於rolex.org搜尋

寶拉・卡胡布:捍衛大象權益

勞力士國家地理年度探險家獎

國家地理學會探險家寶拉・卡胡布博士(Dr. Paula Kahumbu)致力保護大象,免受環境變化及偷獵者傷害。

寶拉・卡胡布博士在肯尼亞奈洛比市外長大,從小便非常喜愛野生動植物。這位知名保育專家在高中時,經常與社區內的動物互動,亦不時四出探索。

卡胡布在肯尼亞沿海森林進行博士研究的一次機遇,讓她找到畢生研究的重點對象:一群大象在其團隊準備測量地區的生物多樣性時,靜悄悄地包圍他們。但大象並沒有與團隊對峙,而是單純地躺下睡覺。卡胡布隨即被大象的從容態度,以及牠們在人類附近保持安逸所打動。

此後,卡胡布決定在博士學位研究的對象就是大象。數年後,她現已成為全球大象權益的領導。她是WildLifeDirect的總裁,此組織協助保育專家直接在網上發表報告及數據。

她亦與肯尼亞共和國第一夫人瑪格麗特・肯雅塔(Margaret Kenyatta)攜手帶領Hands Off Our Elephants計劃。卡胡布在保護大象免受環境變化及偷獵者傷害的工作,得到肯尼亞以至全球的保育專家支持。

她被肯尼亞品牌部門(Brand Kenya)稱為肯尼亞保育大使,並於2015年憑藉傑出成就,獲肯尼亞總統頒授大戰士勳章(Order of the Grand Warrior)。

卡胡布保護大象的工作,得到肯尼亞以至全球的保育專家支持。

卡胡布不僅在實地才華洋溢,亦擅於寫作。她曾推出多部廣受好評的著作,其中包括Owen and Mzee。此兒童書籍獲製成紀錄片。她也經常在《國家地理》撰文,亦是《衛報》的「非洲環境博主」。

卡胡布在肯尼亞洛雷托修院姆松加里學校完成中學學業後,獲得國家獎學金,前往英國布里斯托大學修讀生態學及生物學。她分別在佛羅里達大學和普林斯頓大學獲得碩士及博士學位。

2021年6月,卡胡布獲頒勞力士國家地理年度探險家獎,以表揚她在保育肯尼亞和其他地方的野生動植物及棲息地。

此獎項由勞力士頒發,旨在表彰探索科學的傑出人士,並與世人分享成果,造福社群。一般而言,每年獎項會頒授予一名對探索和分享工作有重大貢獻的人士。

卡胡布憑藉無畏精神,在保護地球方面作出重大貢獻,而這亦是勞力士「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃的核心。此計劃支持傑出人士及組織利用科學了解世界各地的環境挑戰並制定解決方案,令地球生態系統恢復平衡。

瀏覽所有項目

Paula Kahumbu: Defending rights for elephants

Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year

National Geographic Explorer Dr. Paula Kahumbu has devoted her career to protecting elephants from environmental changes and poachers.

Growing up just outside of Nairobi, Kenya, it did not take long for Dr. Paula Kahumbu to fall in love with wildlife. The renowned conservationist spent her high school years interacting with animals in her neighborhood and going on expeditions.

While conducting Ph.D. research in Kenya’s coastal forests, a chance encounter offered Kahumbu a focal point for her career: As her team prepared to measure the area’s biodiversity, a group of elephants quietly surrounded them. Instead of confronting the team, the elephants simply laid down to sleep. Kahumbu was immediately struck by the grace of the elephants and their comfort around her.

As a result, Kahumbu decided to focus her Ph.D. research on elephants. A few years later, she is now a champion for elephant rights worldwide. She is the CEO of WildlifeDirect, an organization that helps conservationists directly report and publish their findings online.

She also leads the Hands Off Our Elephants campaign with Her Excellency Margaret Kenyatta, the first lady of the Republic of Kenya. Kahumbu’s efforts to protect elephants against environmental changes and poaching have gained the support of conservationists in Kenya and around the world.

She is recognized as a Kenyan conservation ambassador by Brand Kenya and in 2015, she was granted the title of Order of the Grand Warrior by the Kenyan President for outstanding service.

Kahumbu’s efforts to protect elephants have gained the support of conservationists in Kenya and around the world.

As talented as Kahumbu is in the field, she is also a visionary on the page. She is the author of critically acclaimed books, including Owen and Mzee, a children’s book that was adapted into a documentary. She is also a regular contributor at National Geographic magazine and is The Guardian's 'Environment Blogger for Africa'.

After completing her secondary education at Loreto Convent Msongari School in Kenya, Kahumbu was awarded a national scholarship to study ecology and biology at the University of Bristol in the United Kingdom. She received a master’s degree at the University of Florida and a Ph.D. at Princeton University.

In June 2021, Kahumbu was awarded the Rolex National Geographic Explorer Of The Year for her commitment to preserving wildlife and habitats in Kenya and beyond.

The award, presented by Rolex, honours individuals who make scientific discoveries and share them to benefit the world. Every year, the award is typically given to an individual, who has contributed significantly to exploration and storytelling.

View all projects