米亚・科托与胡利安・福克斯殖民心灵

发布日期: 2018年icon-clock阅读需时: 2m50s
icon-scroll-down

米亚・科托(Mia Couto)与门生胡利安・福克斯(Julián Fuks)的密切关系,源于彼此明暸流亡生活的感受,福克斯希望有人助他一臂之力,由家族历史通向创作世界。

撰文: 玛雅・雅基(Maya Jaggi) 2018年1月
  • 米亚・科托(Mia Couto)
    导师
  • 胡利安・福克斯(Julián Fuks)
    门生

米亚・科托与其门生胡利安・福克斯走进莫桑比克一个18世纪葡萄牙要塞遗址,随处可见棕榈树和生锈大炮,尽管天气酷热,但二人依然交谈甚欢。市内的高楼大厦俯瞰着这个位于马普托湾的砂岩要塞及其红色城垛。科托指向一个殖民时代的骑马将军雕像,以及描绘1895年莫桑比克皇帝刚古雅纳(Ngungunyane)被捕的青铜浮雕,科托撰写的小说三部曲正是以此段历史为背景。

这位失势领袖在流放期间离世,科托遂向福克斯展示他的雕刻墓碑。事实上,其遗体在约80年后才被运返回国。然而,这位在世人眼中的抗敌英雄,其实本身也是祖鲁入侵者。科托解释:“葡萄牙人声称取得军事胜利,实是子虚乌有,因为刚古雅纳的帝国早已名存实亡。独立后的莫桑比克为求找寻国家英雄,刻意隐瞒了他曾是暴君的事实。两国同时为他编织谎言。而我感兴趣的是,历史是如何从谎言中建立起来,又如何推翻其他故事。”

一年前,莫桑比克作家科托在居住地马普托与福克斯初次见面,他形容福克斯个性“害羞、内向、严肃,并非如‘典型’巴西人般外向。我们对全球政治与社会忧患与共。胡利安觉得自己受其风格所束缚。他想跨越边界,开启大门,展开冒险”。这位年轻的作家希望仿效科托的散文诗,并透过更广义的历史塑造角色。福克斯的小说在很大程度上取材于家族历史,他希望“进一步创造故事和人物,稍稍脱离现实”。

莫桑比克于1975年才正式独立,而巴西则在19世纪初中断殖民统治。科托说:“我们曾为同一国家的殖民,所以我们迫切需要以同一语言──葡萄牙语来抒发我们与他们之间的断裂。”

共同的语言使这次指导更见突破,二人成为劳力士创艺计划首个配对的葡语作家组合。然而,他们的写作语言却不如英语般占优。福克斯注意到“这个系统的任性一面:倘若一名巴西作家从未使用英语或法语出版书籍,那么他的作品也不大可能在阿根廷出版译本。彷佛必须经过英语和欧洲语言的洗礼,邻国读者才会有意阅读”。但科托认为,“抱持一段距离未尚不是件好事,这使我们与别不同的作品免受全球化冲击”。

二人均非来自欧洲,这使他们在边缘写作的感觉倍加强烈,几乎没有直接交流的经验。正如福克斯所观察,“我们身处前殖民地,将葡萄牙视为故有的中央,也是每通往世界的必经之处”。指导年却冲破了这些障碍,使他们能够在葡语世界各处相会,而他们正在创作的小说,便是以亚速尔群岛、南美洲圣保罗及非洲南部作背景。

科托撰写超过30本书籍,翻译成20种语言,作品包括20世纪非洲重要小说之一的《梦游地》(Terra Sonâmbula,1992年),故事讲述莫桑比克于1977至1992年内战期间的创伤,以及《母狮的自白》(A Confissão da Leoa,2012年)。

他曾赢得卡蒙斯(Camões)及纽斯达(Neustadt)文学奖,并入围2015年布克国际奖(Man Booker International Prize)。福克斯亦是记者兼评论家,出版五本书籍,其中包括《抵抗》(The Resistance,2015年),他凭此书于2016年赢得雅布提(Jabuti Prize)最佳小说奖,并于2017年摘下萨拉马戈(Saramago)奖。

指导开始之际,科托正完成其三部曲的第二卷The Sands of the Emperor,福克斯则着手撰写其第四部小说《占领》(The Occupation)。他们在亚速尔群岛度过三个星期,科托于当地进行研究,了解于1906年在大西洋岛屿离世的刚古雅纳。福克斯说:“我以为自己会听到米亚与别人交谈,但其书中的一切声音均发自内在,由他创造。很高兴看到他如何将历史事实融入文学之中。”对科托来说,事实与虚构之间的界限并不明确:“我不是在寻找事实。莫桑比克的过去不尽相同;一切也是构建而成,不能单凭片面之词。”

