絲維雅.艾爾浩瀚希望

發布日期: 2016年8月clock閱讀需時: 2 min 55 s
scroll-down

自1982年擔任勞力士代言人的海洋生物學家絲維雅.艾爾(Sylvia Earle),逾四十年來一直是深海探索的先鋒。她以探索、研究及保護地球海洋為己任。如今,她通過自己創立的「藍色使命」(Mission Blue)計劃,爭取公眾對保衛海洋「希望點」(Hope Spots)的支持。

艾爾在城鎮碼頭觀察樁柱上的海綿和珊瑚,照片由勞力士代言人大衛・都必列(David Doubilet)拍攝。人造樁柱變為暗礁,為海洋生物提供更多棲息地。

絲維雅・艾爾是著名美國深海探險家、海洋生物學家、潛航員、講師、作家及國家地理學會駐會探險家(National Geographic Society Explorer-in-Residence)。四十年來,她一直是深海勘探界的先驅,在海洋探險研究方面位列前沿。她亦是海洋技術公司「深海探索與研究」(DOER)的創始人,積極為自己和其他科學家開發設備,藉以深入鑽研前所未到的海洋領域。

1970年,艾爾帶領一隊潛航員參與美國政府的「玻隕石二號」(Tektite II)研究計劃,在海底實驗室居住整整兩星期,嘗試了解海洋生態以及在海底生活對人體的影響。1979年,她身穿JIM耐壓潛水衣潛進太平洋水面以下381米(1,250呎),創下自由下潛世界紀錄。

艾爾於2009年獲頒TED大獎,表彰她改變世界的遠大目光。在TED的支持下,她創立了「藍色使命」,藉著建立名為「希望點」的保護區,保護全球各地重要的海洋領域。榮獲艾美獎的Netflix紀錄片《藍色使命》亦以艾爾為主題,闡述她的事業生涯及其保護「希望點」的目標。

你為何成為海洋探險家?

我從來沒有刻意選擇這種生活。所有人小時候都是探險家,只是其中有些人長大了也未曾變改。我三歲時首次接觸大海,當時一股海浪迎面而來,自始我便對海洋世界產生興趣。

這些年來我都十分關注海洋生物。潛水非常奇妙,你會感覺毫無重量,不知道接下來會碰見甚麼,滿載驚喜。可以肯定的是,每次潛入水中都會遇到美妙事物,令人無法抗拒。我真的難以想像自己沒有成為深海探險家的生活。

倘若我們跟隨你下潛至你最喜歡的海域,會看到一番怎樣的景象?

若要說最喜歡的潛水經歷,想必是五十年前,那時的海洋與現在迥然不同,不過現在當然還有很多值得探索的地方。

我最近在馬略卡(Majorca)附近的德爾托羅小島(Isla del Toro)對開下潛。此處多年受到保護,可見大魚和龐大梭魚群暢遊其中。這裡的珊瑚礁看來還算健康,但全球各地的珊瑚礁則已消失近半,九成大魚和無數小魚也不復見。

現在每當我不禁想去哪個地方潛水,都只希望有時光機,讓我能回到過去,看看那片海洋從前的美態,或是穿越未來,見證海洋在人類的努力下重拾健康。

絲維雅・艾爾,照片由大衛・都必列於2015年極地之美北極考察之旅(Elysium Arctic expedition)期間拍攝,二人與其他人士合作,探索並記錄北極生態。

對比早期潛水的景象,你現在目睹哪些重大破壞?

我們殺掉了太多魚。人類每年從海洋擷取近1億噸野生動物,並嚴重破壞牠們的棲息地。不少生物在捕獲後,最終只是棄如敝屣。

不少人曾認為海洋浩瀚無垠,復原力強,人類不會對之構成傷害。事實上,我們在數十年間已破壞了地球基本的生態系統。這些系統相互交織,而我們現在才察覺到當中的真正價值。許多人還是不明白,保護海洋其實等同保護自己。

甚麼讓你一直抱持希望?

種種原因讓我覺得仍有希望。首先是我們開始意識到自己對海洋的影響,並理解其重要性。洞見癥結,啟發了更多更深入的保育活動。

例如,在西太平洋島國帛琉(Palau)的專屬經濟區,八成的總面積現已成為野生動物安全的棲息之所,餘下兩成則受到監管,讓當地居民可依靠海洋資源維持生計。旅遊業是當地的主要收入來源,意味島民不用依賴捕殺魚群、鯊魚或其他生物為生,反而可為海洋生物建立安全棲所。這種方式顯然更加可取,並可作持續發展,生生不息。

我三歲時首次接觸大海,當時一股海浪迎面而來,自始我便對海洋世界產生興趣。

你是少數在海底生活過的幸運兒,最近一次是於2012年。在這10次體驗中,你領略到甚麼?

