拯救雪豹

沙夫卡特・侯赛因

在巴基斯坦山区,沙夫卡特・侯赛因(Shafqat Hussain)正协助农民维持生计,同时学习如何与捕猎牧群的大型猫科动物共同生活。

巴基斯坦北部广阔的吉尔吉特-巴尔蒂斯坦地区,拥有全球最高密度的山峦,栖息着壮丽却濒危的野生捕食者──雪豹。这些高山也是百万名牧民、农民及村民的居所和收入来源。不论是人类还是野生动物,生活始终困难重重。

对环境人类学家沙夫卡特・侯赛因而言,最大的挑战是建立并维系人类与雪豹之间的微妙平衡,找寻两者皆能够在此严苛境地生存的方法,同时在没有损害另一方的情况下蓬勃发展。

放牧是此地区的首要活动,而牲畜亦是主要食粮,但雪豹却捕猎村民饲养的绵羊、山羊、牦牛及牛只。牧民为了保护生计,便会杀掉这些大型猫科动物。然而,侯赛因凭借2006年劳力士雄才伟略大奖,成功找到和平的折中方法。自此,雪豹数量已经稳定或正在恢复,村民亦感到满意。

吉尔吉特-巴尔蒂斯坦省占地70,000平方公里,人口稀少。在方圆100公里内,共有60座超过7,000米的高峰,其中更包括世界第二高峰乔戈里峰。

侯赛因解释:“这是一个生态学上非常严苛的地区,维持生计可谓极为困难。牧民与捕食者有着特殊的敌对关系,因为它们会损害其生计。这些人十分贫困,经不起损失一头山羊、牛只或牦牛。因此天性使然,他们会追杀雪豹。而我们的项目就是要化解此冲突。”

他提出的解决方案是雪豹计划(Project Snow Leopard),就雪豹猎杀的每头动物向村民提供索偿,借此确保双方皆各得所需。与此同时,他也协助牧民兴建防止捕食者进入的畜栏,以免雪豹在晚上突袭,并推出青年环境管理计划,培育下一代牧民及此地区的未来希望。

牧民与捕食者有着特殊的敌对关系,因为它们会损害其生计。而我们的项目就是要化解此冲突。沙夫卡特・侯赛因

侯赛因表示有一名80岁老寡妇,因雪豹而失去全部11头山羊。赔偿让她可以重建羊群,现在已由孙儿女负责打理。“她走过来亲吻我的手。这实是一个非常特别的时刻。我觉得也许我们在做好事。当地农民常说:‘如果你赔偿我们的损失,我们便不会打扰雪豹生活。’”

尽管地形崎岖起伏,侯赛因亦成功以预设镜头及排泄物基因鉴定等方法,估算雪豹数量。项目刚开始时,这片喜马拉雅山区只有大概28至40只雪豹,最近的报告则稳定维持35至45只。

他忆述:“我们于1999年在一条村落展开项目。我们其后申请了劳力士大奖,并运用奖金扩展项目至其他10个峡谷。” 时至今天,项目已覆盖22条村落,共有15,000名散居多个峡谷的居民受惠。

“大奖亦打开其他赞助者的大门。不久后,我便获得国家地理新晋探索者(National Geographic Emerging Explorer)大奖。与劳力士合作真是太好了。它为我们共存的解决方案增加可信度。”

全球仅存的雪豹只有4,000至10,000只。今天,在雪豹栖息的12个国家中,牧民补偿已成为一项广泛采用的政策,侯赛因解决敏感棘手问题的方式也广受青睐。“过去10年左右,保育机构中开始意识到,如果希望保育计划成功,就应该解决当地居民的问题。”

我们确定雪豹种群状况良好且稳定。这让我们充满希望。沙夫卡特・侯赛因

“这是关乎人性的逻辑理由。如果您消除了负面动机(杀掉野生动物),人们就不会作出这些行为。我们的数据及研究亦证明这点。”

但侯赛因也指出,雪豹今天面对的最大威胁是全球暖化,令它们丧失雪山栖息地。“这并非由贫困农民维持生计引起。这是因为工业国家排放气体,威胁雪豹等物种。”

此外,他的基因研究指出雪豹可能有多达三个亚种,令保育工作更为复杂。

劳力士“保护地球,恒动不息”计划建基于品牌保护自然界的承诺。作为计划的一部分,这是其中一个锐意拯救濒危物种的项目。

侯赛因说:“在非常崎岖及恶劣的栖息地中研究雪豹,当中的困难与挑战驱使我不断努力。我们确定雪豹种群状况良好且稳定,这是过去10年我们一直观察到的趋势。这让我们充满希望。”

2006年发布

与豹共存

阅读原文

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

里程碑

探索更多

Search on rolex.org

SAVING THE SNOW LEOPARD

Shafqat Hussain

In Pakistan’s mountains, Shafqat Hussain is helping farmers maintain their livelihoods while learning to coexist with the big cats who prey on their herds.