其书中的一切声音均发自内在,由他创造。很高兴看到他如何将历史事实融入文学之中。

福克斯形容他们在亚速尔群岛的时光十分平静。“我们一同吃午饭和晚饭。有时谈论文学,但大多数是其他事情。”他们分享了自身的流亡故事。科托在1955年生于莫桑比克,其葡萄牙父母为避法西斯独裁者安东尼奥・德・奥利维拉・萨拉查(António de Oliveira Salazar)而逃离家乡。福克斯在1981年生于巴西,其阿根廷父母则为躲避军政府的“肮脏战争”而于1977年逃亡;他先后学习以西班牙语和葡萄牙语书写。其祖父母是犹太罗马尼亚人,于1920年代前往阿根廷,建立“移民家族”。科托认为,“我们均视故事写作为重回昔日的途径。我不认识我的祖父母;家族过去就如幻影”。但其父母却唤起他们所失去的东西。“我们可在故事中建立一个新世界。”

二人亦在工作上交流。福克斯说:“他是个谈吐简洁的导师,但他的意见十分精准。与他交谈后,事情会变得更加明朗。我的语言变得更富诗意和抒情。”科托说:“这是双向的。我会向胡利安发送文字,翌日我们会拿着打印本在咖啡馆见面。我鼓励他开始疯狂创作,他则教懂我如何收放。他写了一页,而我则写了50页,因为语言是我的所爱。我很难控制自己笔下的角色。他可以帮助我控制自己。”

另一方面,科托则尝试解开其门生在写作上的枷锁。福克斯说:“我因寻找准确的字词与完美的发音而停滞不前。米亚一直试图让我的写作变成口语或是短信,不一定要超然非凡。”对科托来说,“所有作家都曾受写作障碍困扰。一旦缠上,便如疾病般蔓延。”

在指导年之初,福克斯以为自己可以控制更多。“但米亚却教我要减少控制,不能过分追求完美。坦白说,这是我的失败之处。但我正重新思考我所做的一切。”放松的其中一个方法就是在内心叙述者与作家米亚・科托之间取得平衡,将字母引入文本。

科托将写作与环境生物学家的工作结合起来,并把二人比作共生关系。“我们互相受益。我更像是个大哥哥,以过来人的身分跟他说‘别害怕’。”这位举国知名的作家毫无架子,站在马普托要塞外的行人道与鱼贩谈话,其谦逊态度让福克斯赞叹不已。

位于马普托的波拉纳瑟利纳酒店(Polana Serena Hotel),从内战时期的残垣复修过来,重现1920年代的辉煌岁月,福克斯在咖啡厅中细述《占领》的主要场景,也就是位于圣保罗的剑桥酒店(The Cambridge Hotel),他于2016年底曾在此有过一段非凡的写作生活。酒店原于1990年代末关闭,自此荒废,满布垃圾,至2012年因一场社会运动而进行翻新,为200个流离失所的家庭提供住处。

“有一天晚上,我们展开行动,占领更多的建筑物,我于首个晚上与他们同行;在记者、艺术家及医生的伴随下,较少受警察暴力执法的影响。”福克斯指:“这变成了政治运动。我本为观察身分,但却不其然参与了这场斗争。直接捍卫权利的行动比收集写作素材更加重要。”

他是个谈吐简洁的导师,但他的意见十分精准。

无家可归的人大多是安哥拉、刚果、巴拉圭及秘鲁的难民。福克斯花上数月聆听不同故事和录音。“但我需要将之放进心内,转化成别的东西。也许这源于米亚;我从此书开始,改变了搜集小说材料的处理方式。我的写作未有摆脱束缚,但却在研究方面更加放松。米亚甚具影响力,因为我本可写下一切。但我又想,我可重新塑造事物,角色亦无需完全相同。完结后,我所得的材料与预期迥然不同;这不仅记录了他们的经历,更直接体验当中的斗争,彷佛成为他们的一分子。”

科托说:“胡利安试图突破自我,寻觅其他声音,但他深知最重要的是要用故事撼动人心,透过他人细看自己的内心。”科托回想为女性角色注入生命力的挑战,他指:“在我的年代,男士必须证明自己是个‘真男人’,诸如此类。我想着要跟女士说话,了解她们会做什么。然后我意识到,女性的一面其实就藏在我内。眼前的挑战是要摆脱恐惧,接受自己的女性部分,这是我一路走来的历程。”他补充:“我给胡利安的意见是,尽情疯狂,放开胸怀。让女士发言,让她们说故事……让自己被占领。”

