安德魯・麥高尼戈預測火山爆發

發布日期: 2008年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

數以百萬計的居民在活火山下生活,為此蘇格蘭物理學家安德魯・麥高尼戈(Andrew McGonigle)借助無人駕駛飛機,研究預測火山爆發的方法。

地點意大利及全球

研究人員在一個多世紀以來不斷尋求預測火山爆發的方法。為完成任務,他們有時更要冒着危險走近火山。來自英國雪菲爾大學(University of Sheffield)的麥高尼戈現正利用小型無人直升機和數碼相機等現代技術,量度火山氣體並偵測下次爆發的時機。二氧化硫和二氧化碳是主要訊號,當阻隔壓力下降,這些氣體便會從熔岩汩汩流出。

我們正嘗試找出火山爆發模式,因這顯然與人道救援有着密切關係。預測火山爆發能提供充足時間預警,讓人民在適當時候撤離。

麥高尼戈的戶外工作主要研究位於意大利南部、尼加拉瓜和巴布亞新幾內亞的火山。倘若他的方法取得成功,再結合每座火山的具體測量資料,相信火山爆發的死亡風險將會大大降低;在過去數個世紀共550座火山曾一度活躍,如今附近的居民可在爆發臨近前數週甚至數月得知預警,這無疑是一大喜訊。

  • 50次

    全球每年火山爆發的平均次數

  • 100,000人

    於20世紀因火山爆發而死亡的人數

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Andrew McGonigleForecasting volcanic eruptions

Published in 2008clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Millions of people live in the shadow of active volcanoes but Scottish physicist Andrew McGonigle is using drones to develop ways to predict eruptions.

locationItaly, worldwide

Researchers have sought ways to predict eruptions for more than a century, a task that sometimes required them to get dangerously close to the volcanoes. McGonigle, based at the University of Sheffield in England, is using modern technology, including small unmanned helicopters and digital cameras to measure the gases in volcanoes and detect forthcoming eruptions. Sulphur dioxide and carbon dioxide are the main messengers, bubbling out of the molten rock as the pressure that imprisons them drops.

We’re seeking to find out how volcanoes work and obviously that’s very closely tied to the humanitarian aim, trying to forecast eruptions in order to provide sufficient forewarning for people to evacuate.

For his field work, McGonigle is focusing on volcanoes in southern Italy, Nicaragua and Papua New Guinea. If his method succeeds, and is used in conjunction with other measurements specific to each volcano, the risk of sudden volcanic death will be greatly reduced; those who live around the 550 volcanoes that have been active at some point over the centuries will be soothed in the knowledge they will be warned weeks, even months, in advance of an impending eruption.

  • 50

    Average number of volcano eruptions worldwide each year

  • 100,000

    People killed by volcanoes in the 20th century

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page