The towering majesty of the Gilgit-Baltistan region in northern Pakistan harbours the greatest concentration of mountain peaks on Earth, and serves as a haven to a magnificent yet imperilled wild predator: the snow leopard. Home to a million herders, subsistence farmers and villagers, these mountains are a place where life is a constant struggle for human and wild beast alike.

For environmental anthropologist Shafqat Hussain, the great challenge is to build and maintain the delicate balance that will sustain both humans and leopards; to find a way of ensuring each can survive in a forbidding landscape – and prosper without penalty to the other.

Herding is the region’s chief activity and livestock the main source of food, with leopards preying on the sheep, goats, yaks and cows kept by villagers. The herders, in defence of their livelihoods, used to retaliate by killing the big cats. However, with the help of the Rolex Award for Enterprise he received in 2006, Hussain has negotiated a peaceful compromise. As a result, leopard numbers are stable or recovering and the villagers content.

Gilgit-Baltistan covers 70,000 square kilometres and is thinly populated. Within a circle of 100 kilometres, more than 60 peaks soar above 7,000 metres, including K2, the world’s second tallest mountain.

“This is ecologically a very harsh area so eking out a subsistence is very difficult. Pastoral people have a very special rivalry with predators because they represent a threat to their livelihood,” Hussain explains. “These people are really poor and cannot afford to lose a goat, cow or yak. So it is a natural response for them to go after the snow leopard. Our project tries to resolve this conflict.”

Project Snow Leopard is his inspired solution, offering the villagers compensation for any animal the leopards take, thereby ensuring the sustenance of both. At the same time, he has helped the herders build predator-proof corrals for their livestock, to prevent the leopards striking at night, and launched an environmental stewardship programme for young people, who are the next generation of herders and the hope for the region’s future.

Pastoral people have a very special rivalry with predators because they represent a threat to their livelihood. Our project tries to resolve this conflict.Shafqat Hussain

Hussain describes an 80-year-old widow who had lost all 11 of her goats to a leopard. Compensation enabled her to rebuild her flock, which her grandchildren now care for. “She came and she kissed my hand. It was a very special moment. I felt that maybe we are doing something good. Local farmers say that ‘if you compensate us for our losses, then we will leave the snow leopard alone’.”

Despite the rugged, vertiginous terrain, Hussain has also managed to recover snow leopard numbers, using camera traps and DNA analysis of their droppings as part of the process. When the project started, this area of the Himalayan mountains was thought to harbour 28–40 leopards; recent surveys consistently show 35–45.

“We started in 1999 in one village. We applied for the Rolex Award and with the money that we got we expanded the project in 10 more valleys,” he recalls. Today the scheme extends to 22 villages, embracing 15,000 people scattered across several valleys.

“The Award also opened doors to other donors. Soon after that I was given the National Geographic Emerging Explorer award. It has been really wonderful to partner with Rolex. It gives credibility to our approach, which is based on coexistence.”

Today, across the 12 nations inhabited by the world’s remaining snow leopards – estimated to number between 4,000 and 10,000 – compensation for herders has become a widely adopted policy, and Hussain’s elegant solution to a thorny and sensitive issue has taken fire. “Over the last 10 years or so there has been a lot of awareness among conservation institutions that they should address the problems of local people if they want to make conservation a success.”

We are sure that snow leopard population is doing very well and it is stable. That gives us hope.Shafqat Hussain

“This is one logical reason for us to have faith in humanity. If you take away the negative incentive (to kill wild animals) then people have no wish to go after them. Our numbers and our research actually prove that.”

But Hussain cautions that, today, the biggest menace to snow leopards is global warming, which causes the loss of their snowy habitat. “This is not something caused by the subsistence practices of poor farmers. It is the industrial countries who produce these gases, which ultimately threaten species like snow leopards.”

Additionally, his genetic research suggests there may not be one, but three separate subspecies of snow leopards, which makes conservation more complex.

As part of the Rolex Perpetual Planet initiative, born out of a commitment to protect the natural world, this project is among those with a stated objective to save endangered species.

“The difficulty of studying the snow leopard in its very rugged and harsh habitat is a challenge that drives me,” Hussain says. “We are sure that snow leopard population is doing very well and it is stable and this has been a trend that we have been seeing for the last 10 years. That gives us hope.”

PUBLISHED IN 2006

Living with leopards

Read the original article

View all projects

Rolex awards for enterprise

Milestones

Discover more