我領略到每條魚是獨立個體,跟貓、狗、馬及人類一樣。這點我一直理解,不過跟每條魚在同一水域晝夜生活後,我的體會變得更深。每條魚都有自己的面貌和個性。這活現了生命的奇蹟,豐富多樣。

在海底日夜生活讓我收獲頗豐。我們能夠辨別各條梭魚。牠們有些好鬥,有些則比較害羞。只需觀察牠們的行為,便能一一識別。每當牠們向我們游近,並來到窗前偷看時,我們總能認出每張臉龐,所以不會說「這裡有一條神仙魚」,而是會說「這條神仙魚又來了」,真是一大突破。

聽起來你並沒有失去孩提時期的好奇心。

希望沒有。長大其實沒有想像般美好。

俯瞰西班牙馬略卡海岸的巴利阿里群島。這些海島成為地中海的希望點。

孩童般的好奇心是否海洋科學家不可或缺的特質?

好奇心人人皆有。這使我們不斷探索新知,將知識世代相傳,竭力為下一代帶來更好的機遇。如今我們這一代的眼界、學問及見識都較從前更加豐富。現在的孩子甚至可從太空觀瞻地球的面貌,這是我們成長時期從未見過的。

然而,我們還是剛剛開始探索海底。地球的生命歷史與海洋歷史同樣悠久。從海洋取一桶水,內裡彷彿滿載地球的生命。海洋是所有活動的根源。

無人能夠獨力完成一切,但每個人都可出一分力。集合眾人之力,定必有所作為。

為何你認為海洋沒有得到應有的重視?

這種情況已有所改善,但也變得更加迫切,因為我們察覺到海洋潛藏一些不可逆轉的變化。「不可逆轉」是指物種的滅絕。「不可逆轉」亦代表我們已屆無可挽回的地步。回想我們對天空、海洋所做的事,還有從土地擷取的資源,一切都證明自然生態平衡已到達臨界點。為求生存,我們與所有生物一樣,都必然需要使用天然資源,但過去我們未有好好節制,竟以為自然資源取之不盡,甚至把海洋當作垃圾場。現在,我們開始制定規例、法規或法律,更重要的是建立關愛自然的道德觀念,因為這比立法要有效得多。

你如何借助科技,把海洋變成研究所?

若非有科技協助,我們根本無法登月。若非掌握相關技術系統,我們也不可能成功來回海洋最深處。不過,科技並非萬能,正如我們無法創造吞拿魚、青蛙或一花一樹。

我們當下欠缺的是一個玻璃球,將我們以潛艇運送到海底。這樣的計劃正步入尾聲。如今有無數人可以乘坐飛機升上7英里的高空,同樣,我們也希望有這麼多人可以潛入7英里的深海,一探深海採礦的情況。我們需要先觀測再評估。

你的人生成就非凡,哪一項令你最滿足?

沒有最滿意的,只有更滿意的。前瞻總較緬懷過去更有意義。

「藍色使命」與「希望點」計劃有何目標?

「藍色使命」旨在進一步探索及了解海洋。這就需要用到科技來摸索及理解大自然,並向科學家以至普羅大眾竭力宣揚有關訊息。我們也希望鼓勵大眾坐言起行,關注不同海域並努力將之變成「希望點」,同時承諾與志同道合之士攜手保護海洋。
「希望點」可以是狀態完好之地,也可以是飽受破壞、但只要悉心照料便可回復原貌的水域。

在「藍色使命」中,有哪些地方你特別關注?

加拉帕戈斯群島(Galapagos)是其中一個「希望點」。這個地球的瑰寶正陷入險境,但只要經過悉心保育,相信情況將有所改善。
美國的切薩皮克灣(Chesapeake Bay)是另一個令人惋惜的例子,四百年前跟現今的模樣相比,可謂差天共地。這水域位處華盛頓特區的後方,現已弄得一團糟。

照片由大衛・都必列拍攝。艾爾旁邊為「深海漫遊者」,她駕駛此潛水器深入巴哈的巴咸(Baham)水域,深度達335米。

緬因州海岸對開的卡西斯海脊(Cashes Ledge)已獲保護約十五年。這片細小水域禁止捕魚,成為海洋生物的棲息所,更是少數能找到大鱈魚的地方。

冠上「希望點」之名並不代表該處受到保護。2015年,我們終於等到聯合國落實協議,有望真正保護公海。然而,直至現時為止,情況仍像蠻荒的美國西部。

尋找自己所愛。別忘記對生活中著緊的事物保持熱情。

保育海洋對大眾來說並非易事,往往令人感到力不從心。單憑一臂之力,如何才能有效貢獻?

