安东尼奥・迪・维沃地下世界之美

发布日期: 1993年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

探险是意大利洞穴探险家安东尼奥・迪・维沃(Antonio De Vivo)生活的一部分。他多年来一直探索墨西哥与世隔绝的拉文塔河峡谷(Rio La Venta Canyon),终于成功找到前哥伦布时期文明的重要发现。

地点墨西哥

墨西哥南部的恰帕斯州(Chiapas)是有着独特自然奇观的地方,热带雨林奥哥特丛林(Selva El Ocote)与拉文塔河峡谷的地底河流及洞穴分布令洞穴学家安东尼奥・迪・维沃为之着迷。

现今能发现新地域的机会微乎其微,然而我们可深入探索只有祖先曾踏足的偏远地区,揭开这些境地不为人知的一面。

逾二十年来,由多个来自不同范畴研究员所组成的拉文塔团队一直致力探索这片偏远美丽之地的奥秘,并进行洞穴、水质、考古、动植物生态及医学等方面的研究。

在他们众多重要发现当中,巨型“贯通”的拉文塔洞穴(Cueva de La Venta)以及另一项考古发现埃尔卡斯蒂略(El Castillo)的景象最为震撼,并印证此峡谷是古代的商业通道,可谓前哥伦布时期中美洲的“丝绸之路”。

自1993年获得劳力士大奖以来,迪・维沃已参与全球超过40个勘探与研究项目,惠及科学研究与各地的原住民。借其拉文塔河峡谷的洞穴与水质研究,该地的受保护地区范围便因而扩大。他至今继续坚持研究,更于2013年与法兰西斯科・绍罗(2014年青年雄才奖得主)一起探索委内瑞拉平顶山(tepuis)的石英岩洞穴。

  • 20小时

    由沉洞到泉口穿越拉文塔洞穴所需时间

  • 400米

    拉文塔洞穴的深度

  • 公元800年至900年

    埃尔卡斯蒂略作为军事及商业据点的时期

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Antonio De VivoMosaic of underground beauty

Published in 1993clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

A man for whom adventure is part of life, Italian caver Antonio De Vivo has for years been exploring Mexico’s isolated Rio La Venta Canyon, making startling discoveries about pre-Columbian civilization.

locationMexico

The state of Chiapas in southern Mexico is a land characterized by exceptional natural wonders. It is here that the Selva El Ocote tropical rainforest and the mosaic of underground rivers and caves of the Rio La Venta Canyon attracted speleologist Antonio De Vivo.

No longer can we expect to discover new lands but, rather, we must conduct in-depth studies in the least-known parts of the world, areas so remote they were last traversed by our ancestors.

For more than two decades, his multidisciplinary La Venta team of researchers has worked to unravel the secrets long buried in this remote and beautiful region, examining its speleological, hydrological and archaeological, as well as zoological, botanical and medical aspects.

Among their dramatic discoveries were the Cueva de La Venta, a huge “through” cave, and the archaeological find El Castillo, sights that left them speechless, and allowed them to confirm the canyon was an ancient commercial highway, a “silk route” of pre-Columbian Meso America.

Since winning a Rolex Award in 1993, De Vivo has taken part in more than 40 expeditions and research projects worldwide, benefiting the scientific community and local indigenous people. Following his research into the caves and hydrology of the Rio La Venta Canyon, the borders of the protected area were widened. And the missions continue, including in 2013 to the quartzite caves in Venezuela’s tepuis with Francesco Sauro, a 2014 Young Laureate.

  • 20

    Hours it took to negotiate the Cueva de La Venta, from sinkhole to resurgence

  • 400 m

    Depth of the Cueva de La Venta

  • 800 - 900 AD

    Time period of El Castillo, a likely military and commercial outpost

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page