熱愛建築

clock閱讀需時: 1 min 40 s
scroll-down

每當勞力士興建或擴建總部和生產設施時,都會像設計珍貴的精密時計般,講究美學和細節。

撰文:米歇爾・尼米錫(Michel Nemec)

1961年,勞力士落實規模宏大的建築計劃,在瑞士日內瓦興建多座全新大樓,用作品牌的行政總部和製錶廠房。自品牌成立以來,勞力士一直走在創新的前沿,而建築正好讓品牌展現其對現代感的熱切追求。

勞力士與建築公司Addor, Julliard & Bolliger合作,在日內瓦普拉利-阿加西亞(Praille-Acacias)工業區興建雙子大樓。這次計劃以獨特的當代手法重新詮釋工廠的概念,在同一地方匯集腕錶及相關產品的製造、市場營銷、售後服務及分銷等一連串的商業活動。這座建築融合辦公室和生產工場於同一空間,形成一個精密且自主的整體。此雙座大樓的結構以金屬和玻璃為主,具體呈現品牌所重視的概念,例如精密細節、精心組裝及卓越技術。勞力士的新總部不久便成為日內瓦現代建築的標記。

規模宏偉

踏入21世紀,勞力士以空前規模重新部署其工業活動。在日內瓦東部的新廠房落成後,品牌隨即委託日內瓦建築公司Brodbeck-Roulet和土木工程公司Guscetti & Tournier SA(現稱Ingeni SA),著手籌備另外兩個大型建築項目。

勞力士較其他顧客更加注重建築細節。加比里爾・古斯蒂(Gabriele Guscetti),Ingeni SA公司

位於普拉利-阿加西亞的勞力士全球總部原址,被改造成一座壯觀的行政和工業綜合大樓,洋溢大都會的氣息。擴建數層的新製錶廠房不僅規模空前,更保留了原建築的現代優雅。炭灰色玻璃幕牆勾勒出勞力士新總部的輪廓,雙子大樓則以品牌標誌的綠色作為玻璃幕牆的主調。

隨後,勞力士再在日內瓦西南部興建第二座大型工業綜合大樓,可見其發展步伐緊湊踏實。新大樓共有11層,其中五層位於地下,實用面積達13萬平方米。興建大樓的技術和建築特色與阿加西亞(Acacias)的大樓如出一轍,例如:充份利用建築結構的每分每寸,組成多用途空間;藉由自動系統善用自然光,按特定需要調節照明模式;以極精確的組合系統,預製結構和外牆組件,並選用玻璃幕牆以及自動和電腦化的內部物流系統。

全球總部,1995年。

不斷變化

位於市內的勞力士總部,由最初的數座大樓發展成今天規模龐大的建築群,充份體現當代城市提倡的集中概念,大型結構只是其中一項特色。在密度和用途方面,這些建築讓人聯想到主要的商業、體育、文化和流動基建設施。品牌及此項目的建築師和工程師更要求這些大型建築內的空間可靈活作不同用途。這些靈活的多用途設計,全靠高性能的技術基礎設施得以實行,有利應對不斷變化的經濟和技術情況。

勞力士大樓體現了20世紀現代大都市盛行的當代建築原則。工業的程序及其理性本質在發展建築和美學革新起著關鍵作用。

然而,當下的現代建築模式都好像欠缺了前瞻視野,不少工程都為了建築成就而讓步,只著重運用當代工程的高超技術或是應用前所未聞的物料。創新技術使建築以不同的矚目設計示人,這股風氣現今非常盛行。建築的內在美變得不再重要,取而代之的是獨一無二的形狀或是別具一格的外觀。

然而這些不是勞力士的風格。在日內瓦大樓中,品牌著重的是實際功能,並就此充份利用創新技術。這樣,現代建築的傳統得以保留下來,而創新技術帶來的功用和效能則有助給予信心和舒適。要維持高精確產品的品質,效能是先決條件,而勞力士在這方面的周詳考慮,正是其成功的不二法門。

獨特與理性

Ingeni SA公司的項目經理及工程師加比里爾・古斯蒂(Gabriele Guscetti),負責勞力士在日內瓦阿加西亞和普朗萊烏特區的新建築,為勞力士的建築風格作出完美總結:

勞力士較其他顧客更加注重細節,深入了解每項技術對整體建築的成效。就如腕錶一樣,每個元素都不可或缺,秉持一絲不苟的精神,小小的防水密封圈也不例外。每個建築部分、零件和整體都是同等重要……勞力士的建築項目均獨一無二,並按照品牌的各種要求,以嶄新方式應用現有的先進技術。這些原創的建築方式都建基於客觀理由,絕非嘩眾取寵或賣弄奢華之舉。勞力士的建築結構展現出理性的一面,而且能夠靈活應對不同變化。對員工而言,這些建築必須發揮出高效能,而且令人舒適自在。」

勞力士將技術與功能、表現及人體工程學相互融合,這種建築精神正好體現品牌的製錶原則。

我們的創辦精神

恒動精神

探索

分享此頁面

A passion for architecture

clockTime to read: 1 min 40 s
scroll-down

When Rolex constructs or expands its headquarters and production facilities, it brings the same attention to aesthetics and detail as it gives to designing one of its prized chronometers.

