佐藤戈登惠泽万民的曼贊納紅樹林

发布日期: 2002年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

佐藤戈登(Gordon Sato)运用海水灌溉的创新方法,帮助厄立特里亚(Eritrea)沿海的贫困村落建立自给自足的经济基础。

地点厄立特里亚

2017年3月31日逝世的著名美国生物学家佐藤戈登,于退休后致力扶助厄立特里亚人,希望令他们有能力改善生活素质。他的不懈努力成功让沿海贫困社区发展出低技术要求、可持续的农业经济,当地居民现在可培植以往未曾在当地种植的红树林。

他们研发的简单方法可应用于世界各地的沙漠地区,让索马里等国家不再受饥荒煎熬。

1985年,由于看到关于饥荒的报道,佐藤戈登首次踏足其时正争取脱离埃塞俄比亚独立的厄立特里亚地区,并推行名为曼赞纳(Manzanar)的鱼类养殖计划,“曼赞纳”这名字的由来是基于他的美日家庭于二次世界大战时的经历。

佐藤戈登经常到访当地,自1992年退休后每年更会在当地逗留长达半年。这是全球最贫瘠、干旱的地区之一,他的曼赞纳计划运用海岸地区最丰富的天然资源——阳光及海水培植红树林,令贫瘠之地成为适合饲养动物及鱼类栖息的地区。这行之有效的非营利性计划,成功在沿海地区培植出近一百万棵的红树。

帮助厄立特里亚人民的无比毅力,让佐藤戈登于2002年获得劳力士大奖,其时他以74岁之龄成为最年长的获奖人。曼赞纳计划现在已推展至毛里塔尼亚(Mauritania)。佐藤戈登曾撰写超过150篇研究论文,并于2005年获颁蓝色星球奖(Blue Planet Prize)。

  • 60,000棵

    于2001年因曼赞纳计划而种植的红树树苗数目

  • 2,000人

    运用曼赞纳计划所产生饲料畜养动物而果腹之人数

  • 15%

    厄立特里亚沿海地区自然生长红树林的比率

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close

Gordon SatoThe life-saving mangroves of Manzanar

Published in 2002clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Gordon Sato’s radical method of using seawater for irrigation has helped the poor villages of coastal Eritrea develop a self-sufficient economy.

locationEritrea

Eminent American biologist Gordon Sato, who died on 31 March 2017, spent his retirement helping the people of Eritrea to help themselves. His unswerving commitment led to a low-tech, sustainable agricultural economy for impoverished coastal communities, who can now plant mangroves where they have never grown before.

The simple methods they have developed can be applied to desert areas worldwide so countries such as Somalia need never suffer famine again.

Prompted by reports of a famine, Sato first went to the country, then struggling to break away from Ethiopia, in 1985 and set up a fish-farming operation named Manzanar after his Japanese-American family’s Second World War experiences.

Sato returned frequently, and after retiring in 1992 chose to spend half of every year there. In one of the poorest, driest places on earth, his Manzanar Project harnesses the coast’s most abundant resources – sunlight and seawater – to grow mangroves in otherwise barren areas to feed animals and provide a habitat for fish. An impressive non-profit initiative, today there are more than 1 million mangrove trees along the coast.

The determination to help the Eritreans led to a Rolex Award in 2002 for Sato, then 74 and the oldest person to receive one. Manzanar is now expanding into Mauritania. Author of 150-plus papers, Sato received the Blue Planet Prize in 2005.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page