米歇爾・泰拉斯兀鷲保育典範

發布日期: 1984年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

二十世紀中期,二百萬年來一直棲息於歐洲山脈地區的兀鷲瀕臨絕種。米歇爾・泰拉斯(Michel Terrasse)一生致力於扭轉這種雀鳥的命運。

地點法國

西域兀鷲(griffon vulture)自逾60年前出現在法國南部的塞文山(Cévennes)後便從此絕跡。其近親歐洲黑兀鷲更於一世紀前由法國遷徙。人類對兀鷲的懼怕與無知,讓牠們成為獵人刻意獵殺的目標。三十五年來,米歇爾・泰拉斯嘗試改變這種狀況,讓這些令人為之着迷的猛禽可回歸棲息地自然生活。現在,有近2,000隻不同品種的兀鷲於塞文山出沒。泰拉斯的領導能力成功啟發他人,在歐洲各地的繁殖的禿鷹恢復至大約30,000對。

我熱衷於保護在自然棲息地生活的動物,其中以猛禽尤甚。

兀鷲現在受法律保護,訪客及當地居民亦對兀鷲感興致。憑藉泰拉斯等環保人士的敏銳觸覺及堅定決心,讓兀鷲成為塞文山脈國家公園(Cévennes National Park)以及大考斯地區自然公園(Grands Causses Regional Natural Park)的著名觀光特色。

泰拉斯與志同道合者讓兀鷲回歸自然棲息地的方式獲全球參考。

  • 約30,000對

    在全歐洲的繁殖的兀鷲數量

  • 25,000至30,000名

    每年到訪兀鷲中心(Vulture Centre)及塞文山觀景台的遊客數目

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close

Michel TerrasseA vulture template

Published in 1984clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

In the mid-20th century, vultures faced extinction in Europe’s mountainous regions, their natural habitat for two million years. Michel Terrasse has spent much of his life working to reverse the birds’ destiny.

locationFrance

The last griffon vulture disappeared from the Cévennes in the south of France over 60 years ago. Its cousin, the European black vulture, had deserted France a century earlier. A mixture of fear and ignorance had made these unjustly maligned birds a target for hunters. Attempting to repair the past, Michel Terrasse has been working for 35 years to return these magnificent birds of prey to their natural habitat. Their future now looks bright and 2,000 vultures of various species visit the Cévennes. Terrasse’s leadership has inspired others, resulting in recovery of the griffon vulture’s Europe-wide breeding population to around 30,000 pairs.

I can’t help getting involved. I am simply obsessed with preserving animals in their natural habitat, and birds of prey above all.

Vultures are now protected by law and a subject of enthusiastic interest for visitors and local residents. It took the sensitivity and perseverance of environmentalists such as Terrasse to make vultures the leading tourist attraction in a region straddling the Cévennes National Park and the Grands Causses Regional Natural Park.

The methods of Terrasse and his associates are used as a template worldwide for returning vultures to their natural habitats.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page