我身同感受,有時也會覺得自己孤軍作戰。有一點我們必須明白,就是無人能夠獨力完成一切,但每個人都可出一分力。集合眾人之力,定必有所作為。惰性是地球未來的一大危機,人類擁有力量,但卻未有妥善運用,甚或誤用。

解決方法非常簡單,就是大家努力做正確的事情,一點一滴的累積。一千人、一億人一起做同一件事,變化絕不容輕視,但若總抱持「我只有一人之力」的心態,然後坐視不理,那必然一成不變。選擇就在我們手中。

有甚麼忠告讓你深深受用?

這個忠告我也常告訴其他人。尋找自己所愛。別忘記對生活中著緊的事物保持熱情。對我來說,成為科學家是我一直想做的事,也是我的追求。我很幸運能夠實現所想,也很幸運我的父母一直讓我做自己喜歡的事。我也鼓勵大家這樣做。

我知道有些孩子也許會覺得夢想遙不可及,但我會告訴他們:「別擔心自己尚未找到方向。多給自己些時間。說不定你會成為通才,這也很好。這正是你的特別之處。對各種事物都感興趣?棒極了,去做吧!」

  • 絲維雅・艾爾身穿JIM潛水衣在海床自由漫步。她於1976年首次穿上此特製潛水服,成功下潛380米。

  • 絲維雅・艾爾於2016年下潛至藍色使命希望點──墨西哥的卡波普爾莫(Cabo Pulmo)。

  • 艾爾2015年在馬略卡記者招待會,公佈巴利阿里群島(Balearic Islands)成為最新希望點。

你認為「公民科學」(由業餘人士和非專業科學家進行的研究)有助於「藍色使命」的發展嗎?

當然,事實上這早已發揮作用。他們就像一支軍隊,說成海軍也許會更加貼切。全球數以百萬計的潛水員以大眾鮮少採用的方式探索海洋。不少人放下魚槍,拿起相機,因為他們重視海洋生態,而不再視海洋為捕獵之地。

我們正與專業潛水教練協會(PADI)合作,宣揚保育及關懷海洋的理念,並以具體例子向潛水人士說明為何應保育他們喜愛的潛水勝地,讓這些地方成為「希望點」。而這正是推動「公民科學」的一大實證。任何人都可當科學家。既然兒童、會計師、教師、父母都可以,潛水員當然亦不例外。

你不一定要接受正規科學培訓,才能在對科學有所貢獻。我認為人人皆可享受探索的樂趣。小狗、魷魚、大象都在這樣做,人類一定會做得更好,探索記錄更多知識,將知識永遠傳承。

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

Sylvia EarleAn ocean of hope

Published in August 2016clockTime to read: 2 min 55 s
scroll-down

Marine biologist Sylvia Earle, a Rolex Testimonee since 1982, has been a pioneer of ocean exploration for more than four decades. Her mission has always been to explore, study and protect the planet's oceans. Now, with her initiative Mission Blue, she is igniting public support to safeguard marine Hope Spots.

Earle, photographed by fellow Rolex Testimonee David Doubilet, observing sponge and coral growth on the pilings of a town pier. These man-made structures become artificial reefs that provide increased habitat for marine organisms.

Sylvia Earle is an acclaimed American underwater explorer, marine biologist, aquanaut, lecturer, author and a National Geographic Society Explorer-in-Residence. For four decades, she has been a pioneer of deep ocean exploration and has remained at the forefront of research as a marine explorer. As the founder of the marine technology company Deep Ocean Exploration and Research (DOER), she is also highly committed to developing the equipment that allows her and other scientists to make previously unexplored reaches of the ocean their laboratory.

In 1970, Earle led a team of aquanauts who lived for two weeks in an underwater laboratory as part of a US government research project, Tektite II, to study ocean life and the effects of living underwater on the human body. In 1979, she set the world untethered diving record, descending 381 metres (1,250 feet) beneath the surface of the Pacific Ocean in a pressure-resistant JIM diving suit.

In 2009, Earle won a TED Prize, awarded to an individual with bold vision to spark global change. With TED’s support, she founded Mission Blue, which helps to establish protected areas named Hope Spots around the globe and to preserve the most critical parts of the ocean. The Emmy Award-winning Netflix documentary Mission Blue tells the story of Earle’s career and her goal of protecting Hope Spots.

