安德魯・巴斯塔勞斯為非洲發展眼科醫療服務

發布日期: 2016年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

全球視障人口多達2.85億,當中大部份患者均居住在低收入國家,身處區域只提供少量診症及醫療服務。英國眼科醫生安德魯・巴斯塔勞斯(Andrew Bastawrous)以智能手機為基礎,研發出手提式檢驗系統,改革撒哈拉以南非洲地區的眼科保健服務。

地點肯尼亞

眼科醫生安德魯・巴斯塔勞斯於2011年毅然辭去英國國民健康服務(National Health Service)的職務,並移居肯尼亞。當他在偏遠地區為逾5,000人檢驗視力時,了解到眼疾在此國家相當普遍,而且眼科專家甚少,令人民未能接受適切檢查。因此,他決定要創立一種收費低廉的眼科檢驗系統。

這裏有眾多眼疾患者,卻只有少量眼科醫療服務,由此可見醫療資源分配極為缺乏。

雖然他到訪過的大部份村落均沒有電力甚至道路覆蓋,但它們仍處於手機網絡範圍內。因此,這便啟發巴斯塔勞斯構思以手機裝置取代高科技儀器,他與團隊其後以智能手機為基礎,研發出手提式眼睛檢查系統(Portable Eye Examination Kit ,Peek),讓一眾非醫護人員能協助進行眼科檢查。於試驗期間,25名教師受訓使用「Peek」,只需九天便能成功檢查逾20,000名學生。

「Peek」或將納入肯尼亞的國家發展計劃,此系統亦惠及博茨瓦納、印度及坦桑尼亞。勞力士大獎讓巴斯塔勞斯拓展其項目,並在肯尼亞的基塔萊(Kitale)建立卓越中心,以便開展「Peek」培訓研習。

  • 2.85億人

    全球視障人口

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Andrew Bastawrous

Vision for Africa

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Most of the world’s 285 million visually impaired people live in low-income countries, often in areas where there is little access to diagnosis or treatment. British ophthalmologist Andrew Bastawrous is radically changing eye care in sub-Saharan Africa with a portable examination system based on smartphones.

locationKenya

Ophthalmologist Andrew Bastawrous left his job with the National Health Service in the United Kingdom and moved to Kenya in 2011. While testing the sight of more than 5,000 people in remote areas, he realized a cheap method was needed in a country where vision problems were rife, eye-care specialists scarce and access to diagnostic services limited.

A huge imbalance exists between those who need eye care and those who have it available to them.

Most villages he visited had no electricity and often no roads, but they did have mobile phone coverage. This prompted the idea to replace high-tech testing equipment with mobile devices. Bastawrous and his team subsequently developed the smartphone-based Portable Eye Examination Kit (Peek), enabling non-healthcare workers to perform vision tests. In a trial, 25 schoolteachers were trained to use Peek and more than 20,000 students screened in nine days.

Peek may soon become a national programme in Kenya, and the system is being used also in Botswana, India and Tanzania. His Rolex Award will enable Bastawrous to scale up his project and help establish a centre of excellence and training for Peek in Kitale, Kenya.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page