羅慕路斯・韋德加印度的破格保育分子

發布日期: 2008年icon-clock閱讀需時: 0min 46s
icon-scroll-down

羅慕路斯・韋德加(Romulus Whitaker)熱愛自然世界,起初他投身於保育爬蟲動物,後來致力建立研究站網絡以保育印度的熱帶雨林。

地點印度

生於美國的羅慕路斯・韋德加因其非傳統的保育方式而聞名印度,他常戲稱自己為「狂熱嬉皮士保育分子」。他為移居生活的國家印度帶來深遠影響,先於爬蟲學研究取得傑出成就,現在則致力於保育雨林,以克服印度的水源短缺問題。

我們現在面對的水源短缺問題,較以往經歷的所有挑戰更為嚴峻。

韋德加獲得勞力士大獎的項目闡述了建立七個研究站的計劃,透過聯繫印度的主要熱帶雨林分佈地,向無數民眾說明熱帶雨林對用水供應的重要性。每個研究站均有不少科學家及大自然研究者留駐,研究站設立的目標亦包括推動各地的保育發展及在學校傳授有關森林的知識。

這些經已開始運作的熱帶雨林研究站,是參照韋德加於2005年建立的阿貢貝(Agumbe)熱帶雨林研究站而建成。研究站投入運作後,韋德加繼續研究眼鏡王蛇(King Cobra),了解這種全球最大毒蛇的一舉一動。

除了上述成就,韋德加於1976年更成立了馬德拉斯鱷魚保育中心(Madras Crocodile Bank)以保育3種鱷魚品種,亦於安達曼群島(Andaman Islands)設立研究站,並出版了八本著作及發佈超過300篇文章。

  • 4,000種

    在西高止山脈(Western Ghats)森林中的植物種類

  • 7,000至8,000毫米

    印度阿貢貝雨林的年降雨量

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

Romulus WhitakerIndia’s unconventional conservationist

Published in 2008clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Passionate about the natural world, Romulus Whitaker has gone from conserving reptiles to saving India’s rainforests through a network of research stations.

locationIndia

Famous in India for his unconventional approach to conservation, American-born Romulus Whitaker, who jokingly calls himself a “rabid hippie conservationist”, has made his mark in his adopted country, first for his notable career in herpetology, and now for saving rainforests to help overcome India’s water shortage.

We are now faced with a water shortage that will dwarf any of the past problems faced by the people.

Whitaker’s Rolex Award-winning project set forth a plan to help establish seven research stations that will connect key remaining rainforest strongholds throughout India and demonstrate the importance of their water supplies to hundreds of millions of people. In addition to hosting dozens of scientists and naturalists, each station’s mission is to be a springboard for local conservation and the education of schoolchildren about the forest.

As these rainforest research stations, based on Whitaker’s Agumbe Rainforest Research Station, established in 2005, come into operation, he is continuing his studies of the flagship species, the King Cobra, revealing the habits of the largest venomous snake in the world.

In other achievements, Whitaker set up, in 1976, the Madras Crocodile Bank to protect three crocodile species, a research station in the Andaman Islands and has published eight books and over 300 articles.

  • 4,000

    Plant species in the Western Ghats forest

  • 7,000 to 8,000 mm

    Annual rainfall in India’s Agumbe rainforest

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page