凱思婷・福斯貝汪洋中的溫馴巨獸

發布日期: 2016年clock閱讀需時: 55s
scroll-down

凱思婷・福斯貝(Kerstin Forsberg )努力保育巨型魔鬼魚(manta ray)免受威脅,並與當地團體合作,提高民眾對這些溫馴巨獸的保育意識及關注,同時協助漁民藉生態旅遊另覓生計。

地點秘魯

懾人非凡的巨型魔鬼魚翼展達七米,獲以利馬(Lima)為保育基地的生物學家凱思婷・福斯貝形容為「非常雄偉」。她決意捍衛這種迷人的易危物種,為牠們的未來出一分力。

在她的家鄉秘魯,過度捕魚令魔鬼魚的數量急劇下降,牠們的緩慢繁殖過程讓問題更趨嚴重。世界各地的民眾為一嘗其鰓及肉而捕捉巨型魔鬼魚,因而令牠們被國際自然保護聯盟(IUCN)鑑別為具瀕危風險的物種。

巨型魔鬼魚處於瀕危邊緣,牠們棲息的海洋環境亦受嚴峻威脅。我們必須鼓勵更多民眾投入保育工作,然而前路仍然漫長。

福斯貝表示:「牠們是所有易危海洋物種的代表。」她的組織Planeta Océano與漁民、學校、社區及政府合作,改變群眾對魔鬼魚的觀念,從而讓他們了解到其生態及旅遊價值。2015年,一則秘魯漁民捕獲巨型魔鬼魚的消息登上國際頭條,為福斯貝就這些動物提出法律保障的計劃帶來公眾支持。藉群眾力量,福斯貝成功令當地政府立例禁止捕捉魔鬼魚。

勞力士大獎讓福斯貝的項目能鼓勵更多漁民參與,並實踐由當地居民推動的生態監控。長遠而言,她希望項目能成為全球可持續發展社區性計劃的參考模範。

  • 50間

    參與Planeta Océano教育推廣項目的北秘魯學校數目

  • 1條

    巨型魔鬼魚每兩至七年產下的幼兒數目

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Kerstin ForsbergGentle giant of the ocean

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 55s
scroll-down

Kerstin Forsberg is protecting threatened giant manta rays by working with local communities to promote awareness and appreciation of these gentle giants and to assist fishermen find alternative income through ecotourism.

locationPeru

With their seven-metre wingspan, giant manta rays are a captivating sight. “They are just majestic,” says Lima-based conservation biologist Kerstin Forsberg, who has made it her mission to safeguard the future of this charismatic but vulnerable species.

In her native Peru, overfishing was putting manta numbers under severe pressure, especially as they are extremely slow to reproduce. Caught across the world for their gills and meat, giant mantas are classified as having an elevated risk of extinction by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Giant mantas are extremely vulnerable and, in particular, marine environments are severely threatened. We need to engage more people in conserving them. There is a lot of work to do.

“They’re marvellous flagships for all vulnerable marine species,” says Forsberg, whose Planeta Océano organization has worked with fishermen, schools, communities and the government to change perceptions of mantas, not just their ecological importance but also their value as tourist attractions. In 2015, a massive manta caught by Peruvian fishermen made international headlines and brought public support for Forsberg’s call to create legal protections for these animals. Building on this momentum, Forsberg’s persistence led to a government ban on captures.

While her Rolex Award will enable Forsberg to involve more fishermen in the project, and create locally driven ecological monitoring, her long-term aim is to develop a model for sustainable community-based initiatives worldwide.

  • 50

    Schools in northern Peru participating in the Planeta Océano educational outreach programme.

  • 1

    Number of pups produced by giant mantas every two to seven years.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page