鍚巴斯琴・朱華兩百萬棵樹

發布日期: 2002年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

屢獲殊榮的植物學家鍚巴斯琴・朱華(Sebastian Chuwa)爭取坦桑尼亞北部居民的支持,通過大規模的植樹造林項目,創建可持續發展的未來。

地點坦桑尼亞

鍚巴斯琴・朱華在坦桑尼亞親證同鄉的生計日益惡化。不斷攀升的貧窮人口均以自給農業為生,結果導致砍林問題加劇,令本已脆弱的生態系統受到更大威脅。就此,朱華率先在居住地乞力馬扎羅山(Mount Kilimanjaro)附近發起植樹及環保教育計劃。

唯有在基層推動環境教育,我國的環保工作方能取得成功。

儘管朱華於2014年與世長辭,但他對保育工作的耐心和毅力,至今繼續促進社區發展,在坦桑尼亞北部的非正式造林項目便是其中之一,當地長有珍貴的東非黑黃檀,從而推動數以千計的孩童學習種植樹苗,為未來發展播下種子。

在勞力士雄才偉略大獎的協助下,朱華於2004年達成種植100萬棵樹的目標。其非洲黑木保護計劃(ABCP)亦成功建立東非黑黃檀苗圃,並購下四輪驅動車,令項目更快取得成果。他於2010年奠下新里程碑,植樹數量達200萬棵,並承諾於未來五年再種500萬棵。

朱華離世後,其家人助他完成遺願,修繕苗圃,並吸引更多學校和社區參加植樹計劃。他的家人亦着手籌辦基層項目,透過保護乞力馬扎羅山的分水嶺,拯救坦桑尼亞北部的生態環境。

  • 200萬棵

    2010年的植樹數量

  • 70至100年

    東非黑黃檀樹成熟所需年期

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Sebastian Chuwa

Two million trees

Published in 2002clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

The vision of award-winning botanist Sebastian Chuwa rallied the people of northern Tanzania to create a sustainable future through a massive reforestation project.

locationTanzania

In his native Tanzania, Sebastian Chuwa saw his people’s ability to support themselves was in peril. Subsistence farming by a poor – and growing – population was leading to deforestation, exacerbating the threat to an already fragile ecosystem. In response, Chuwa launched a programme of spearheading tree planting and environmental education near Mount Kilimanjaro where he lived.

Environmental efforts will only succeed in my country if environmental education is targeted at a grassroots level.

The patience and perseverance of the conservationist, who died in 2014, spurred communities into action, sowing the seeds for a better future through an informal reforestation project in northern Tanzania that included the prized African blackwood, or mpingo, and encouraged thousands of schoolchildren to plant tree seedlings.

Chuwa credited his Rolex Award with allowing him to reach the milestone of 1 million trees planted by 2004. It enabled his African Blackwood Conservation Project (ABCP) to develop the mpingo nursery and buy a four-wheel drive, a catalyst to the project’s success. In 2010, he celebrated the planting of 2 million trees, and pledged to plant another 5 million over the next five years.

Since Chuwa’s death, his family has maintained his legacy, renovating a nursery growing seedlings and involving new schools and communities in tree-planting projects. In addition, the family has organized grass-roots initiatives to protect the Mount Kilimanjaro watershed, vital to the ecology of northern Tanzania.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page