Why did you become an ocean explorer?

It was never a conscious decision. I think all children start out as explorers, and some of us never stop. I became acquainted with the ocean when I was three years old and a wave knocked me over. The ocean got my attention.

What has held my attention all these years is the life in the ocean. It is a great sensation to dive, to feel weightless and that joy of not knowing what you’re going to see next, but it’s also about knowing that you’re going to see something wonderful every time you put your face in the water. It makes it irresistible. I can’t imagine not being an ocean explorer.

If we were to join you on one of your favourite dives, what would we see?

Well, one of my favourite dives would have to be 50 years ago, because the ocean has changed so much since then, however there are still great places to go.

I was recently diving off Isla del Toro, a small island close to Majorca. It has been protected for some years. There actually were big fish and a big school of barracuda. It just looked like a healthy reef, but around the world we have lost about half the coral reefs, 90 per cent of the big fish and a lot of the little ones too.

When I think of a place I really want to go diving, I just want a time machine to go back to the way it was, or to go forward to the way I hope the world will be through the efforts that people are making to restore health to the ocean.

Sylvia Earle, photographed by David Doubilet during the Elysium Arctic expedition in 2015, where they collaborated with others to explore and document the Arctic.

What kind of major damage have you witnessed that you didn’t see in those early dives?

We’ve killed a lot of fish, really. Every year, close to 100 million tonnes of ocean wildlife are extracted, and you also have to take into account the destruction of the habitats which they come from. A lot is captured and just thrown away.

We used to think the ocean was so big, so resilient that we could not harm it. In a few decades, we have disturbed basic planetary systems; they’re interwoven and we are now realizing what their real value is. Many people still don’t understand that protecting the ocean means that we’re protecting ourselves.

What keeps you hopeful?

There is plenty of reason for hope. It starts with people understanding that we have impacts on the ocean and knowing why it matters. Armed with that insight, actions not only can follow but they are following.

For example, in Palau [an island country in the western Pacific Ocean]: 80 per cent of the entire exclusive economic zone is now a safe haven for wildlife and 20 per cent is managed so that the local population can draw on the ocean for their livelihood. The principal source of income is from tourism, which means not killing the fish, sharks or other creatures, but encouraging safe havens for them. That’s much more beneficial, and sustainable.

I became acquainted with the ocean when I was three years old and a wave knocked me over. The ocean got my attention.

You are one of the lucky few that have actually lived underwater, 10 times, and most recently in 2012. What did you learn from living underwater?

That fish are individuals, like cats, dogs, horses and people. I should have understood it before, but it was catalyzed by spending day and night in one area getting to know individual fish. Every fish has its own face and own personality. It’s one of the miracles of life: the enormous capacity for diversity.

Understanding that took living underwater day and night. We got to recognize individual barracuda. Some were more aggressive and some were more shy. You get to see their behaviour and identify them. Not “an angelfish” but “that angelfish” who hangs out there, comes to the window, looks in and you recognize its face. It was a breakthrough.

You sound as if you haven’t lost what you once called your own childlike curiosity.

I hope not. Growing up is way overrated.

Aerial view of the Balearic Islands on the coast of Majorca, Spain. The islands form the first Hope Spot in the Mediterranean.

Is that childlike curiosity essential for a marine scientist?

That sense of curiosity is what makes us human. It leads to discoveries that we pass along from one generation to the next, wanting our children to have even better opportunities than we have had. Nowadays we are empowered with more insight, knowledge and understanding. Children grow up with a view of Earth from space; it wasn’t there when I was a child.

Yet, we’re just beginning to explore the ocean floor. The history of life on Earth is mostly an ocean history. When you pick up a bucketful of water from the ocean, you can see a cross section of life on Earth. The ocean is really where the action is.

No one person can do everything, but every person can do something. Together, we really can make a difference.

Why do you think the oceans did not get the attention they deserve?

It is getting better, but it’s also getting more urgent because we’re seeing potentially irreversible changes. “Irreversible” means extinction of species. “Irreversible” means that you have passed a point of no return. We’re certainly reaching tipping points with respect to what we’re putting into the sky, into the water and what we’re taking from the land. Of course, we have to use nature – all creatures do – for our existence, but we have been so heavy-handed about it in the past, thinking that nature was infinite. We used the ocean as a dumpsite. Now, we’ve begun to develop not just rules, regulations or laws, but the ethic of caring for nature, which is more powerful than laws.

How is technology helping to make the ocean your laboratory?

