嫦达・施洛芙一针一线

发布日期: 2006年clock阅读需时: 0min 57s
scroll-down

在印度古吉拉特邦(Gujarat)的喀奇县(Kutch),地势崎岖不平,当地超过22,000名妇女的生活因嫦达・施洛芙(Chanda Shroff)而得到改变。她将工艺精湛的传统手工刺绣重新发扬光大,为当地妇女带来稳定收入。

地点印度

喀奇县的妇女在星空下的沙漠流浪,她们身穿艳丽刺绣,默然面对艰苦生活。刺绣传统可追溯至数千年前,但当嫦达・施洛芙于1969年到访这个旱灾地区,她发现不少居民被迫出售祖传织物,而他们的家族故事亦因此而逐步湮灭。有见及此,施洛芙成立了名为Shrujan的非政府组织,协助当地家庭创作新刺绣,并赚取收入以解燃眉之急。时至今天,施洛芙的项目已成为国内最成功的社会企业模范之一。

喀奇县居民,尤其是妇女面对的困境,令我大为震惊。

她创办的Design Centre on Wheels展出一系列来自偏远村庄的刺绣板,并通过宣传提高销售额,最终让一众女工匠增加收入。由Shrujan赞助的生活及学习设计中心(Living and Learning Design Centre)在2016年1月启用,这里集纺织博物馆和工艺培训中心于一身,除了施洛芙外,她的儿女亦有参与其中,由年轻一代接手保育这16种独特的刺绣设计。嫦达・施洛芙于2016年8月与世长辞,但今后,中心将继续扩展至区外,为工艺爱好者提供一站式服务,并设立工艺学校及工作室,让喀奇县的22种工艺传统得以延续下去。

  • 22,000人

    受惠于Shrujan工作的女性数目,
    分别来自120条村庄

  • 3,000至3,500人

    每年与Shrujan机构合作的女工匠数目

  • 1,200块

    本计划第一阶段的手工刺绣展板数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

close

Chanda ShroffStitches in time

Published in 2006clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

More than 22,000 women in India’s rugged Kutch region in the state of Gujarat have seen their lives transformed thanks to Chanda Shroff who revived the exquisite traditional hand embroidery to create a sustainable income for local women.

locationIndia

Living under the stars and roaming the desert, the Kutchi women countered the harshness of their lives with vibrantly coloured embroidery. The tradition dates back several thousand years, but when Chanda Shroff visited the drought-stricken region in 1969, she found families who had been forced to sell their heirloom textiles, effectively selling the story of their lives. Shroff formed an NGO, Shrujan, to help families create new embroideries and earn much needed income. Today, Shroff’s project is regarded as one of the most successful models of social entrepreneurship in her country.

I was deeply shaken by the plight of the Kutchi people and especially the women.

Her Design Centre on Wheels showcased a collection of embroidery panels in remote villages, with the increased publicity from the outreach generating higher sales and, ultimately, increased income for the craftswomen. More recently, in January 2016, the Shrujan-sponsored Living and Learning Design Centre, a textile museum and craft training centre, opened, involving Shroff, as well as her son and daughter, who represent the younger generation carrying on her work to save the 16 distinctive styles of embroidery. Chanda Shroff died in August 2016, but in the future, the centre will extend beyond the region and provide a one-stop destination for craft-lovers and a crafts school equipped with working studios for all 22 of Kutch’s crafts.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page