By Michel Nemec

In 1961 Rolex launched an ambitious plan for a series of new buildings to house the brand’s administrative headquarters and watchmaking workshops in Geneva, Switzerland. The watch-manufacturing company has been at the forefront of innovation since it was founded, and architecture provided the ideal medium to display its passion for modernity.

With the architectural firm of Addor, Julliard & Bolliger, Rolex made its mark on Geneva by erecting twin towers on columns in the industrial area of Praille-Acacias. In a unique contemporary reinterpretation of the concept of a factory, a whole series of activities – ranging from the manufacture of watches and related products to marketing, after-sales service and distribution – were clustered in one place. Mingling offices and manufacturing workshops in the same spatial unit, the buildings formed a complete entity, which was both complex and autonomous. The two-tower, metal-and-glass structure was a tangible expression of concepts dear to the brand, such as precision in detail, care in assembly and technical excellence. Rolex’s new headquarters quickly became an icon of modern architecture in Geneva.

Monumental Scale

In the early 2000s, Rolex embarked on industrial redeployment on an unprecedented scale. After the construction of a new production unit in Geneva’s eastern region, the brand started two more building projects of monumental proportions, entrusting them to the Geneva firm of Brodbeck-Roulet, architects, in association with the civil engineering company Guscetti & Tournier SA (now known as Ingeni SA).

Rolex is the client that devotes most attention to what it builds.Gabriele Guscetti, Ingeni SA

The site of Rolex world headquarters in the Praille-Acacias area was transformed into an imposing administrative and industrial complex with a metropolitan downtown feel. The transformation combined the modern elegance of the original towers, now several storeys higher, with the monumental proportions of new watchmaking workshops. Glass façades in anthracite grey shaped the contours of the new Rolex headquarters, the twin towers emerging with a second façade in glass coloured green, the brand’s emblematic colour.

Rolex went on to build a second large-scale industrial complex in the south-west of Geneva. This compact, solid new development provided 130,000 square metres of usable area on 11 levels, five of them below ground. Its technical and architectural attributes remained identical to those of the Acacias site: spatial versatility, thanks to the optimized dimensions of the supporting structure; lighting conditions adjusted to suit particular needs through the automatic control of natural light; prefabricated structural elements and façades with extremely precise modular systems; glass panels for façades; and automatic, computerized internal logistics.

World Headquarters, 1995.

Constant Change

From mere buildings, Rolex’s industrial complexes in the city had now grown to the size of mega-blocks, keeping pace with the general trend towards concentration of contemporary urban society, of which outsize architecture is merely a reflection. In their density and compactness, they are reminiscent of major commercial, sports, cultural and mobility infrastructure. But their dimensions also meet the criterion of versatility, laid down as a condition by the client and often highlighted by the architects and engineers responsible for the project. This versatility is in keeping with the flexibility required to cope with the constant changes in economic and technological conditions, and which relies completely on the presence of high-performance technical infrastructure.

The Rolex buildings are a contemporary expression of architectural principles that prevailed throughout the 20th century in modern metropolises. Industrial processes and their rational nature were granted a decisive role in the development of architecture and the renewal of aesthetic codes.

Nowadays, however, the rigour of modern architecture seems to have lost something of its progress-heralding aura. It has given way to architectural feats made possible by the prowess of contemporary engineering and by materials capable of unheard-of applications. The “surprising” forms made possible by technological innovation are now widespread to the point of becoming commonplace. The beauty of truth in building is thus being replaced by the pleasure and prestige delivered by a “one-off” shape or exclusive packaging.

But this is not the attitude adopted by Rolex. In its buildings in Geneva the brand has opted for technological innovation deployed in the interests of functionality. So the legacy of modern architecture still seems relevant, while the technical and functional efficiency resulting from the use of innovative technology provides confidence and comfort. And if a high-precision product’s efficiency is a precondition for its quality, then, at Rolex, discretion about how that is achieved appears to be the rule.

Unique but Rational

Gabriele Guscetti of Ingeni SA, the project manager and engineer for Rolex’s new buildings in Geneva’s Acacias and Plan-les-Ouates areas, sums up Rolex’s architectural approach perfectly:

“Rolex is the client that devotes most attention to what it builds, to each of the techniques used for the benefit of the architecture. As in a watch, each element counts and deserves the fullest attention, right down to a small waterproofing seal. Each component of a building counts just as much as the sum of its parts, just as much as the whole construction… The brand’s buildings are unique projects, which generate new applications of often existing advanced techniques adapted to Rolex’s needs. These applications are original, but they are always based on an objective raison d’être: there’s never any dramatizing, no quest for extravagance. The architecture of Rolex buildings is, above all, rational, and the flexibility to deal with change is an absolute given. These buildings must be a high-performance tool for the people working in them, who must also feel good there.”

Technology harnessed in the interests of functionality, performance and ergonomics: the spirit with which Rolex imbues its architectural achievements is a clear reflection of the spirit that guides its approach to its watches.

Our Founding Spirit

Perpetual

Discover

Share this page