We could not get to the moon if it weren’t for technology. We can’t go to the deepest part of the ocean and come back without mastering the systems that make it possible. But as wonderful as our technologies are, we haven’t figured out how to make a tuna fish. We cannot even make a single frog, tree or flower.

The real missing link right now is being able to come up with a glass sphere that will enable us to send people to the full depth of the ocean in a submarine. We’re right on the brink of making it happen. How many people go 7 miles up into the sky in aeroplanes? We need people to be able to go 7 miles into the ocean to see what happens when deep-sea mining takes place. People need to see it to evaluate it.

In a life full of achievements, which is your most fulfilling?

It’s out there somewhere around the corner or over the next hill. It’s much more interesting to look forward than back.

What is your aim, specifically, with Mission Blue and the Hope Spots?

The idea for Mission Blue is for further exploration, so that we can know better. That requires technology, to explore and define the nature of what’s there, to share the view as widely as possible, not just with scientists but with the public at large. And it requires inspiring people to take action and say, “this part of the ocean, I care about. I want to make it a Hope Spot and I am willing to make a pledge to those I can inspire with me to take care of the place.”
That’s a Hope Spot. It can be a place that is in good condition or one that has been damaged over time but, with care, can be restored.

Can you give us some examples within Mission Blue of areas that you are most concerned about?

The Galapagos is one example of a Hope Spot. This international treasure is in trouble, but with care, it can at least be improved.
Chesapeake Bay (USA): oh my goodness. Imagine the way it was 400 years ago, compared to what it is today. It’s in Washington DC’s backyard, and it has been trashed.

Photographed by David Doubilet alongside the Deep Rover submersible, which she piloted to a depth of 335 metres in Bahamian waters.

Cashes Ledge, a little place off the coast of Maine, has been protected now for about 15 years. No fishing has been allowed. It’s one of the few places where you can find big cod because it’s a safe haven.

Being called a Hope Spot doesn’t mean that it’s protected. In 2015, we finally got to the point where the United Nations did move towards implementing agreements so that protection for the high seas could actually take place. Up until now, it has been the Wild West.

Find what you love. Never lose sight of keeping a strong passion in your life for something you really care about.

For the general public, it can all seem very overwhelming and you can easily feel powerless when it comes to helping conserve the oceans. What is the best way for an individual to contribute?

Well, I sympathize because I’m just one person too and I struggle. I think it comes down to realizing that no one person can do everything, but every person can do something. Together, we really can make a difference. One of the greatest dangers for the future of the planet is inertia: people who have power and then fail to use it, or misuse it.

The answer is deceptively simple: all of us doing the right thing, little by little. One action times a thousand, times a billion and you’ve got change – or lack of change if everybody is so overwhelmed with the prospect of “I’m just one person,” and you just do nothing. It’s a choice.

What is the best piece of advice someone has given you?

I suppose it’s the advice that I find myself giving to others. Find what you love. Never lose sight of keeping a strong passion in your life for something you really care about. For me, being a scientist is what I always wanted to be, and it’s what I am. I was blessed to be able to do that. Fortunately, my parents allowed me to do what I loved. That’s what I encourage everyone to do.

I know for some it seems overwhelming, but I try to tell kids, “don’t worry if you haven’t found that special thing. Just give it some time. Maybe you’re going to be a generalist and that’s okay. That’s your special thing. You like to do all kinds of things? Terrific. Go for it!”

  • Sylvia Earle walks untethered on the sea floor in a JIM suit. She first donned this special diving suit in 1976, reaching a depth of 380 metres.

  • Sylvia Earle diving in 2016 at Cabo Pulmo, Mexico, a Mission Blue Hope Spot.

  • Earle in 2015 at a press conference in Majorca to announce the new Hope Spot in the Balearic Islands.

Do you think citizen science (research conducted by amateur or non-professional scientists) can be harnessed to help Mission Blue?

Absolutely, it is being harnessed already. I could say an army, but it’s more likely to be a navy; millions of divers around the world have come to see the ocean in ways that most people don’t. Many have thrown away their spear guns and picked up cameras as they have come to value the living ocean as more than just a place to catch things.

We’re working with the Professional Association of Diving Instructors (PADI), to instil the ethic of conservation and caring, and to build a case for why their beloved dive site should be protected as a Hope Spot. That’s a concrete example of energizing citizen science. Anyone can do what a scientist does. Kids can do this. Accountants can do it, teachers can do it, mums and dads can do it, and divers certainly can do it.

You don’t have to be a formally trained scientist to accomplish meaningful science. I think everyone should embrace the love of exploration. Puppies do it, squids do it and elephants do it, but people, perhaps, do it best of all: explore, remember and pass information along.

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page