瑪利亞・伊麗莎・曼特卡・奧尼亞蒂自然力量

發布日期: 2000年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

近三十年來,瑪利亞・伊麗莎・曼特卡・奧尼亞蒂(Maria Eliza Manteca Oñate)竭力修補厄瓜多爾安第斯山脈(Ecuadorian Andes)的環境破壞,游說農民以不傷土壤的方式耕作謀生。

地點厄瓜多爾

瑪利亞・伊麗莎・曼特卡・奧尼亞蒂喜見成果。她憑一己之力,為心愛的厄瓜多爾帶來轉機,成功糾正數十年來的農業管理不善問題。她創立的格隆德利納斯基金會(Golondrinas Foundation)推出多項措施,現更獲政府的綜合農場(granjas integradas)政策支持。

我為自己訂下目標,將賺取的金錢回饋村莊,並與當地居民合作,設法改善經濟狀況。

逾90%的厄瓜多爾原始森林因破壞性耕作方式和過度木材開採而被摧毀,這對環境和人類皆造成嚴重影響。本為護士的曼特卡於1991年在其家鄉村莊附近建立自然保護區,決心保護殘存的森林並提高人民的生活水平,這個保護區在後來成為格隆德利納斯基金會。1998年,她利用自己在基多(Quito)開設旅舍的收入,成立了名為Peña Negra的模範農場,讓大人小童一同學習土地保護和謀生方式,這些保育工作更為曼特卡帶來勞力士雄才偉略大獎。

她的努力取得顯著成效。其計劃的核心農場經全面造林後,現已長有55種植物,農民也相繼採用基金會推動的永續農業和其他技術。第二個農場設於聖羅莎(Santa Rosa)附近,主要種植咖啡樹。曼特卡歡迎學生參與,並支持雲霧森林的藥用植物研究工作。她亦計劃開設新旅舍,為項目換取更多收益。

  • 1,400公頃

    格隆德利納斯保護區的面積,此處現為受保護森林,曼特卡計劃將範圍擴展至25,000公頃

  • 1,350米

    座落於聖羅莎、第二個示範農場位處的海拔高度

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Maria E. Manteca OñateA force of nature

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

For nearly 30 years, Maria Eliza Manteca Oñate has worked tirelessly to reverse environmental damage in the Ecuadorian Andes, persuading farmers it is possible to live off the land without damaging the soil.

locationEcuador

Maria Eliza Manteca Oñate has reason to be happy. Her one-woman crusade to reverse decades of agricultural mismanagement is making its mark on her beloved Ecuador. Methods developed by her Golondrinas Foundation now have government support under a policy known as granjas integradas, or integrated farms.

I set myself the target of finding a way to earn money so that I could return to my village to work with the local people and find ways of improving their economic condition.

Destructive farming practices and the over-exploitation of timber have destroyed more than 90 per cent of Ecuador’s native forest, with catastrophic effects on the environment and people. Determined to protect the remaining forest, and improve living standards, in 1991 the former nurse established a nature reserve near her home village, which became the Golondrinas Foundation. In 1998 using income from her hostel in Quito, she set up a model farm, Peña Negra, where adults and children learn to protect and live off the land, conservation efforts that earned Manteca a Rolex award.

These efforts have paid dividends. Completely reforested, the farm, core of the project, is now home to 55 plant species and farmers are applying permaculture and other techniques introduced by the foundation. A second farm is being developed at nearby Santa Rosa, focusing on coffee plants. Students are always welcome, with Manteca encouraging research into medicinal plants in the cloud forest. There are also plans for another hostel to generate further income.

  • 1,400

    Size in hectares of the Golondrinas Reserve, now a protected forest, which Manteca plans to expand to 25,000 hectares

  • 1,350 m

    Altitude of the second model farm, Santa Rosa

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page