约瑟・库克冰冻雨林

发布日期: 2016年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

冰川微生物学家约瑟・库克(Joseph Cook)形容北极数米深的冰面为“冰冻雨林”。他的研究揭示了生活在格陵兰冰层的微生物,如何协助塑造现今环境。

地点格陵兰

地球冰层是无数微生物的栖息地。冰川微生物学家约瑟・库克制作《生命之冰》(Ice Alive)纪录片,深入了解这个鲜为人知的生态系统,和它们对全球气候与养分及碳循环的影响。

这片土地景致怡人:既有幽静的一面,也有壮阔河川流经冰地的情景,缀以鲜明的霓虹蓝色、粉红色及绿色,而并非一般人想像的冷清、白茫荒地。

迄今,库克已进行五次北极实地研究。劳力士大奖将为其2017年的研究提供资助,届时他的团队会继续探索气候变化对冰层微生物的影响,并搜集这些微生物因人类活动而作出的警告。他表示自己的发现或会“对我们的未来有着深远影响”。

自库克首次亲睹格陵兰冰层的美态,便深深为北极的迷人景致吸引。他决意要以电影、讲座、专题文章及展览方式,向公众分享其热诚与发现。他会运用部分劳力士大奖奖金,制作一部名为《生命之冰》的纪录片,作为其得奖短片Life on Earth’s Cold Shoulder的续集。

  • 逾1000秭只

    栖息在地球冰面首两米的微生物估计量

  • 摄氏0.1至1.0度

    适合冰层微生物高度活跃的温度

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Joseph CookThe frozen rainforest

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Glacial microbiologist Joseph Cook says the top few metres of the Arctic’s ice are like a “frozen rainforest”. His research is a journey of discovery that reveals how ice micro-organisms on the Greenland ice sheet shape our world.

locationGreenland

The Earth’s ice is home to trillions of micro-organisms. Glacial microbiologist Joseph Cook, through his Ice Alive mission, is shedding light on this little-known ecosystem and its effect on the Earth’s climate, nutrient and carbon cycles.

It’s a captivating landscape, serene, with giant rivers that carve their way through the ice, vivid neon blues, pinks, greens – it’s not the empty, white wasteland people imagine.

Cook has already undertaken five field sessions in the Arctic. The next trip, funded by his Rolex Award, will take place in 2017 when his team will further explore the climatic influences of the ice microbes and gather evidence on how they might inform our human activities. His discoveries have the potential to “affect our own future”, he says.

The Arctic has exerted an irresistible allure for Cook since he first set eyes on the Greenland ice sheet, and he will share this passion and his findings through a series of films, talks, feature articles and exhibitions. Some of his Rolex funds will be used to make a documentary, Ice Alive, the sequel to his prize-winning short film, Life on Earth’s Cold Shoulder.

  • Over a million billion trillion

    Micro-organisms estimated to be living in the top 2 metres of the Earth’s ice

  • 0.1 - 1.0

    Temperature in Celsius at which micro-organisms in the ice are highly active

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page