福克斯在指导年的初期,一心摆脱自撰小说的方向,但导师却提出质疑,令他措手不及。他只曾在一个短篇故事中,描绘相交15载的伴侣,她是一名记者,二人正期待着首名孩子的来临。福克斯解释:“我想把这个生命中的章节保留下来。但米亚却问:‘为何要把她剔除?’我按他的建议开始写作,视之为一项实验。这也因此成为了故事的主线:作家的妻子怀孕,其身体被另一人‘占领’。”

于指导年的尾声,福克斯的妻子诞下女儿图利潘(Tulipa)。她会否又或如何看到父亲的小说?一切言之尚早。不过,大门已经敞开。冒险亦已展开。

玛雅・雅基身兼国际文化记者、作家及批评家,亦是《金融时报》的撰稿人,屡获殊荣。过去十年,她一直是《卫报评论》的主要人物作者。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

close
Mia Couto & Julián Fuks

Colonies of the mind

Published in 2018clockTime to read: 2m50s
scroll-down

A shared sense of inherited exile is one affinity between Mia Couto and his protégé Julián Fuks, who wants help to venture from family history into invented worlds.

by Maya Jaggi January 2018
  • Mia Couto
    The Mentor
  • Julián Fuks
    The Protégé

Amid the palms and rusty cannons of an 18th-century Portuguese fort in Mozambique, Mia Couto and his protégé Julián Fuks are in lively conversation despite sweltering heat. The red battlements of the sandstone fortress on Maputo Bay are overlooked by the capital’s high-rises. Couto points to the equestrian statue of a colonial general and bronze reliefs depicting the capture of the Mozambican emperor Ngungunyane in 1895 to illuminate the history behind the trilogy of novels he is writing.

He shows Fuks the carved tomb of the vanquished leader who died in exile. The symbolic remains were repatriated some 80 years later. Yet the man now hailed as a resistance hero was himself a Zulu invader. “The Portuguese claim of glorious military victory was a fiction because Ngungunyane’s empire was already dying,” Couto explains. “When independent Mozambique was looking for heroes, they built a fiction erasing that he was a tyrant. Two big official lies about the same man. What interests me is how history is built from lies and how it pushes out other stories.”

When they first met a year ago in Maputo, where Couto lives, the Mozambican writer found Fuks “shy, introverted, serious – not the ‘typical’ Brazilian extrovert. We shared the same political and social worries about the world. Julián felt a prisoner of his own style. He wanted to cross a borderline, to open doors and have an adventure.” The younger author hoped to emulate Couto’s poetry-in-prose, and the way larger history shapes his characters. Fuks, whose fiction draws heavily on family history, wanted to “go further in inventing stories and characters, and not be so attached to reality”.

Mozambique gained independence only in 1975, while Brazil cut colonial ties in the early 19th century. “We’ve both been colonized by the same country,” Couto says, “so we have an urgent need to introduce ruptures between us and them inside the same language – Portuguese.”

That common tongue makes this mentorship groundbreaking – the first writers in Portuguese paired through the Rolex Arts Initiative. They write in a language overshadowed by the ascendancy of English. Fuks notes a “perversity in this system: if you’re a Brazilian writer never published in English or French, it’s unlikely you’ll be translated in Argentina. It feels like you need to go through the English language, and European eyes, to be read by your neighbours.” Yet for Couto, “It’s probably good to be considered distant; to keep something distinct about ourselves that’s not globalized.”

That neither is from Europe doubles their sense of writing from the periphery – in places with little direct contact. As Fuks observes, “We’re in ex-colonies that see Portugal as the decadent centre you went through to go anywhere.” The mentorship year has broken those barriers, enabling them to meet around the Lusophone world: in the Azores, São Paulo in South America, and southern Africa, settings for their fiction-in-progress.

Couto has written more than 30 books, translated into 20 languages, ranging from Terra Sonâmbula (Sleepwalking Land, 1992), one of Africa’s most important 20th-century novels, about the trauma of Mozambique’s 1977–1992 civil war, to A Confissão da Leoa (Confession of the Lioness, 2012).

He has won the Camões and Neustadt prizes, and was a finalist for the Man Booker International Prize 2015. Fuks, also a journalist and critic, has written five books, including A resistência (The Resistance, 2015), which won Brazil’s Jabuti Prize for best novel of 2016 and the José Saramago Prize in 2017.

The mentorship began as Couto was finishing the second volume of his trilogy, The Sands of the Emperor, and Fuks was embarking on his fourth novel, The Occupation. They spent three weeks in the Azores, where Couto was researching Ngungunyane, who died in the Atlantic islands in 1906. “I thought I’d be listening to Mia talk to people,” Fuks says, “but the voices in his books come from inside; he’s inventing them. It’s good to see how he makes historical facts into literature.” For Couto, the line between fact and fiction is less clear: “I’m not looking for something real. We have different pasts in Mozambique; all of them are constructions, so I’m saying, don’t look at a single picture.”

