settlers that originated in Switzerland. Furthermore, nearby Lancaster, the county capital, has been a watchmaking hub in the United States since the 19th century.

The slatted whiteboard houses and farmsteads of rural “Dutch Pennsylvania” – as well as the shopping malls – hint at another, American, flavour. The 4,274 square metre (46,000 square foot) stone building that houses the Lititz Watch Technicum, designed by award-winning architect Michael Graves, manages to bridge both worlds. Seen from each end, it adopts the traditional pointed arch of local barns and blends into its rural surroundings. On the sides, tall windows allow natural light to flood the interior, mirroring those of Swiss watch manufactures and fitting the modern purpose, as a seat of learning for young watchmakers and home for an expanded Rolex Service Center.

Tackling a Shortage

Rolex entirely finances and equips the Lititz Watch Technicum, and underwrites the tuition fees at the school. Students buy their own watchmaking tools – a substantial financial investment at their age, but one that stays with them for a career.

The Technicum opened in 2001, in response to an industry-wide scarcity of skilled watchmakers qualified to service luxury mechanical watches, a shortage brought about in the 1980s by the emergence of quartz watches with largely unserviceable electronic movements. This trend devalued the watchmaker’s craft and prompted the closure of watchmaking schools. Between 1973 and 2000, the number of watchmakers in the United States fell from about 32,000 to 6,500. The decline not only stifled the supply of qualified, skilled after-sales service specialists as elderly watchmakers retired; it also threatened the transmission of mechanical watchmaking knowledge from generation to generation. By the 1990s, sales of high-quality mechanical watches recovered and boomed, heralding a growing need for routine servicing and repairs.

Already in their first year at Lititz, students handcraft micromechanical watch components that require a precision finish.

Fostering a Culture

Since it opened, the school at Lititz has helped restore watchmaking culture in the United States, turning out about 115 qualified after-sales watchmakers. More than half of these graduates work for US Official Rolex Retailers or Rolex itself, while the rest have followed other avenues, including independent retailers or other high-end watchmaking firms. The success of the Technicum is such that retailers in the United States are even setting up new workshops for after-sales service. Of about 100 open retail servicing posts registered on the school’s database, about 30 are newly created. Furthermore, Rolex supports two other courses, at North Seattle College and Oklahoma State University, which are adopting the unique Lititz curriculum. Nowadays, graduates from all these courses can be found across the United States, as far afield as the Pacific island territory of Guam, and some have progressed to management positions.

Tellingly, the Lititz Watch Technicum maintains a website but it no longer actively advertises for students. Seventy to 100 applications are deemed worthy of consideration each year; about 40 of those candidates are invited to the rigorous eight-hour test and interview process. Only 14 will don the blue lab coats of first-year students, ready for what amounts to a two-year apprenticeship.

“We need to get across that this is not a job but a lifestyle,” explains Herman Mayer, Principal of the Lititz Watch Technicum. “They need to have a crisp idea of what we are and what happens over the two years.”

A school clock made by students at the Lititz Watch Technicum as one of their course projects.

Acquiring a Vocation

Since it opened 14 years ago, the Technicum has managed to harness a generation that grew up with video games rather than Lego and Meccano. Students are drawn to rural Pennsylvania from as far afield as urban California. Many are high-school leavers in their late teens, but others may have college degrees, even in mechanical engineering, and a few might be in their thirties, ready to switch profession. The day-long selection process is rigorous, testing problem-solving ability that indicates an aptitude for mechanics rather than seeking proven mechanical skills. During the combination of tests and interviews, Mayer and his three instructors are more interested in consistent signs of reasoning ability, a “frustration-proof” disposition, passion and dedication.

In the classroom, ideas flow, and you want to spend as much time as possible working on them, even micro-mechanics and studying at home. But it’s rewarding, absolutely.Alexa Tumas, Second-year student

Within certain bounds, dexterity, Mayer insists, is not essential and can be acquired with good training. The outcome is clear. Late evening, multiple small patches of light break the darkness in the Technicum as students work away on their school watch project, well past teaching hours and with the prospect of a 7.30 a.m. start the next day. Lititz is creating a vocation. Although the combination of commitment and enthusiasm needed to achieve it is understated, it is palpable for any visitor. “In the classroom, ideas flow, and you want to spend as much time as possible working on them, even micro-mechanics and studying at home. It has been very consuming. But it’s rewarding, absolutely,” says Alexa Tumas, a second-year student.

Graduates lauded the sense of discipline and depth of know-how they acquired. “The exam always seemed to throw you something different. It set a high standard,” according to William Harbison, who now works for a retailer near Philadelphia. It is a transformative experience. Students start crafting a fully functioning wristwatch movement barely a few months after they were handed a toothpick during a selection test to assist their hesitant explanation of the workings of a simple pump engine.

Each student makes his or her own components and assembles this school watch, an individual first-year project, based on an existing movement. This ability to swiftly give form to basic training for skills such as sawing, cutting and turning, and create functional hand-finished components, encourages individuality and fosters a sense of pride and accomplishment, according to the school. Some white-coated, second-year students even add complications or decorative features to their wristwatch.

We need to get across that this is not a job but a lifestyle.Herman Mayer, Principal of The Lititz Watch Technicum

One second-year student, Ben Kuriloff, describes the school watch as the apogee of his first year: “The instructor was there if we needed help or had questions, but it was guided by us, we had to work it out. When it’s completed and successfully running for the first time, meeting all the requirements, there’s real satisfaction in knowing that your physical skills brought it to completion,” he adds. The results of these projects, completed at the end of the year, are astonishingly accomplished and many are worn proudly on the wrist. One student came up with a movement of such technical flair and exquisite aesthetic finishing that it was exhibited by the Swiss watchmaking federation at the world’s biggest annual watch fair, Baselworld. A school clock is also among the projects. “We don’t grade them on the watch, we grade them on the journey,” says Gary Biscelli, one of the instructors.

Second-year students working on movements: they are taught how to assess and service all watch components.

Recognized Quality

Lititz offers all the advantages of a traditional, high-quality, Swiss watchmaking school, but in recent years it has added a crucial distinguishing feature. The Swiss American Watchmakers Training Alliance (SAWTA) curriculum, developed by Lititz, is adapted to work in a retail setting, notably by adding customer service skills and parts management to watchmaking craft. The American Watchmakers-Clockmakers Institute (AWCI) provides independent verification of the course. Although Rolex retailers are by far the favoured destination, the primary aim is to create a solid foundation for a career in high-end, after-sales watchmaking. Upstairs at the Technicum, the vast, bright floor devoted to the Rolex Service Center deals with thousands of timepieces a year, ranging from post-war models with a history to newer, highly engineered wristwatches. Despite the proximity, it is an entirely separate operation. But it stands as an example of the range and flawless quality the school’s graduates will uphold when they service their customers’ watches.

The Lititz Watch Technicum has taken on board the same compelling standards as Rolex and combined them with the evolving conditions in the United States. Herman Mayer is in no doubt that the Technicum and its students will continue to thrive. “The beauty of this profession is that it never ends,” he says, smiling.

Our Founding Spirit

Perpetual

Discover

Share this page