琵萊・潘絲華犀鳥之母

發布日期: 2006年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

犀鳥(hornbill)肩負起散佈種子的重任,可說是亞洲和非洲熱帶雨林中最尊貴的鳥類。一名獲譽為「犀鳥之母」的泰國微生物學家,運用巧妙策略來拯救犀鳥及其棲息地。

地點泰國

翼展寬長、喙嘴巨大、羽色矚目的犀鳥,因人類活動而在泰國的棲息地逐漸消失,其中一種將近滅絕,另外五種在瀕危邊緣徘徊,還有四種屬近危,以及三種處於易危狀況。

大自然為人類帶來保護和支援,我們必須學習與自然和諧共處。

曼谷瑪希敦大學(Mahidol University)微生物學的退休教授琵萊・潘絲華(Pilai Poonswad),在過去數十年一直善用公餘時間,走進泰國森林保護犀鳥免受偷獵者和伐木者的侵害。她採取了一系列的措施,包括寫書、游說政府、在國際會議發表演講,甚至發起市區家庭「認領」犀鳥巢的計劃,以資助她的工作。她還鼓勵偷獵者運用本身的森林知識,充當看守者和生態導遊,搖身一變成為大自然的監護人。潘絲華堪為亞洲犀鳥的世界權威,她現把焦點放於年輕一代身上,而這亦是長期保護犀鳥的關鍵。此外,她為同樣擁有犀鳥棲息領地的馬來西亞、不丹及中國政府擔任顧問,並在印度協助推動類似計劃。

  • 13種

    泰國的犀鳥品種,全亞洲共有32 種

  • 70%

    已消失的泰國森林比率

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Pilai Poonswad

Great mother of the hornbills

Published in 2006clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Hornbills are perhaps the most regal birds found in Asia and Africa’s tropical forests, where they play a vital role by spreading seeds. A Thai microbiologist is popularly known the “Great Mother of Hornbills” for her ingenious strategies to save them and their habitats.

locationThailand

Gifted with wide wingspans and distinctive large beaks, and feathered in striking colours, hornbills are disappearing from their habitats in Thailand – one species may be almost extinct, five are endangered, four are near-threatened and three are vulnerable – because of human activity.

We all need to learn how to be human beings in tune with the nature that protects and supports us.

For decades Pilai Poonswad, now retired from her job as microbiology professor at Mahidol University, Bangkok, has spent her spare time protecting hornbills from poachers and loggers in the Thai forests. Her methods have ranged from writing books, lobbying governments and speaking at conferences worldwide, to a plan for city families to “adopt” hornbill nests to fund her work. She has also converted poachers into guardians by encouraging them to use their knowledge of the forest to become gamekeepers and eco-tour guides. Arguably the world authority on Asian hornbills, Poonswad is now focusing on the younger generation, which is the key to long-term hornbill conservation. She is a consultant to the governments of Malaysia, Bhutan and China, which have territory with hornbill habitats, and has helped develop a sister programme in India.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page