罗德尼・杰克逊保卫雪豹

发布日期: 1981年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

野生动物学家罗德尼・杰克逊(Rodney Jackson)在偏远的尼泊尔西部发起大型运动,追踪行径飘忽的雪豹,并集合全球不同团体的力量,保护这种濒临灭绝的猫科动物。

地点尼泊尔

要制定保护濒危雪豹的策略,罗德尼・杰克逊深明必须先透彻了解它们的行踪、活动范围、捕食习惯、狩猎行为及群体组织。问题是这种神秘的夜行动物往往在人迹罕至的地方栖息,获取上述资讯存有一定难度。

我们的雪豹保育工作引证只要通过精心策划和团队合作,抱持坚毅精神,并愿意适应崎岖偏僻的地势和本土文化,一切与物流、物理、政治相关的难题均可迎刃而解。

为此,杰克逊决定捕获五只雪豹并在它们身上装设无线电颈圈,再将雪豹放归野外以追踪它们的行径。杰克逊与伙伴达拉・休莱(Darla Hillard)等人组成团队,当中休莱曾于其著作Vanishing Tracks – Four Years Among the Snow Leopards of Nepal内叙述队员在冒险之旅中面对的极端气候、单调膳食、崎岖地形、偏僻环境以及雪豹的孤僻习性。此实地研究于1981年展开,由劳力士雄才伟略大奖和国家地理学会(National Geographic Society)赞助,让杰克逊对雪豹的生活和行为有更全面的认知。

杰克逊曾撰写40多篇科学论文,探讨雪豹保育议题、人类与野生动物的冲突以及繁多物种的生态系统管理。他是雪豹保护协会(Snow Leopard Conservancy)的总监,通过与国际自然保护联盟(IUCN)等重要国际组织合作,积极推动区域性和全球性保育计划。杰克逊亦实践社区为本的管理项目,包括电子阻吓试验。这有助阻拦雪豹和狼猎杀羊群或其他家畜,从而减少由此引起牧民的报复猎杀行为。

  • 12个

    雪豹出没的国家数目

  • 1972年

    首次拍摄到雪豹的年份

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Rodney M. Jackson

Defending the snow leopard

Published in 1981clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

In remote west Nepal, wildlife biologist Rodney Jackson mounted a complex programme to track the highly elusive snow leopard and united various groups worldwide in efforts to protect the endangered cat.

locationNepal

Rodney Jackson knew that a strategy to ensure the survival of the endangered snow leopard required a thorough understanding of its movements, home range, food habits, hunting behaviour and social organization. But how to obtain such information on this secretive, largely nocturnal animal that lives in inaccessible habitats?

Our work on snow leopards exemplifies how the myriad logistical, physical, political and other obstacles can be overcome through careful planning, teamwork, perseverance and a willingness to adapt to the rugged, remote terrain and local culture.

Jackson's solution was to capture five snow leopards, fit them with radio collars and return them to the wild to track their movements. Jackson and his team – including partner Darla Hillard, who described their adventures in Vanishing Tracks – Four Years Among the Snow Leopards of Nepal – battled extreme weather, a monotonous diet, back-breaking terrain, isolation and the snow leopard's famed reticence. But the field research, which began in 1981, funded by his Rolex Award and National Geographic Society sponsorship, enabled Jackson to build an extensive picture of the life and behaviour of the iconic snow leopard.

Jackson has written more than 40 scientific articles on snow leopard conservation, human-wildlife conflicts and ecosystem management across the species’ vast range. As director of the Snow Leopard Conservancy, he has played a pivotal role in developing regional and global conservation plans through major international organizations, including the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN). Jackson implements community-based stewardship initiatives, including experimenting with electronic deterrents. These prevent snow leopards and wolves from killing sheep or other livestock, which results in retributive killing of the leopard.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page