勞力士與國家地理

保護地球 恒動不息

勞力士與國家地理學會(National Geographic Society)支持在部分最極端的環境開展科學研究,就地球生態系統探索嶄新見解。

勞力士銳意保育環境,成立「保護地球,恒動不息」(Perpetual Planet)計劃,協助國家地理等主要探險家或組織,尋找應對環境挑戰的方法。除了國家地理,項目亦囊括絲維雅・艾爾(Sylvia Earle)的藍色使命(Mission Blue)計劃以及勞力士雄才偉略大獎(Rolex Awards for Enterprise)。

恒久的合作關係

勞力士與國家地理的合作始於1954年,雙方深受艾德蒙・希拉里(Edmund Hillary)與丹星・諾基(Tenzing Norgay)於1953年成功登上珠峰的壯舉啟發。其時,探險隊成員均佩戴Oyster Perpetual天文台精密時計。

探險是勞力士的核心所在。自勞力士創辦人漢斯・威爾斯多夫(Hans Wilsdorf)於1930年代開始在極端環境下測試腕錶,探險便一直塑造我們的時計,與設計緊密相連。自此,Oyster Perpetual腕錶伴隨無數探險家踏上征途,從海洋深淵、高聳山峰,到罕至叢林、熾熱沙漠,以至南北極地及巨大洞穴。

逾130年來,國家地理一直支持無畏之士與變革構思,拓展探險界限,加深對世界的認識,提出可持續發展的未來方案,裨益後世。

藉探險連繫

勞力士與國家地理均心懷探索精神,促使雙方在多年來的合作愈趨緊密。

國家地理學會的科學家曾擔任勞力士大獎評審團成員。今天,我們支持部分世上最勇敢且高瞻遠矚的探險家,16位勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主亦成為國家地理探險家,或獲頒授不同獎金。

例如約翰・賴因哈德(Johan Reinhard),其採用文化人類學角度,在高海拔地區保育安第斯人遺產的項目,讓他於1987年贏得勞力士大獎,並於1999年成為國家地理探險家。近期的例子則有愛麗卡・古拿(Erika Cuéllar),她於2012年獲頒勞力士大獎,更於翌年成為國家地理新晉探索者。作為保育生物學家,她專注培訓當地居民保護大查科地區(Gran Chaco)的非凡生物多樣性,這是南美洲絕無僅有的野生境地。

勞力士和國家地理亦與一眾海洋探險家建立悠久的合作關係,當中包括絲維雅・艾爾唐・威路士占士・金馬倫(二人均曾探索位於太平洋的馬里亞納海溝,這是海洋的最深處)及水下攝影師白賴仁・史基利(Brian Skerry)。

現在,藉由勞力士資助的「保護地球,恒動不息」極限探險(Perpetual Planet Extreme Expeditions),我們將分享經驗、資源及觀念,展開為期五年的探險活動,在地球上最極端、偏遠且未全面認識的環境中,記錄其中的變化。這可算是我們到目前為止最重要的計劃。

「保護地球,恒動不息」極限探險

通過一系列探險活動,我們將研究地球上最重要,也是最極端的環境:高山、雨林及海洋。計劃旨在於部分世上最難以涉足和缺乏觀察的地區,設立先進技術裝置,從而監察人類在其他地方的活動如何改變這些區域,以及此變化對我們的影響。

解決探測所得的不良環境變化對我們同樣重要。我們攜手尋找富冒險精神的科學家和專家,聆聽他們對偏遠地區的建議。

高山
地球的水塔

雨林
地球的肺部

海洋
地球的恒溫器

在高山記錄變化

舉例而言,人類未來的關鍵在於了解現時在全球高山「水塔」發生的變化,也就是水源匯聚流向下游社區之處。冰川在高山水循環扮演重要角色,尤其是興都庫什(Hindu-Kush)和喜馬拉雅山脈地區,為當地超過十億人口提供食水。極限探險:珠穆朗瑪峰探險活動於2019年4月開展,旨在了解氣候變化對喜馬拉雅山冰川,以至下游社區的影響。

維持地球系統平衡

國家地理學會總裁兼執行長特雷西・R・沃森克羅夫特(Tracy R. Wolstencroft)就此計劃表示:「我們與勞力士聯手,通過科學、探險及敘事的力量,揭示變幻世界的重要見解,拓闊世界認知,以不同方法達至地球系統平衡。這是管理地球的基本原則,也是我們生活中最重要的責任之一。」

長久以來,勞力士與國家地理均由地球上的偏遠角落找尋靈感,從這些地方的迷人之處,以及到達此地所需的勇氣、技術及毅力中得到啟發。藉由「保護地球,恒動不息」,我們連繫這些元素,通過探險家與科學家歸納的觀點,致力保護人類及地球。

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

Rolex and National Geographic

Perpetual Planet

Together Rolex and the National Geographic Society are supporting scientific research in some of the planet’s most extreme environments to illuminate new insights into the very systems that support life on Earth.