The voices in his books come from inside; he’s inventing them. It’s good to see how he makes historical facts into literature.

Their time in the Azores was peaceful, Fuks says. “We met for lunch and dinner. Sometimes we talked about literature, but mostly other things.” They exchanged life stories of inherited exile. Couto was born in Mozambique in 1955 to Portuguese parents escaping the fascist dictator António de Oliveira Salazar, Fuks in Brazil in 1981 to Argentinian parents who had fled the junta’s “dirty war” in 1977; he learned to write first in Spanish before Portuguese. His paternal grandparents were Jewish Romanians who voyaged to Argentina in the 1920s, creating a “family of many migrations”. For Couto, “both of us found stories as a way of travelling in the past. I never knew my grandparents; the family was a phantom.” But his parents evoked what they had lost. “I understood we could build a world in stories.”

They exchanged work. “He’s a very laconic mentor,” Fuks says, “but his interventions are always surgical. After talking to him, there’s more clarity. My language is becoming more poetic, lyrical.” Couto says, “It went both ways. I would send Julián a text, and the next day we’d meet for coffee with the printout. I’m encouraging him to start something crazy, and he’s teaching me the limits. He produces one page while I produce 50, because I’m in love with language. I have difficulty controlling my characters. He can help me rein myself in.”

Couto has, conversely, counselled his protégé on writer’s block. “I look for the precise word, the perfect sonority, and get stuck,” Fuks says. “Mia has been trying to make me write like a type of speech, a text message, that doesn’t have to be transcendental.” For Couto, “All writers suffer from writer’s block. Giving it importance, it becomes a disease.”

When the year began, Fuks thought he would gain more control. “But what Mia could teach me was to have less control, without being too perfectionist. If I’m honest, this is an aspect I’m failing. But I’m rethinking everything I do.” One ruse to loosen up was to introduce letters into the text between his alter-ego narrator and the writer Mia Couto.

Couto, who combines writing with work as an environmental biologist, likens their relationship to symbiosis. “We benefit from each other. I’m more a big brother who took the same paths and says, ‘don’t be afraid’.” Fuks is struck by his mentor’s humility – evident in the way this national celebrity talks to the pavement fish-sellers outside Maputo fort.

In the cafe of Maputo’s Polana Serena Hotel, restored to its 1920s glory after civilwar ruin, Fuks describes the hotel in São Paulo that is the focus of The Occupation, where he had an unusual writer’s residency in late 2016. The Cambridge Hotel had closed in the late 1990s. Abandoned and full of garbage, it was re-occupied in 2012 by a movement for the homeless, and renovated to house 200 families.

“One night, we moved to occupy more buildings, I spent the first night with them; they were less vulnerable to police violence with journalists, artists, doctors there.” For Fuks, “it became political participation. I expected to be an observer, but you get attached to their struggle. Direct action to defend rights was more important than gathering material.”

He’s a very laconic mentor but his interventions are always surgical.

The homeless included refugees from Angola, Congo, Paraguay and Peru. Fuks spent months listening and recording. “But I needed to let it be inside myself and become something else. Maybe this came from Mia; how to deal with the material you gather for fiction changed with this book. I’m not looser in my writing, but in my research. Mia was influential because I could have been writing everything down. But I thought, I can remake this; the characters don’t need to be exactly the same. When it ended, I had very different material from what I expected; not just testimony, but direct experience of their fight, and feeling myself as one of them.”

Couto says: “Julián is trying to get outside himself and find other voices. But he knows what’s important are the stories people provoke in you. You look inside yourself, but through others.” Recalling the challenge to breathe life into female characters, Couto says, “I’m part of a generation that had to prove I was a ‘real man’ – all the clichés. I thought, talk to women: what would they do? Then I realized, that woman is inside me. The challenge was to lose those fears of accepting that part of me was female. I made that journey.” He adds, “My message to Julián is, become crazy, become open. Give the voice to women; let them tell the story… Let yourself be occupied.”

Fuks began the year wanting to move away from auto-fiction, yet was surprised by his mentor challenging him. Apart from one short story, he had never depicted his partner of 15 years, a journalist who was expecting their first child. “I wanted to preserve that part of my life,” Fuks explained, “but Mia said, ‘why are you taking her out?’ I started writing as he suggested, as an experiment. So it’s become a main aspect of this book: a writer whose wife becomes pregnant, her body ‘occupied’ by another being.”

As the mentoring year drew to a close, Fuks’s wife gave birth to their daughter, Tulipa. It was too early to say if or how she would find her way into her father’s novel. But the door was open. The adventure had begun.

Maya Jaggi is an award-winning global cultural journalist, writer and critic, and a Financial Times contributor. For a decade she was a leading profile writer for the Guardian Review.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page