Assisting key individuals and organizations such as National Geographic to help find solutions to environmental challenges forms part of a commitment Rolex has made to preserving the environment through a campaign called Perpetual Planet. Alongside National Geographic, it embraces oceanographer Sylvia Earle’s Mission Blue initiative and the Rolex Awards for Enterprise.

A long-standing relationship

Rolex’s partnership with National Geographic was forged in 1954, in the wake of the first successful ascent of Mount Everest in 1953 by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay, whose expedition was equipped with Oyster Perpetual chronometers.

Exploration is in the DNA of Rolex. It has shaped our timepieces and imbued their design since the founder of Rolex, Hans Wilsdorf, first began testing them under the most extreme conditions of use in the 1930s. Since then, Oyster Perpetual watches have aided explorers from the abyssal ocean to soaring peaks, from untrodden jungle to scorching desert, from the poles to the deepest caverns.

National Geographic has invested in bold people and transformative ideas more than 130 years, pushing the boundaries of exploration to increase understanding of our world and generate solutions for a healthy, more sustainable future for generations to come.

United by exploration

A shared spirit of discovery has drawn Rolex and National Geographic into a closer association over the years.

Scientists from National Geographic Society have served as members of the Rolex Awards jury. And today we support some of the world’s boldest and most visionary adventurers: no fewer than 16 Laureates of the Rolex Awards for Enterprise have also been National Geographic Explorers or recipients of grants.

Sylvia Earle

1 / 3

Marine biologist Sylvia Earle has been a pioneer of ocean exploration for more than four decades.

Johan Reinhard, for example, won a Rolex Award in 1987 for his project to preserve the patrimony of the Andean people through high-altitude cultural anthropology, and became a National Geographic Explorer in 1999. More recently, Erika Cuéllar, selected as a Rolex Laureate in 2012, became a National Geographic Emerging Explorer the following year. A conservation biologist, she trains local people to protect the extraordinary biodiversity of the Gran Chaco, one of South America’s last truly wild environments.

Rolex and National Geographic also have long alliances with leading ocean explorers Sylvia Earle, Don Walsh and James Cameron (both of whom have explored the Mariana Trench in the Pacific Ocean, the deepest part of the ocean) and underwater photographer Brian Skerry.

Now, through Rolex’s support for Perpetual Planet Extreme Expeditions, we share our experience, resources and our ideals in what may prove our most critical mission yet – a five-year endeavour to document the changes taking place in the Earth’s most extreme, remote and imperfectly understood environments.

Perpetual Planet Extreme Expeditions

Through a series of expeditions we will study three of the Earth’s most vital and extreme environments – mountains, rainforests and the oceans. The goal is to place cutting-edge technology in some of the world’s most inaccessible and least-observed regions, monitor how human activity elsewhere is changing them – and how this may affect us all.

Of equal importance to our shared vision is the development of solutions to any adverse changes we may detect. Our partnership will seek proposals from the world’s most adventurous scientists and experts in these isolated regions.

Mountains
Earth’s water towers

Rainforests
Lungs of the planet

Oceans
Earth’s thermostat

Charting change at the top

For example, a key challenge for the future of humanity is to understand the changes now taking place in the world’s mountain “water towers”, the places where water collects and gradually flows to communities downstream. Glaciers typically fuel this cycle on mountains, particularly in the Hindu-Kush Himalaya where they provide water resources for more than a billion people in the region. The Extreme Expedition: Everest expedition, which began in April 2019, will focus on better understanding the impacts of climate change on the glaciers of the Himalaya and what that could mean for communities downstream.

A planet in balance

Of the project, the President and CEO of the National Geographic Society Tracy R. Wolstencroft says: “Together with our partners at Rolex, we will harness the power of science, exploration, and storytelling to reveal critical insights about our changing world, advance understanding, and scale up solutions toward achieving a planet in balance.”

Both Rolex and National Geographic have long drawn inspiration from the remote places of our world, the marvels they hold – and from the courage, skill and tenacity which it takes to reach them. In Perpetual Planet we unite all those attributes and seek to serve humanity, and the Earth itself, through the insights the explorers and scientists will gather.

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page